We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pathetic maintenance only good view and location advantage.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shilon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shilon Resort
Ranked #47 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pathetic maintenance only good view and location advantage.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Pathetic , No power backup at night. Restaurant short of supplies. Games room bogus. We were a big group. Occupying premium rooms. However few rooms had fridge, while others were devoid. Rooms does not have adequate white wash. Leaking faucets. Overall a waste of money. Imagine staying without electricity at night , no internal phones heating, in house tea from kettle, when you have paid for this. Standard answer . We don't provide backup after 11.00 pm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gauravbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
45
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in shilon resort for 3 nights 4 days and enjoyed it fully. The rooms and services are good but requires further improvements. We were in a group of 16 in all and had nice fun being there. The weather and scenic beauty was excellent. The place is worth visiting again n again. The staff was cordial and helpful and needs to be complimented.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ashok629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently came back from this place . The place is mind boggling , with amazing rooms and excellent view. They rightly claim this place to be 44 acres of Switzerland . The food quality and the services is also amazing , contrary to what I have read in some of the review in trip advisor . Chekin was done quickly, food ordered was given in 10 mintues of time . The staff was very prompt and hlpfull The place is strongly recommended for a leisure and family trip .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibedita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were there at Shilon resorts and enjoyed our 4 day stay .In peak season you cant expect much but the staff was very helpful.We had small kids and they helped us with getting the food done as per our requirement , special thanks to Mr Pitamber sharma who is the GM . He helped us organize a small Bonfire next to our rooms (yes you read correct Bonfire in june ) it was chilling night . we enjoyed sitting next to fire.

There is a small Tea stall just outside resort which serves Maggi and Tea , amazing in cold weather .

Food is ok , service being peek season were slow but came.Sometimes same menu being repeated .Nothing much for children , you can play there in the parks though .and if you are family you can enjoy sitting and playing among yourselves .

Nothing is near so you need to take cab to go out.kufri is nearest and then shimla

its a Place meant for people who just wants to stay out of hustle bustle of cities and enjoy peace .

one word of caution it is 3-4 hours journey from Kalka , so one has to be prepared for road trip if you are going form Delhi - kalka shatbadi

Room Tip: we were on ground floor and view of valley was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Bad food no!no! Very bad food and very bad rooms ,even doors and furniture are old and broken, nothing is there for kids ,there is one Table tennis room which is dirty and with old and broken tables ,Poor service you can say swings are there but broken,Fans are there but not working..food is there which is not tasty ..blankets are there but old and dirty and it's a waste of time and money

Room Tip: Do not waste your time going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank punjabsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's an amazing place. We visited here during second week of June'12 as a getaway from Delhi heat and we were greeted by cold breeze and rain. Its located on kufri chail road, away from noise and pollution of Shimla. The place assures you of breath taking views, good food, decent service and complete peace of mind. Don't make a mistake of going to kufri or shimla, its only going to add to travelling bills and spinning heads. I was lucky to even witness a jackal being chased by dogs from my balcony, a couple of wood peckers (apart from other exotic birds) and variety of roses in your garden. Don't forget to capture a sun-rise early in the morning. A must visit place if you can travel on serpent roads for 5-6 hours from kalka Station.

Room Tip: Ask for duplex or rooms on second level, if possible. Else all rooms have good valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachinrustagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been to this place earlier as well but the experience was not much to write about.

However I have been to Shilon Bagh in June 12 and had a wonderful experience.This time around there was a lot of change in the way they were treating their customers rather I should say the way we were treated. The food was AMAZING with a great buffet!!!! The staff was amazingly courteous and friendly. They made us feel at home right from the moment we entered the property.

On nothing that we asked for we got a NO as an answer!!! Needless to say on the day of the check out we would have wanted to stay for couple of more days but unfortunately time was an issue.

Great going guys and keep up the good work you are doing!!!

Readers - Please do visit this resort for the location & the food it offers as this is great as a home away from your home!!!

Room Tip: Take ground level rooms which given a lot of area to walk around outside your room and the view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GautamJ_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
9.9 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#95 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#29 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
8.5 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#20 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilon Resort

Property: Shilon Resort
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Mundaghat, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shilon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Shimla & Chail Shilon Resort is a Slice Of Heaven for a true traveller.An all cottage resort built of a Mixture Of Traditional Himachal and Colonial architecture ,it offers luxurious experience to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilon Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing