We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“decent 3 star property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shilon Resort
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Shimla
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“decent 3 star property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

stayed in shillon from 23 to 25 may with a group of 100+ pax. location was awesome, rooms were ok and staff was helpful.
thanks to gaurav for joining us and helped us making a successful trip.

kudos to shilon team!!!



Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
45
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have mixed type of review for the resort......reason is mismanagement.
We had confirmed bookings for 2 nights bt at reception there was no clue abt it.....then we have to show them online tractions done by us, it took 15 -20 min to get room. All credit goes to mr vijay who is their agent in delhi....has told me that we dont give rooms for single night stay....u have to buy our whole package for 2 days......wen I asked at resort ...they dont have any such policies...u can also go for one night stay....
1.Rooms are very spacious and clean ....Although we have nt booked room with bunk bed bt they offer ur that and I my kid was happy to jump on that.... bt they need to revamp their washrooms as they are quite big bt their bath curtains are very dirty....:(....
2. Location n view is awsum......u just feel like u r in heaven
3.food is good
4. Apple orchid is just outside ur room
5. Is awsum place for morning ppl like us....for walk n nature lovers
4. No indoor games was their except TT


MORAL: DO CALL AT RECEPTION before you start your journey.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanusona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was a terrible experience and I checked out of the resort within 2 hours of check in due to following reasons:-

1. As promised by the hotel sales manager Mr Gaurav Kumar sitting in head office GK-2 Delhi that cab would pick us up from ISBT Shimla at 6 am sharp on the 5th July 2014 , no cab came to pick us up on arrival and we kept waiting for more than half hour and then had to hire a taxi on almost double rates and go to the resort.

2. Secondly and most astonishingly when we arrived at the hotel no staff was there to greet us or carry our luggage, no one
Was present at the front desk and after making us wait for about an hour we were told by the staff that we did not had a booking though I had already paid advance online of Rs 5000/- through NEFT and had confirmed booking for dates 5th to 7th July 2014.
When I showed at the front desk the prinout of the confirmation mail that I had received from their head office on payment of advance , that they intiated some action and then repeatedly called and confirmed from their manager and office in Delhi that whether I really had a booking for these dates or not
Such an irresponsible behaviour was highly irritating and after making us wait for almost 2 hours is that they alloted us a room.

3. Then they room which we had booked online was superior deluxe but they alloted us deluxe room as they told us that superior deluxe rooms were already booked and such a thing was totally indigestible.

4. There was no hot water or landline / intercom was not working and on our repeated requests they did not switch o on they geyser/ boiler and l literally tortured us.

4. Then the manager their Mr Ashok amd their staff also misbehaved and spoke rudely when we said that you guys have cheated us , telling us that no refund will be made and finally after hours of heated argumemt they refunded Rs4000 deducting Rs 1000 for
for use of their horrible room.

5. I AM Going to file an application in the consumer court for the mental harassment that I have faced against this entire group
U.G HOTELS AND RESORTS LTD. which is the parent company of the Shilon resorts, S hilon Bagh and I request tripadvisor to support me in every way and blacklist this
Resort so that other people dont get cheated and harrassed in same manner that I have been.

My no. Is 09899888760 , My name is Gurtej Singh
Office address:- A-28 Amar colony lajpat nagar -4
New Delhi ' 110024.
Off Tel - 01126468760-61
I would appreciate a call from your end and guide me further how to resolve this matter.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank waheguruji111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Location of this resort is just awesome. Its situated in the middle of the hills. The weather is always great and its serene surroundings ensure a soothing and rejuvenating stay. if any one want make a holiday trip for shimla then please choose shilon resorts bcoz there is mny indoor and out door activities and many other service .it called "mini Switzerlan" there is many big apple orched and bib lawan for enjoy. You will feel like you are staying like a viceroy in a british countryside. Food is great and the choice of beverages available is good. Overall a great option for people looking for a great and relaxing stay away from hustle of already overexplored hill stations in north India.
its location 24km ahead from Main city shimla toward kufri chail road.

Regards
Rittam Thakur
09459990595

Room Tip: please choose valley facing (kinner kailash) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITTAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Shilon Resort is mid-way on chail-kufri road, away from maddening crowds of Shimla. the USP of this resort is its location, perfect for somebody looking to relax in a secluded place. Resort has a amazing view of mountains covered with green trees ( & not concrete mess like Shimla), offering multiple photo-clicking opportunities within and around the property. Rooms are spacious and overlooks beautiful valley. Food, housekeeping and rooms are good too.

Resort spreads across vast area and you need to have strong feet to walk long distances and climb lot of stairs, but its worth the effort. For kids, there are ample lawns to run around and play.
overall, had a wonderful stay and look forward to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went for a short trip to enjoy late winter snow and were lucky that the road leading to this resort was clear. The area is vere serene and silent. Witnessed beutiful sunrise and sunset. Being a photographer ,it was a delight for for me.
Food service was average as most of the things in menu were not available.
Great place to have a fresh and peaceful weekend !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at Shilon Resort for 2 nights recently and had a great time. The resort is located at nice serene place with amazing views of mountains and scenery. The rooms are very specious and service level is very good. Only one thing is the resort need maintenance as it's little ill maintained on some places. If it is tidy mainteained then it could be one of the best properties in Shimla region. having said that my experience was great, the resort has huge space to walk, play, view and kids really enjoy it. The food is good. I will visit again to the property. The staff is helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on Left of the resort have a great view of monutains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amitripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.8 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#22 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#89 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
9.9 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#19 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
8.5 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#17 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
7.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilon Resort

Property: Shilon Resort
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Mundaghat, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shilon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Shimla & Chail Shilon Resort is a Slice Of Heaven for a true traveller.An all cottage resort built of a Mixture Of Traditional Himachal and Colonial architecture ,it offers luxurious experience to the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shilon Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing