We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Landmark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Landmark
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I took one day there as walking in booking I arrived totally tired from manali & it is near to bus stand , location is near to the mall road the view to vally is great but window is not opened there is a central heater in the room which is advantage while Shimla is cold most of the year .My room was excluded from breakfast and refuse to extend my stay bec they have a group booking all hotel. Prices is little high but comparing to other Shimla hotels and location it will be acceptable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meshalnasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    143
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
163
82
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hotel Landmark is located at the railway station end of the mall, so it's a bit of a walk to the main sights of Shimla.

We booked a valley view room, which has fantastic views of the Shimla valley, especially good during a thunderstorm !

The rooms are a little basic, but clean and well maintained and the staff were all really friendly. Our rate included breakfast which was cooked to order. We could order as many items from the Breakfast menu as we liked.

The top floor of the hotel is at the mall level, whist the reception level was up a steep drive from the end of the Victory tunnel.

Note: As with many Indian hotels, your room is only serviced if the keys are handed into reception whilst you're out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived on 29th March'13 & though we had booked a Superdeluxe room we got the corner view room (504) which is an upgraded version. The rooms as well as the views were simply amazing.We checked out on 1st April, but the lovely room and the excellent service is still lingering in our minds. Each and every staff and everyone at the reception is so very polite and always smiling.Room service is very nice and prompt and a special mention for Mr. Jagdish Thakur(night duty room service staff) who served us daily & was very courteous. Even the staff at the restaurant were very courteous. Especially the day we departed we had lunch at the restaurant, and one of the senior staff members,either he was head of the restaurant dept. or similar position(I should have asked his name) was very very polite & charming.
Shimla itself is a beautiful place and the stay at Hotel Landmark makes its much more beautiful and memorable. Compliments to Mr.Pawan Thakur (GM) as well for maintaining such a lovely ambiance in the hotel.
Just 1 suggestion to the management: Though the hotel provides a lift to the 6th floor connecting the mall road, it is still quite a long walk.(especially if there are patients or kids) It will be really helpful for tourists if you can provide a car service (similar to the taxi services) at least once a day.
Thanks
Indrani Ghose
Bhaskar Ghose

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndraniNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in a Family room in this hotel on 29th Mar 2013 with an early check in ie 6am on 29th Mar and a late checkout on 30th Mar ie at 7pm. Though I paid for two days (12 noon being the check-in & Checkout time) , but true to its word the room was availbale and we were not required to wait at the lobby. It vis also centarlly located next to Victory tunnel.

The Reception and common are in each floor is quite big and the place maintained very well. The room was large , neat and clean. The central heating was also effective. Needlesss to say the toilets were neat and tidy.

The biggested advantage is the lift that takes you to the 6th Floor which directly connects you to the Mall Road. Excellent ...no need to wait for the Tourism Lift. Also room service was excellent and all orders serviced flat with in 15 mins with quality of food being good.

We really enjoyed our stay and had a great experience.

Room Tip: Take rooms those are valley facing /4th/5th Floor. Family room ie 302 is back facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is a nice hotel but they are charging a lot according to the provided services and rooms. In room, bathtubs are available but they are charging extra to use them. Room facilities were also not up to the level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishalsoni1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Special Thanks to Mr. Pawan Thakur, (General Manager) & his team who made our trip such a memorable one. Their customer service is unparalleled to any hotel I have stayed till date. Staff at the hotel always smiled & attended us without any delays.

Right from the time we booked the Hotel till the time we departed Mr.Thakur & his team were always helpful in every possible way.
1) We were 04 of us (all adults). We staye
d at this Hotel from 15th to the 18th of March 2013.
2) We booked 02 super deluxe rooms. The check in process was very quick. We were given rooms 510 & 511 (corner room). Room 510 had the better view of the valley, a part of the city & breath taking snow clad mountains. They rooms had large windows for the view.
3) The room was spacious & had a king sized bed with an excellent quilt. The rooms also had a coffee/tea maker, a mini fridge & most importantly CENTRAL HEATING SYSTEM as the nights can be very cold at this time of the year.The bathrooms could have been a little well lit. Very Hot water was available 24hrs a day. That was a big advantage.
4) The Hotels lift takes you to the connecting road to the Mall. The mall is around 15 mins walk at-least. The road has a climb right till you reach the Mall. Elderly People & people with breathing difficulty will face problems reaching the centre-point of the Hotel. There are plenty of places to rest en-route though. Monkeys were there but were not a problem.
5) Kali bari was 5 mins away but quite a steep climb. Better to visit while walking back from the Mall road to the Hotel. Upper mall road leads straight to the kali Bari with no climb at all & once you walk down the Hotel is just 5 mins walk.
6) Food at this Hotel is excellent & the portions of Chicken & rice quite big.
7) I had traveled with my Parents so we avoided walking to the Mall. The Hotel arranged a taxi for Rs. 150/- which dropped us till the tourism lift. The tourism lift has a ticket of Rs. 10/- per head & takes you straight into the Mall in 02 stages. The ticket covers both the stages.
8) Breakfast at the Hotel was ala-carte basis & you could order whatever you wanted from the breakfast section. Otherwise the food is a little overpriced but when you look at the quantity you feel it is worthy of the price.
9) They also have Doctor on call facility. My father fell sick because of the sudden drop of temperature & windy conditions. They immediately called Dr. Sharma (very experienced & knowledgeable) who prescribed medicines & treated him with care. Whenever we needed medicines they arranged it for us.
10) The railway station is just 0.5 kms away & the taxi is arranged from the Hotel for the drop or pick up with a rate of Rs. 150/- per trip.
11) Room service is excellent & quick.

Overall an excellent place to stay in Shimla. Value for money for the services provided.I would highly recommend it for Shimla travelers.

Room Tip: 1) Room 510 has a very good view. 2) The Tara Bhojanalay restaurant next to the Hotel situated (acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivajimuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious time given to share your review. It gives me immense pleasure to read that your stay was comfortable and you with your family enjoyed stay at Hotel Landmark Shimla.

Do let me know should you plan to visit Shimla again, we will be more than happy to serve you again and come up to your entire satisfaction.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel Landmark will connect you to mall road from bottom road of Simla. Quite big Hotel. It's look like 5star hotel from first sight. Service is average. Restaurant price and Hotel Price are little bit high. Overall Average experience. The decoration are quite good. Awesome lift facility. Spring made beds do not let you sleep at night. Please select round bed if you are going as couple.

Room Tip: Select Round Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiren-Kathrotiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 112 in Shimla
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#16 of 112 in Shimla
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#25 of 112 in Shimla
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
608 reviews
8.3 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#97 of 112 in Shimla
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landmark

Property: Hotel Landmark
Address: Near Gorton Castle Square, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Landmark is situated at the famous Mall Road.Hotel has some exceptional feauters i.e.! Connectivity from circular road to Mall Road! Exceptional valley view from rooms! Covered car parking! Two dedicated elevators inside Hotel! Toal 65 rooms categorized in Six categories to accomodate every segment of society as per their taste and requirement! 24 hour hot & cold water! Wooden flooring in all rooms! Centrally heated in winters! Assistance for secretarial services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing