We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Wingait Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wingait Inn
Ranked #36 of 150 Shimla B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in Wingait Inn for two nights; the staff were very nice, polite, and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and with terrace with very nice view. However, keep in mind that you need around 20-25min walk to reach the mall area. But you can also get shared local cabs @ INR 10 per seat to reach Mall Road and vice versa.Restaurant is good. We tried North Indian and Chinese. North Indian was a bit Sweet but Chinese was good. Over all very good

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MynameisMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wingait Inn, an associated property of Country Club is a small but cosy property. The best feature of this property is that it is located in a very picturesque and tranquil area of Shimla, far away from the hustle bustle of the town. The rooms offer good views of the valley from the room itself. The staff was friendly, prompt and co-operative. The food tasted good as it is made to order and is reasonable compared to Mumbai standards. Overall, it is a place where you can relax in the lap of nature, enjoy some good scenic views of the Himalayan range and treat yourself to some good food.

On the downside, the hotel does not offer any recreational facilities which may thus lead to boredom for those who prefer to spend much of their time staying in the hotel itself

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maulik1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in Wingait Inn for two nights; the staff were very nice, polite, and helpful. the room was clean, spacious, and with a very nice view. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends; however, keep in mind that you need around 20-25min walk to reach the mall area.

Room Tip: choose a valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This Inn is located at VVIP area named Chaura Maidan.... The Hotel is small but very neat and clean. Staff is very helpfull. We had amazing experience as when we reached there was snowfall and me and my kids enjoyed. Thank you wingait... Hope to see you soon again....

Room Tip: All the rooms are valley facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roshmadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for around a week during one of my personal trip. I liked the location since it is close to Mall Road. Quite a few problems faced, from the side of Country Vacations. The resort was fine from their end. There is a good travel desk who will help you with reasonably priced trips to go around the city. Tip: Try to get a good deal which includes room charges, food and transfers. They offer it, you only have to ask for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice Hotel at the calm place in Shimla. Staff was very cordial and helping. Rooms are clean and specious. Only negative point is It is far from the ridge so reaching to Ridge is little long walk. We have booked the hotel and found it worthy. The surroundings are very calm and clean. Dining area is also clean and food is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surabh2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are members of country club, hence we were not given a choice of rooms. There were no room heater, and the carpeted floor could be cleaned better. Dont book your cab though this hotel, they charge you a commission. Normally taxis in Shimla give you a bill for the fare, this does not happen when the taxi is booked though the hotel. The commission ranges from 100 rs for a local taxi going up to 1000 for a little longer distance.
it could be better if you book a package from a taxi provider in Chandigarh, could save you a lot of money.

Room Tip: No room heaters hence carry some warm clothing. Water heater works only for half a person, you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RANGEETH_b_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.2 mi away
Bridge View Regency
Bridge View Regency
#81 of 115 in Shimla
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 115 in Shimla
871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#24 of 115 in Shimla
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 115 in Shimla
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#25 of 115 in Shimla
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingait Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingait Inn

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range: $41 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingait Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few Heritage Properties left in Shimla, Wingait Inn is a "Heritage Boutique Hotel" which is professionally run hotel situated at calm end of Shimla's famous Mall Road with the City Center just a few minutes walk away.Wingait Inn offers guests to Shimla a sense of grandeur along side comfy accommodation, as well as a variety of efficient services and modern facilities. Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Wingait Inn is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. The most structure of the property was created throughout British Raj, currently it's restored and established as a hotel for you to stay.Wingait Inn Hotel Shimla offers a spread of facilities and services to its guest, including a Travel Desk, Car Rental Services, Doctor on Call and Laundry Services.It is simply accessible from Shimla Airdrome, Rail Terminal and Bus Station.Our aim is to provide a skilled service to make you feel as comfy as you would in your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Wingait Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing