We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Shimla”
Review of Ashiana & Goofa

Ashiana & Goofa
Ranked #13 of 114 Restaurants in Shimla
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best meal in Shimla”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Thanks to your reviewer on the 2nd December, who I recognised from walking around, the man from Sydney was absolutely right about this restaurant. We loved the position, the service was excellent and the food fabulous. The cost was so reasonable and we wished we had found it sooner as we would have gone again.
Thoroughly recommend people to go there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctbm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    109
    52
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best place in Shimla”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent a week in Shimla and overall found this restaurant to be the best in town (that's if you don't count the top end ones in the five star hotels of course). We favoured Ashiana because of a number of reasons:
1) Great location on the Mall with outdoor seating (providing the sun shines). A place where you can watch the world go by.
2) Good and reasonably priced food
Would recommend this restaurant. We had many meals and snacks here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maximus765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, Good views, Good food at an economical price”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have had food at Ashiana a number of times. Located quite conveniently at the Ridge, it is a good choice for food (lunch, late afternoon lunch, snacks with tea or dinner) for the traveler at this end of the Mall. The place is run by the HP Tourism (Govt. enterprise) and the food is tasty. Try their Himachali specialties like Rahra Mutton. or the grilled fish (fresh trout if available).

If the weather permits, try their outdoor seating area. It is one of the best views for a restaurant in Shimla.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikhiljaipurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average food, nothing special”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went here after seeing reviews on trip advisor. It seemed like a good restaurant in a nice location. We thought we would try the mutton for the first time. It wasn't good. My partner had noodles which were ok but didn't tast of much. Only an average restaurant really

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“pretty special place!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

after trying a variety of local restaurants, this one appeared to be unvisited by us :) it's a state run resraurant with a large number of staff taking care of the people plus it has a stunning view from it's balcony! food served here was really beautiful, tasty and reliable to the stomache (:)). atmosphere is special because of the circle shape of the place and an interesting range of people visiting there. felt a bit like a hungarian restaurant in the end-80s, with indian staff :) you won't be dissappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pansenfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashiana & Goofa also viewed

Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 
Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 
Shimla, Shimla District
 

Been to Ashiana & Goofa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing