We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All rooms are like Jail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Ranked #87 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location is superb. Just 5-10 mins walking distance from The Mall and Ridge. Hotel's reception is at 5th floor. If you get a room at 5th or 4th floor then its fine. Else if you get room at 1st floor like us you can have a feel of Jail. No ventilation no window no terrace and all at the first floor. First floor was basically like a basement.
Room was averagely clean but the bathroom always smelled like hell. Rooms were really congested without any ventilation.
Rooms are not sound proof - you can hear gossips from other rooms easily. So no privacy.

Some positive points though:
Room service is excellent. Order for some food or any service and expect the service people ring the buzzer within minutes.
They have their own reserved parking.
Travel desk provide reasonable rate though they take their commission but service is good.

Room Tip: The reception is at 5th Floor, if you get rooms at 5th and 4th floor then only you will get value fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

we visited this hotel on 18th December 2012 and stayed there for two days. The location of this hotel is very nice. Mall is just 5 minutes away from here. The rooms are good, well decorated with round shaped bed. Hot water supply is 24 hrs. Room service is up to the mark. The hotel has its own car parking facilities at its front. The only drawback is the avalibility of mobile network. As all the rooms are below the ground level there is no network coverage either in mobile phone or dongle. It was impossible for me to communicate any person over mobile phone when was in room. No incoming and outgoing calls from the room of this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is a good one but the only problem is that. no communication over mobile phone from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prateekbitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank PUNITKUMAR P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Firstly the positives -
1. Really good rooms - we stayed in super deluxe rooms and it had a bunker type beds for kids in addition to a decently large double bed. The interiors too are decently done up.
2. Proximity to Mall road - Mall road is very close - 5-10 minutes walk and you reach the ridge.
3. Parking facility - in Simla, the biggest challenge is to find a hotel at close proximity to Mall road and with parking facilities - this takes care of both.
4. Excellent room service.
And the negatives -
1. The rooms feel claustrophobic - You have to climb down to the rooms (lobby is at the top floor); and all the corridors makes you feel claustrophobic due to lack of ventilation and sunlight. Felt this way about the rooms too.
2. The lobby is extremely small and with constant movement of people in and out, it gives a very busy feel to the hotel.
3. The hotel has no restaurant - but makes it up with very good room service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hello I booked this hotel Royal Deluxe room on 14 Dec 12. Really poor room service and old interior rooms available there. Its my suggestion if u are Shimla than book another hotel otherwise u need to face many issues
=> Poor room service
=> Very bad rooms
=> Bathroom not cleaned
=> Poor food and more expensive

I am going to attached some photos

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Chandan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First I want to share my tripadvisor review history. I personally used to select the hotels depending upon the reviews in tripadvisor. While searching for Shimla I was having 2-3 shortlisted hotels including Gulmarg. But there were both positive and negative feedback for this hotel. I however selected this hotel with dilemma.

But when I visited the experience was awesome. Its one of the best economy hotels in Shimla. I really recommend this hotel for couples and also families.

Advantages:
1. Its located in posh area of Shimla which is near to Mall road.
2. The food of this hotel was awesome though it was not having dine in restaurants separately. Food was comparability better than all the places where I had in Shimla.
3. The cost is very cheap comparability with similar hotels in this area.
4. It will suit couples as well as families.
5. Room service was good.
6. They doesn't charge any extra amount apart form the amount paid for booking.

Disadvantages:
1. They don't have any separate restaurant to dine in.
2. Really nothing to mention as compared to the cost and location.

Room Tip: Choose the valley view rooms where u can have a beautiful scenery during sunset and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varvindk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0 mi away
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
#78 of 117 in Shimla
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 117 in Shimla
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#24 of 117 in Shimla
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulmarg Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulmarg Regency

Address: Near The Mall, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gulmarg Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gulmarg Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing