We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the top of Shimla ...”
Review of OYO 2885 Garkhal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OYO 2885 Garkhal
Ranked #92 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a classic Indian hotel well located; with the basic things in the room and with a reasonable price. The person on charge of the hotel is very friendly and always helpfull. You can walk to the Mall road and city center in just five minutes.

Rooms are spacious and with large windows. I really like the stairs in the hall. They are fantastic.

The hotel also has a trekking guide and expedition staff very well trained.

I highly recomend this hotel if you go to Shimla .... I have been in anothers hotel in the area and the conditions are not good as Dreamland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rupifragum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Deluxe rooms are very small, bad quality of room, cleanness ok, location is behind Christ church on top of the slop but close to the Mall road. Not much to say as it was just a night halt but would not stay here again, prefer another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sheldon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the worst hotel in shimla.As per there commitment they are not providing the room.The will give you the road side which is a delux room.In room there is no walldrop.U have to carry your on luggage to room at check in & check out.The dreamland manager way of talking is worst.The toilet is horibble.I face lots of proble in the hotel.The intercom is not working.Blunket is in very worsr condition.I prefer everybody please not book this hotel.Westage of money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepak504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

visited this hotel in April 2013. Very pathetic. rooms were very untidy, bed sheets & pillows are not cleaned & service was very poor & disadvantage of the hotel is it located on top, you need to climb steep slope with your luggage at least for 15 mins from church. Taxis are not going to hotel in day hours.I hired a coolie from railway station & reached to hotel by walking 2.5 kms. As mentioned 24 hr hot water was not available.

Room Tip: Located at very high. Steep slops to climb every time you visit market/mall/ridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Neeraj2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were in a group of around 40. We had booked almost 20 rooms. Not every hotel in Shimla would be able to provide you the same accommodation facilities. Roof Cafe is excellent and provides a gorgeous scenic view. Staffs are friendly and rooms are tidy. Washrooms especially were very much clean, unlike all other hotels. Food is good and is served hot always which was enjoyable in winter nights. Very close to Mall (behind Christ Church). I would recommend others to try this hotel. One of my friends visited with her family in 2012 and was thankful to me for recommending the hotel to her. Manager is the single point of contact, who would help you a lot during your visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeetKabasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

visited this hotel in feb 2013 this year. very pathetic. rooms were very untidy & service was very poor & disavantage of the hotel is it located on top, you need to climb with your luggage atleast for 15 mins from church.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank srinivas_taleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel is its location. This is nearest to the Mall. Just 100meters from the mall. Rooms are neat and clean. Budget hotel. They have parking but you need to know the way to reach the hotel by car as it is on VIP lane with restricted traffic movement.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Doegar
Hotel Doegar
#90 of 117 in Shimla
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#87 of 117 in Shimla
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#62 of 117 in Shimla
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.6 mi away
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
#78 of 117 in Shimla
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 2885 Garkhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 2885 Garkhal

Address: Garkhal | Near Sai Baba Temple, Shimla 171001, India (Formerly Hotel Dreamland Bed & Breakfast)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $13 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your OYO 2885 Garkhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing