We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good backpacker option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shimla Youth Hostel

Shimla Youth Hostel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shimla Youth Hostel
Ranked #54 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good backpacker option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Pretty good budget value for somewhere as expensive as Shimla. Great location and very helpful organised staff. Our room was comfortable and although we had a shared bathroom it was probably the cleanest we had during our 6 week trip. Price includes a very good breakfast as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callumandlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed tere with my college friends. Everything was neat and nice. Would definately coom back and recommend to my friends too.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kunjan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Its was good and value for money, no frills and no hi-fi stuffs but good and tidy. Had to stay because of non-availability in other hotels in shimla due to peak season. It is good option for people who just need a place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank adnand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palakad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

had a nice experience, value for money, good location near all activity, my children enjoyed horse riding & roller skating. will recommend to friends, You also get a very good rate if your are a YH member

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raghoonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Room service was good (with Slight delays; however that was tolerable as the person who was serving in the room had a pleasant smile).
Room was just OK with minimum required amenities like TV, Hot running water, clean Bed Sheets and Towel etc.
The Main Advantage was the Location. It is just a 5-10 minutes walk from the Ridge or Mall Road. You can easily return to hotel during night time.
The amenities provided were good; however can be improved. (Also we can’t expect Posh Amenities in RS. 687 per Day)
Hotel location and the Room Charges were just the Best. The Toilet was not that much clean.
The overall Food quality was good. Many options on the Menu Card were not available though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aap006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We are member of Youth Hostel of Association of India so i planned to stay here in Shimla. I had booked my rooms directly through hostel.

We got good discount too. Rooms are good. service was nice. Food at restaurant is not too good. Better to avoid it. We reached hotel midnight at 2.30 becasue we were stuck in traffic near fatak towards shimla. Finally we reached hotel and managed to get some soft drink. Next morning another member was ready to welcome us. (ie. Monkeys in balcony) so be careful with your cameras and mobile. mall road is walkable distance from this hotel. Mall road is great for evening walk. Just too good.

Room Tip: Membership of YHAI
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Do not be taken away from the statements on their website. The warden Kavi Khanna is a cheater. He sells the budget rooms (costing rs 300) under guise of deluxe rooms. The hotel is taking advantage of the YHAI name and using the YHAI website as a means to catch clients. They will always say that budget rooms are not available and will force you to take higher priced rooms.
There are many good hotels at better locations and in low prices. You can consider double rooms at Hotel Dalziel near railway station (Rs 700), Hotel Flora at Lakkar bazar (Rs 1000), Hotel Ranjan at bus stand (Rs 330), Hotel Apsra (Rs 300), Hotel Fern Hill near railway station (Rs 800), Hotel Vikrant, Hotel Punit, Grand Hotel (Rs 250), Hotel Comfort (Rs 330), Hotel Ashoka, and many more.

The worst thing about the YHAI Shimla is that thay have a bar and this creates bad atmosphere which is not good for families with young girls. It is surprising how YHAI allowed bar to be operated whereas thay claim to be too goody goody as far as dicscipline is concerned. Imagine YHAI hostel having bar and drunkards around !

The YHAI hostel is very far away and you will have to walk a lot to go to main places. There are no buses and vehicles going near this hostel. If you have luggage to carry or drag....than God save you as you have to walk and walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arun_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#79 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#23 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Shimla
Hotel Prestige Shimla
#62 of 135 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimla Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimla Youth Hostel

Property: Shimla Youth Hostel
Address: Near Police Post Lakkar Bazaar, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shimla Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing