We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Kapil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapil Hotel
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed for one night in Hotel Kapil on the way to Manali. The rooms were really small but it was manageable. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of Shimla. Hot water was available without any problem. The electric blanket provided was comfortable to sleep even in very cold night. Have to mention about the food that the hotel serves in the room, was amazing and loved it!!! It was a good hotel to stay in and the staffs at the hotel are courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Kapil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 867 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

As part of the Simla experience we took the Toy Train from Kalka. There are plently of taxis waiting at Simla station - Rs250 to the hotel (fixed price). This hotel is ideally located only a short uphill walk to the main area of Simla but the hotel offers a complimentary drop off to Lakkar Bazar Market up until 7pm. The hotel management are very helpful. We had two deluxe rooms (114 and 115) with wonderful views to the Himalayas. The rooms are a good size but the decor is a little drab. The rooms felt cold but heaters are avaialable (a must) at Rs200 per day. The beds are large, comfortable and fitted with a heated underblanket. There is plently of hot water, a hairdryer, towels and toiletries are provided. The bathrooms are clean and tidy. There is a sitting area with comfy chairs and table. Food is served in the room. Breakfast was excellent - cheese omelette, toast and tea cost Rs197. The menu is extensive and the portion sizes good. Food is nicely presented and good value. The hotel has free WiFi - connection is very good. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is value for money.. its is good place to stay in shimla,
hotel is very near to mall road, and they do provide courtesy cab service till mall road,
best thing about the hotel is 24 hours hot water and heated beds.
food quality is good.
Sight seeing package offered by hotel is reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manjunathagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice and cozy place with most hygienically maintained with good linen and very good food served to the room only, with sufficient quantity served at reasonable prices, as hotel does not have restaurant, my stay was in super deluxe room from 28th. Feb. to 2nd. March 2014 for 2 nights booked through Expedia vide Itinerary No. 11589058379, which also is a honest booking site, worth repeating which actually i am repeating very shortly during the month end.Hotel provides 24 hours hot running water with room heater chargeable @Rs 200/- per day, hotel also provides complimentary drop to Lakad Bazar by brand new Tata Nano Car.
Strongly recommending to visit and stay in this property.
Mr. Bansidhar Ahuja - Khar (West) Mumbai - 400052

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bansidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had book this hotel from 27.02.2014 to 28.02.2014 after seeing the reviews online and m really happy with my choice. I reached at this hotel at 5 in the morning & the hotel staff is so nice that they provide us a guest room till the time of our check -in . I witness my first snow in the morning itself. I must say that Kapil hotel is a very good choice with pretty nice location. Management and hospitality was quite good. Other ancillary service and facility are quite good. Food quality is also ok. Only thing which is lacking is the little room space rest all is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 368tarunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I along with my wife stayed at hotel kapil shimla from 24/02 to 26/02/14 in a super deluxe room. Our stay was very good, excellent food especially the pasta, my wife loved it. Service was also nice and quick. The distance from The Mall was feasible and complimentary drop to Lakkhar Bazar proved very helpful. A perfect place to stay with your family and loved ones.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohit1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel is undoubtedly the best hotel in shimla. The service they provide, the gesture they show towards you.. is simply awesome. I stayed there for 3 nights during the last week of feb. The room was very neat. Hotel kapil made my stay perfect. Food was delicious and that too at reasonable prices. Located near ridge, even hotel also provide cab facility and they drop you near the ridge. Well, they provide you electric blanket. One day during my stay, snowfall started around 7 in the morning, guess what manager called us that "sir, enjoy the snowfall" that was so great... If i ever go to shimla, my stay gonna be in Hotel Kapil. I recommend others the same.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monga1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.9 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 113 in Shimla
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 113 in Shimla
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 113 in Shimla
510 reviews
6.7 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#25 of 113 in Shimla
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapil Hotel

Address: Radisson Jass Near Jass Radisson Bharari Road | Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $43 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small budget hotel having 15 guest rooms, room service and site seeing arrangements only. Public Areas: The hotel does not have large public areas. In room facilities: The rooms do not have mini fridges. Only the Pent House suite has an attached balcony. 24 hours hot running water available in the washrooms. The rooms are not centrally heated, however we provide complimentary hot water bed bottles for the night and Heat Convector for Rs.200/- per day extra. Dining: We offer in-room dining only as the hotel does not have restaurant space. Both fixed meal plan Menu and Ala Carte menu options are available. Vegetarian and as well as Non-Vegetarian dishes are prepared in our own in house Kitchen. Room Service – 7:30am – 10pmBreakfast – 7:30am – 11:30pmLunch – 12:30pm – 3 pm. Dinner – 7 pm – 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kapil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing