We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be at peace at Hotel Oakwood Hamlet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
Ranked #27 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
Delhi
1 review
“Be at peace at Hotel Oakwood Hamlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Been to many places but this resort was wonderfully located in the serenity of environment and you will find peace and chirping of birds. The food was excellent though they can improve on the variety.
We were three familiy and out stay was excellent. this is must for people who wants to be away from the madenning crowd and away from hustling bustling of cities. early morning and late evening is beautifull especially the sunset.

Must for people who wants to avoid the crowd at shimla this is the place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    11
    7
    13
See reviews for
47
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice place to spend sometime if you want to have a cut-off from the world. Cut-off from mobile networks as well (at many places inside the resort). Totally at Peace, the better word is 'Sukoon' (in hindi). Staff was very curteous. Anil Thakur (Server) was the one who took care of us right from the breakfast till late evening dinner. Office staff had two Bhupenders', yound boys & honest about making our stay a pleasant one. They had an experienced trekking & mountaineering guy called DigVijay who made us do basic activities like flying fox, burma bridge, basic hill trekking. Next time whenever we visit, it would be longer treks of upto 4-5 hours. We would definitely be going again, not only because of the location but because of the service given by these guys.

Met Vineet ( I hope I have spelled the owner's name right) the owner - he has big plans for the property; and we wish him the very best..

Couple of points for Vineet -
1. Open a basic Spa service.
2. Do not entertain any movie production guys when guests are staying..in our case - it was some advertising firm creating new Surf Excel advertisement and they were a big nuisance. First they wanted our neighbor's cottage and then they wanted the lawn in which our kids were playing and on top of it they spoiled the swimming pool too.

Vineet - Whom do you prefer for longer run - Repeat customers like us OR advertising company like them who would come for one day in the entire life.

Apart from this nuisance advertising company; everything was perfect and we would definitely visit them again soon.

Room Tip: Mud houses closer to swimming pool & lawn are good for families with kids. For couple who want c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant_Malhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

A great getaway...Small but very well kept resort. We were in the mud cottage which was spacious enough for our family of 3 and a dog :) . The room overlooked the hills and a small village. Fresh air, open spaces, good food and a nice view is all you need for a break away from the city life. Staff was extremely curtious and served well.
We went for treks and other activities which kept the kids and us busy.
Overall an amazing holiday...much recommended and even more if in a group.

Room Tip: The better ones are the cottages. Try to avoid the bamboo huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were there for 3 nigths the palce is very scenic but the resorts needs lot to be done. The staff is very courtious but not so professional . The worst experence was that the resort had a shooting of surf excel on which was a party stopper for everyone the vacation just went for a toss. The rooms certainly need a lot more to be done. Food is good .

The manager Bhupender is not very professional but does a good job. THE STAFF NEED TO CHANGE THEIR UNIFORMS EVERYDAY INCLUDING THE MANAGER ........ Towels very bad

Room Tip: Be prepared for bumpy ride for 4Kms kutacha road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akmakhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

just returned from oakwood resort, beautiful location shocking service , flies everywhere no one takes responsibility they actually just ignore you.Tv and phone in bedroom didn't work .dirty plates cutlery and glasses unhygienic food,rooms never serviced. Pls don't even try to visit this pathetic place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudhalika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

this place is simply heaven......before arriving the resort you can experience the adventure of off roading........we have started our stay with warm welcome by hotel staff.......place is very calm & peaceful....rooms are clean with attached clean bathrooms & also with a small attic......anyone can enjoy the adventure activities from ametaure to proffesionals.......although the staff is not sufficient but service is unexpectionally excellent...the food is very good but the restaurent is not up to the level....swimming pool needs to be maintained.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardevDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My entire trip got spoiled due to wrong selection of the hotel. First of all reaching there was a headache...every hotel put signages but it is like treasure hunt for u to search for oakwood hotel. After so much of hunting when we got down to the hotel we were given bamboo cottages that too when we were booked in advance for mud houses. Then the rooms were full of dust and the bathrooms were so tacky that you dont feel like using them. In three days of our stay (stay was cut short due to bad services of the hotel) there was not even a single time when the rooms were cleaned. They even dont know wht house keeping service is. For meals, there is buffet system, but you will be ashamed to see the buffet. Unhygeinic, stale and same repeated food is served to you. As the hotel is deep down from highway , you even cannot go out to have your food. And yes there are no room service available. When we asked for tea at 10.30 pm they said it is not available. Morning tea is also served late...as late as at around 9 a.m. as the staff doesn't wake up till that time. breakfast and dinner were served so late, nowhere the time stated is followed. Recreations activities is zero. you have literally nothing to do there. And yes how can i forget to mention why i left the hotel earlier - I had food poisoning eating their stale and unhygienic food and there is no first aid available if you need one which should be the basic thing everywhere. my money was not returned and there was no apologies from anyone for this bad bad service. My rating to this hotel goes to negatives...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashmi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
0.0 mi away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 3 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#21 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakwood Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

Property: Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
Address: Kaithlighat, Shimla 173219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oakwood Hamlet 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing