We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel but great views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Heaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Heaven Hotel
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average hotel but great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rock Heaven Hotel for 2 nights and sadly found our experience average at best. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and very helpful despite speaking very little English, and the view across the forested valley was excellent. Our double room with en suite bathroom was spacious, but unfortunately the worn out furniture and poor cleanliness let it down. The bed sheets did not appear to have been washed, with stains and hairs from previous guests (we slept in our sleeping bag liners) and the tiled bathroom could have done with a good clean. The 1 TV channel wasn't working and the hotel did not have Wi-Fi despite this being advertised on the online booking site we booked through. The hotel is located in a nice and peaceful area, great for forest walks, but about 13km from Shimla (a Rs 300 taxi ride). The restaurant food was cheap and good enough. Just a shame the room and cleanliness let the place down. Definitely overpriced for what you get. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolemoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
20
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dilli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The review calling all other reviews fake (by RasaKC) prompted me to write this. Actually I had the same feeling while I was researching and some them actually might be fake but then read on for my personal experience and make you call:

I stayed in this place for 3 lovely days with my wife in last week of Jan-13. The reviews do come across as too good to be true but so is the place. If your definition of vacation is luxury stays, spas, flamboyant hotel activities exuberant lobbies, ease of access to city amenities then this place is definitely not for you. However if you understand the true meaning of value for money and put more value to scenic beauty and location of the stay rather than the size of the bed and would trade access to a urban areas for poetic quite then this place is cut out for you.

This is situated at mashobra about 8 kms from simla. The view from window is breathtaking (USP), especially on a full moon night where you get the true feeling of sleeping in the snow capped mountains and lush green valley in warmth of a room heater of-course. I would rate it as the best budget hotel ever. I stayed in Room 203, my only complain the cable wire goes in front of the scenic view which can be easily moved and should be but then I'm good with photoshop :).

The Taxi driver is simla are cheats especially a MR. ChetRam who made start of our vacation a nightmare but we asked the Hotel and they arranged cab for us at lower prices than the deal that I worked out after much research online.

This place is away from hallabula of Mall Street in Shimla. IMO, You'd be better off going to a shopping mall for vacation then staying at one of luxury hotel at mall street but then again each to its own.

Rooms are small and ideal for couple but singles travelling on budget cannot be stopped from coming here, after all they also have a right to experience a romantic place with friends? (but should they?)

Location is strategically placed at the orthocentre of the triangle formed by tatapani, kufri & simla (and nerd in me took over, excuse the jargon).

Room service are late risers don't expect breakfast before 0830. Food is surprisingly excellent, better than anything you'll eat in restaurants from packaged trips by far.

Disclaimer: I have no association whatsoever with this hotel but I believe in good karma and they were nice to me hence the detailed review. Hope it helps someone lost in myriad of reviews with lots of phony and seldom genuine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank phunsukbangdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I think that most of the good reviews and the photos for this hotel are FAKED. In reality it looks much worse than in the photos they provide. I have an impression that they asked friends and friends' friends to submit good reviews in order to increase overall score.

Why?
1. Photos do not correspond to reality.
2. Location is bad. Hotel is some 12-14 km away from Shimla. Taxi will cost you 400-600 INR. In the morning it was very difficult to get back to Shimla. Taxi driver asked 800 INR, we sent him away, and eventually got to Shimla with the help of local people.
3. No WiFi, although they claim there should be Wifi in this hotel.
4. Rooms and bathrooms need renovation.
5. Unfriendly staff. Poor English.
6. Quite noisy inside - staff was watching TV loudly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RasaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited the property after reading reviews , and I have a question here . Why would you worry about minor issues i the reward is as good as this location and surroundings ?? For people born with silver spoon and who have no way of survival without te luxuries should avoid it , perhaps we forget that minor issues take place at out home too, where we might not change bed sheets for 2-3 days and might not have eggs in the fridge at times ?? So what ?? Come here to visit the best part of shimla or shall I say the heaven .. We had no issues with ye hotel washrooms were very well working and it took about 30 minute To kufri and 20 to helipad and few less to shimla . I don't understand why poeple stay at shimla as its just like Delhi or any other crowded city difference is that its on mountain . If one really wants a nice drive and peaceful location this is the PLACE guys i hardly found anything unavoidably irritating , STAT HERE TO FEEL THE DIFFERENCE

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandeepsinghtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our hearts sank the moment we set eyes on the hotel after a long and taxing drive on a rainy day. It was shabby and small with no touch of any kind of style.We booked "Super Deluxe" rooms but were dissapointed to find small rooms with queen sized beds and a small mirror with a shelf. There was one plastic chair and a narrow side sitting bench which may be used as a bed if you weighed below 40 Kg. Two windows, one of which opened into the valley and the other to a cluttered corner. The bed clothes were not changed and the blankets and quilts shabby and unwashed. The small lobbies and stairs were smudgy and infested with flies. It is a 25 min. drive to Shimla from the hotel, which is located in Mashobra. Keep away!

Room Tip: The so called "Super Deluxe" rooms are few and on the top- they have a good view of the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranjit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was absolutely amazing- idyllic,quaint and breathtakingly beautiful... If you opt for the delux rooms, choose the west-facing ones. They have the best view. Situated right in middle of the Mashobra reserve forest, come here if you enjoy having a true vacation-doing nothing at all... Rooms and bathrooms are clean, staff is excellent- very polite and helpful. Come here if you want to reconnect with nature, with each other or with yourself...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lovely hotel & great service, the staff went out of their way to arrange the washing of our laundry as they didn't offer the service here. It is very romantic and cute a nice place to spend getting away from it all for a few days. The local shops/ATM are 4 KM away and we paid 200 rupees for a return trip in a cab at the hotel staff's direction. Not sure if this was too much to pay or not. Simla is a nice place to visit, but doesn't require much more than a day trip and is around 15 KM away about 20 minutes by Taxi. Simla Train Station took about .... minutes to get to and cost us ..... rupees for a taxi there under the hotel's direction again.

The food in this hotel is some of the best we have had in India, and in our 2 months here, we have dined in some very pricey restaurants. So not everything on the menu will blow your mind, but if you want good food steer towards the Indian dishes. We found every Indian dish we had here was beyond tasty. The Chinese was good too. Great grub!!

Would stay again, we booked though the hotel's own website. Just over 6000 rupees for 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pointsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.8 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
5.2 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#78 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#52 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bridge View Regency
Bridge View Regency
#68 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Heaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Heaven Hotel

Property: Rock Heaven Hotel
Address: Post Office | Naldhera Road, Shimla 171007, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Heaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing