We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent peaceful stay with family too”
Review of Park Woods Shoghi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Woods Shoghi
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent peaceful stay with family too”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great time here. The place is very beautiful set amongst lush green forest with great home style service. The food is also nice. Has loads of activities which the resort people encourage you to undertake. The children really enjoyed themselves on the obstacle course. It's just an half an hour drive from Shimla, an hour drive from Doodhasagar where there is a restaurant on the stream and an hour and half drive from Kasuali. The Bamboo huts in which we stayed was very comfortable. The most secluded bamboo hut is No. 004.

Room Tip: If you want a secluded room choose Bamboo Hut No. 004
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank khan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
21
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The place is cute and well carved on the hill and very driveable. Very good service too. But if you are looking for an isolated, quite and peacefull experience then this is not the right place. We went there for a night in april during the first weekend to find some peace..... from the hustle bustle of the city. And in the evening they started dj music and god it was pretty loud !!!! This whole went up to 10:30 pm. I had to call up the care taker mr.Chauhan 3 times and pleaded him to stop the music. He said " this is the part of the itenery". Then i requested why can't you play the dj music in a seperate room where people like us do not get disturbed to which he had no answer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WandererAB, Director of Sales at Park Woods Shoghi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Himanshu; just saw your review - certainly not music to our ears as whatever the house system was belting out was not to yours!
Appreciate that because of two hours of irritation which you experienced, you didn't run down the entire resort and found Parkwoods cute, quaintly located and providing excellent service. Aah, we thrive on compliments and grow better through healthy criticism, even though the brickbats we receive are few and far inbetween. Mr. Chauhan the 'caretaker' - actually also the owner, at times does get stumped inspite of his best efforts.

This is a challenge we constantly grapple with in a resort with 26 rooms and varied likes and requirements of each individual. Can we keep each one of our guests delighted for every moment of the time they are here? We would like to, we strive to but once in a while we get a feedback which makes us realise either it is not humanly possible or tells us that we need to pull up our socks somewhere. So our team gets into a brainstorm.

On this particular issue. We realize one of our USPs is the peaceful and tranquil environment. Hence, inspite of huge pressure from our prospective and regular guests we have resisted installing TVs in the rooms. We allow common music to play only between 8 to 10.30 PM and that also only if a group of guests so desires.

Now, do we ban playing of music for a group altogether? Do we increase our tariffs so that we can compensate for the business we will so lose? Do we build a soundproof music room? Do we try to convince everyone that music to be heard in the open at Parkwoods should be only of the birdsongs, whistling winds, rustling leaves and soft soulful songs? Do we take the peace loving and / or adventurous beings on a guided night hike ending with dinner on a hilltop under the star spangled sky?

We are debating intensely while also trying to invoke Ma Saraswati for wisdom on this issue. We should be able to come out with a solution which appeals to most of our guests and then Himanshu we will invite you for a complimentary visit to Parkwoods Shoghi! Till then keep travelling - peace and love!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Park wood offers out of the box opportunity for the adventure seekers who want some days off from the tiring schedule of their daily life. I never expected the services and facilities provided with the resort management. It is something like once you go there and then afterwards they leave no stone unturned to have a pleasant and exciting trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

adventure,nature coupled with comfort excellent food ad most helpful ad multiskilled staff,the decor of the cottages plus the adventure track,the games make it the most happening place ,i would call it holiday with a difference,the view ad location is the strength,the calm ad quiet where u can hear ur own breath,the quality of air ad the colour of sky is diffierent,the evenings are interesting,in the mornings i saw many rare birds,the walk to village was a challange,the food is good
overall a pleasant change

Room Tip: rooms near the dinning room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank ash0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

amazing experience. it was really nice..
all the things were amazing. the location, the people out there, the service, sanitation, food, service, each n every thing was jus too good. it was really nice to be there. must visit for every couple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank priyanka b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhatinda, Punjab, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

For an adventure loving soul, its a place to go to. They have so many activities to keep you occupied for 2 full days. My kids did not demand TV for 2 days is a big achievement. All the activities are nicely managed by trained personnel with strict eye over the safety.

We opted for the pinewood cottages that were neat and clean and well maintained.

What was lacking was the service. Though the food is good Indian but there is no buffet system and you keep waiting for dishes to be delivered, some of which get wasted and some other dish that you relished is not available.

All in all a decent place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrShreshtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am glad that we chose Shoghi as the place to visit for the reunion of school friends. Occasion was special so the place had to be special. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in the resort. Great Weather, Nice Natural Surroundings and last but not the least amazing staff who ensured the best hospitality. Food was simply amazing. Pankaj was aligned to our group. For us he was the face of the Resort. He took excellent care of us. I am sure he was not the only one who was responsible for great time we had there. Appreciation is extented to the entire team particularly the Kitchen Team which ensured amazing food. Manager Prahlad Ji helped me a lot in terms of all my initial queries about the weather and lodging. Overall I would say that our Expectations Exceeded not just Met. Thank you for making our Reunion a memorable one.

A very satisfied customer.

N.V.Subramanian
9818717742
envy2006@gmail.com

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NVMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
0.2 mi away
Aamod
Aamod
#2 of 4 in Shoghi
285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Shoghi Eco Valley Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#12 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camp Offthecity
Camp Offthecity
#4 of 142 in Shimla
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suro Treehouse Resort
Suro Treehouse Resort
#10 of 112 in Shimla
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Woods Shoghi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Woods Shoghi

Property: Park Woods Shoghi
Address: Village Paughat | Near Shoghi, Shimla 173234, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Woods 18 kms before Shimla, amidst a 20 acre estate. Accommodation is a mix of premium cottages, deluxe cottages and deluxe swiss tents. All units are equipped with beds, attached bathroom, running hot water. Electricity with a back up generator. Restaurant caters to the meals, barbecues. Extensive recreational games,mountain cycling, pottery making, team building activities, rock climbing and rappelling and adventure activities on the obstacle course are available. There are options for day picnics, hikes, treks, sightseeing excursions. An excellent destination retreat for family holidays, honeymoons, adventure vacations, corporate offsites, outbound training workshops and team building programs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing