We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good for Budget Stay with good Good and Coffee”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victory Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We reached Shimla on 3rd Feb at around 8pm Starting our North India tour (delayed 4-6 hrs by train delay). We searched hotel with help of drivers and then few portals took us here.
Being off-season, I did not expect hotels to be costly, but centrally heated were very costly due to bad weather.
Hotel Victory is Budget Hotel, Not centrally heated. Also, they do not have good Rod-Heaters, so better have a drink to heat yourself up.
We were two couples and stayed for 2 days and paid 1526 each day. Later we had known that it would have been still cheap (may be 1200) if we had bargained.
Hotel Staff were decent except one overlooker waiter, who overlooked room very much whenever he visited us.
Beds are comfortable.
There are no white lights in hotel, all of them yellow.
The toilet and bathroom were well maintained and there was NO un-pleasent smell.

The food we were served was marvelous and we did not had to worry about breakfast and dinner. The Coffee they served was above average and you could tip them just for their coffee and tea making.
They took card payment and remained friendly with us.
Location is cool, so its a good bet if you do not wanna show off yourself with 3/4/5 star hotels.

There were no Swimming pool or any such luxury stuff in hotel.

Also, do not book this hotel from net, got and bargain over counter. This way you get room you want at price you want.



Cheers,
Ravi

Room Tip: Prefer room that face main road. Do not book on net, have over the counter bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsravie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel Victory Shimla is a great place to stay. Me & my wife had our Honeymoon in Shimla and booked the hotel through MakeMyTrip.It is located centrally and you can walk down from the Bus Stand or the Mall. The rooms are reasonably priced and are neat and clean. Staff is polite, humble and helpful. Overall a complete package of 3 star facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manishj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on 2nd january as we reached shimla very late in the night n we had our booking in hotel white for 3 n 4th january.We hadnt booked a room for 2nd in advance. As hotel victory was too close to railway station we decided to stay here for the night only... When I entered d room, I was shocked to see what dey provide under the name of deluxe room which was for rs. 1500 per night.. There were no bedsheets, no towels, no soap which manager provided afterwards on request.. Hot water is available only for 3 hours in the morning, which is hot just for namesake.. Staff wasnt corteous at all.. Only one waiter I found to be well behaved and polite.. When we checked out, we had to carry our luggage from the 1st floor to ground ourselves.. In short it was the worst experience of staying at a hotel... I wont recommend it to anyone.. Stay here only when you dont have any other choice..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Gaurav P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Celebrity corporate club booked me Victory Hotel.Victory Hotel was neat and clean.Celebrity corporate club has affiliations to Victory Hotel.service is too good.Thanks to Celebrity corporate club for arranging this hotel.All members of Victory Hotel cooperate very well.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganeshmurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanty068, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Victory Shimla!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for acknowledging our Hotel and our hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit to Shimla and your next stay with us.

Best wishes.

Tushar Kukreja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year because it read well on the internet. However our experience there was constantly disappointing. Here are some of the notes I made but didn't post on the internet at the time:
We arrived during a rain storm and the two bellboys who were standing at the door watching our arrival made no attempt to assist us with our baggage up the access stairs in case they got wet. The room was run down and musty (even the mattress) and there were large mouldy damp areas on the dirty carpeted floor. We requested a fan but it never came. We wanted to open the windows to clear the musty odour in the room but were advised to keep the windows closed to stop the aggressive local monkeys entering the room. The provided towels were holey and torn at the edges and mini sized. The location is right on the ,main road so it was very noisy from bus, car and truck engines and constantly tootling horns. Reception staff were running on flat batteries and didn't ever seem like they wanted to assist with anything. A few smiles from all the staff would have been nice but rarely encountered. I've stayed in some run down places during my travels but this hotel would rate as one of the worst.... not at all as it appeared on the internet and for the price it was lousy. The only saving grace was that it was only for three nights.

Room Tip: Unless you're a masochist, avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this hotel based on different reviews. Well, here. I strongly feel that such fellow travellers are misguiding other travellers because of their personal problems. I must say that my last stay from 14th to 17th August 2012 was superb. I found it to be a very decent place for the money that you spend! The hotel is very conveniently located on the Circular road which is very close to Railway Station, ISBT and the happening Mall Road. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean, the food was good and the staff was just so helpful with everything. On our next trip to Shimla we intend to book the same hotel.

Room Tip: Any Super Deluxe Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhavesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.7 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 116 in Shimla
873 reviews
17.7 mi away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#8 of 116 in Shimla
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sunrise Villa
Sunrise Villa
#29 of 116 in Shimla
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#55 of 116 in Shimla
232 reviews
6.9 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#25 of 116 in Shimla
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Address: Circular Road | Near Victory Tunnel, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $39 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing