We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE THE BEST LOCATION IN SHIMLA”
Review of Samrat Regency

Samrat Regency
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samrat Regency
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Manali, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ONE THE BEST LOCATION IN SHIMLA”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here last week I think this is one of the best location in Shimla.I have been in Shimla two times earlier and stayed at different locations both the time.it took a lot to reach at mall road which is the only attraction in Shimla after natural beauty.This time one of my travel agent Himalayan Mysteries tours offered me this Hotel,Thanks to them.A neat and clean property,care taker staff,and nice food as well. I strongly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nand927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
17
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwalior
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

-Best location, close to lift.
-Food is good.
-They can clean room only between 8am to 11am.
-No DTH. Only cable connection available. Limited Channels with worst picture quality.
-Room No. 101 to 105 are best as location wise.
-Monkeys can create problem in balcony, they pass there twice or thrice daily as routine.
-Value for money; Average hotel in average cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amitpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went to this hotel on 19th May 2014 in morning and to my surprise what all review I have read for this hotel was drastic but it was not like that
1. Reception along with the Reception People were great
2. Amenities like Bed, Cleanliness Bed LED 32inch TV was too good
3. Food Quality was ok ok but Parathas were great
4. It was easily accessible from Mall Road, Lift, Christ Church, Ridge, Scandal Point

Room Tip: All Rooms are good but do ask them for Room No 12 or 14 as they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srimanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Even for the price we paid the hotel had very small rooms and zero amenities. The staff was quite unprofessional and the room services quite crappy. The ordered food did come in some time, but even for something like water a lot of reminders were required.
Rooms so small that you need to keep the luggage quite judiciously so as to be able to walk around. Bathrooms are below average - but luckily for us there was no water problem as mentioned in other reviews.

The only advantage of this hotel is that it's very close to the lift, so saves carrying the stuff on back on an uphill (if you have to stay on Mall Road). We hardly stayed in the rooms except for the sleeping at nights as walking in the market was a much better option. It was kind of an off-season so we managed to bargain at Rs 2300 for 2 nights. Probably anything higher would not have been justified either!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mishra712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The most fraud hotel in shimla. On 12th apr14 I was there for my hooney moon.Took super delux room by paid rs 2500per night. Bt the room condition was very bad, and also provide us room in the forth floor. After many request the manager did not change the room. The room was wooden flrooring but the every corner of the room was dam and filled with fungas.

Room Tip: never booked this room for your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location of hotel is great. Rooms are average but worth as per cost. Hotel ambiance is below avarage. Hotel staff is co-operative. Room service is average.
Hotel is right on the mall road & near lift. Very good place to stay for members who are old.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Atul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed in the Samrat many times over the past 20 years, and always find it a pleasant experience. Well situated on Combermere Bridge, adjacent to the lift, it is easy to find, and is just a 5 minute walk from Christchurch and the main ridge. It has only about 20 rooms on 4 floors, all facing west, with balcony corridor access. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the downstairs restaurant serves good food, with room service, as well. The rooms are simple, and not always with all of the lights functioning, and the bathrooms are clean but basic. There is satellite TV in every room, with a good range of channels. The only negative thing about this hotel is that they invariably lock the front door by 11 pm, and waking the staff to gain access after that time, can occasionally be difficult, but if you're not planning a night on the town (which is not easy to do in Simla, anyway) , that shouldn't be a problem! The prices are very reasonable, and off-season, the management is always happy to offer a discount. For a visitor on a budget, , who still wants a comfortable stay,I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way and all open onto a public balcony; the lower floors involve less climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HughAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#56 of 112 in Shimla
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#46 of 112 in Shimla
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge View Regency
Bridge View Regency
#79 of 112 in Shimla
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samrat Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samrat Regency

Property: Samrat Regency
Address: Mall Road, Shimla 171011, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samrat Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing