We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for a budget traveller”
Review of Lord's Grey Hotel

Lord's Grey Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lord's Grey Hotel
Ranked #91 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We booked the hotel because of positive feedback we received from some of our friends who had stayed there some time back. The room was quite big and spacious and a sofa set was also provided. The room was carpeted but there was a foul smell enmating from the carpet. When we brought this to the notice of the staff, they simply said that it was due to the heavy rains which had lashed the city some days back.
One thing which I found unique about this hotel was that we had to climb to the top floor of the hotel and had to exit from a narrow passage which led to the Mall road, the most famous street of Shimla. Similarly while returning back we had to use the top floor entrance.
The food was good and the room service was fine. The staff was prompt on call and never had we to wait to get things done. The staff was cheerful too, they promptly arranged local transport to allow us to explore the surrounding places like Kufri, Naldhera, Chail, etc.
I would recommend this hotel to guests, however they should not have too much of expectations but you can be assured of a good sleep at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arif_kool2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Lord's Grey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel Lord's grey is on the circular road in shimla. Just next to Hotel Surya. Hotel Has its own Parking. The rooms are just ok not very elegant. The food is also not so good. I have visited Shimla in the month of June this year and that is the peak season time for this hill station and because of that we have no choice than to stay in this hotel , other wise Hotel surya which is just next to it is a very good Choice. The only reason to take this hotel is that they have their own parking and Short cut Access to mall road. Other wise this hotel is not recommended by me. The worst part is the staff of the hotel, very rude and non cooperative . But at times when people are forced to go back from shimla b'cos of non availability of rooms in the hotels than only this hotel is an option to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhi927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Lord's Grey was probably a lovely hotel when built but we found it so dirty. It had a smell of either monkey and/or pee. I slept with a shawl over my face and had to apply scented cream to my nose to avoid smelling the room and being able to sleep. Yuck. They really need to remove the rugs and give the place a good cleaning. The views were great but the bedspreads and curtains could do with a washing. Staff was nice but you cannot run a hotel year in and year out without cleaning the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nowisthetime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

when we reach this hotel from manali (LOrd`s Regency Hotel ).we very tired for this journy. There are wonderful welcome to our. there is every thing is finein Hotel. NO complent from my side

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelhiRajart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Just stay away from this place. The rooms are decorated without taste though when you see them it would seem that they have spent some money on it. the rooms directly face the highway and throughout the night you would be able to hear truck wheezing by on the slope and honking like crazy. If that is not enough, the rooms are infested with RATS. God Bless!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

the rooms were spacious and had gr8 view of the valley......and of course the food was gr8...the room service was very prompt and at that rate of room tarrif what better yu can think off........... the lifts took yu from one lvl to other and the second lift took yu to the short cut to the mall road..........even then yu'l have to climb 126 steps to reach kalimandir and have a easy walk towards mall road.............enjoy......

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank acore60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

There a few hotels close to one another prices and rooms vary .
This one had a nice large room available was clean and reasonably priced.
There were really cheap rooms too which were popular with Indian families.
The room service was excellent had breakfasts and dinner served in our room.
Had a lift /elevator.
Nice comfortable bed.
Also a short cut up to the Mall although still quite a steep walk.
Shop opposite sold lager beer and spirits.
Not far from railway station . We loved the train journey to Kalka then on to Delhi via Chandigarth

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7_Scottish_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#44 of 113 in Shimla
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#31 of 113 in Shimla
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#84 of 113 in Shimla
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.3 mi away
Lords Regency
Lords Regency
#56 of 147 in Shimla
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord's Grey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord's Grey Hotel

Address: Circular Road | Across Victory Tunnel, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $39 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing