We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapil Hotel
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A short walk from lakkar bazar and mall road, this hotel has a very good location for those who want a place away from crowd and noise yet close to city centre.
Ours was a two nights stay at this hotel and we had booked a super deluxe room by paying one day advance after confirmation of booking by email from the hotel.
The room had a very good view of the valley with good tastefully done interiors.
Breakfast, Food, service, cleanliness level - excellent and that to at a very affordable price.
You can see Radisson hotel close by from this place.. most probably they have the same view but at what price !!!
So be wise go for Hotel Kapil . Excellent value for money !

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms have a very good valley view. Go for them.. at the level of reception or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMITIN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    307
    43
    5
    6
See reviews for
305
359
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good hotel to stay. To start with lovely view of the valley, nice clean rooms, very friendly staff. Was impressed with Mr Kunals service standards. Special mention to be made about their food which is just homely. Its really tasty. Nice prompt service. To top it all the travel desk is really helpful, very reasonable charged and good safe drivers. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. There are really no negatives to point out.

Room Tip: Take the valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UVtravlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed with family in a family suit in Hotel Kapil very recently. The rooms are asthetic and neat. Would love to stay again if got a chance. Only problem is it has no car parking space but close to Mall Road which is about walkable distance. --SAI

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saivaraprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Kapil during May 2012
Excellent value for money
15 min walk (climb) to Lakkar Bazar / Mall Road
Good food
Courteous service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anomitra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great service, close to the Mall road. Was very impressed with Kunal's customer service - i.e. our room was reserved without paying any advance and also advised us the places to visit around Shimla and Manali.

Stayed at Kapil hotel for one day with my family and would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning for a trip to Shimla.

One drawback though is that you will be charged 2% extra if you make the payment through credit card.

Thanks,
Raju

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Raju300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I intended to go to Shimla & Manali for my honeymoon and came across Hotel Kapil while searching on the internet for suitable options for accommodation at Shimla. I booked my reservations online after checking the prices and finding them quite affordable and attractive. Also, the photos shown on the website really looked attractive although I was a bit apprehensive whether the actual picture would be as wonderful. I had also booked a cab in advance over the phone for my entire trip from the hotel itself. On reaching Shimla, we were happy to find the driver waiting with the cab to take us to the hotel and from thereon till the end of the trip it was a happy and memorable experience!! The hotel lived upto my expectations and the food was tasty and the service prompt and good. The staff were very warm and helpful in guiding us during the stay. The bathrooms were very clean and all essential necessities were readily provided. A special note of appreciation must be made for the driver provided alongwith the cab from the hotel for his warm and friendly nature. He was very helpful and knowledgeable regarding the local tourist spots.

Thankfully Hotel Kapil lived up to its assured promises and I was successful in impressing my wife for planning such an excellent trip!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmaalya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice ambience in room, lovely valley view at day and breathtaking view at night.

Overall excellent hotel to stay in Shimla. We would definately love to stay here everytime we come to Shimla

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allwyn0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.7 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.0 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.6 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.7 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapil Hotel

Property: Kapil Hotel
Address: Radisson Jass Near Jass Radisson Bharari Road | Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small budget hotel having 15 guest rooms, room service and site seeing arrangements only. Public Areas: The hotel does not have large public areas. In room facilities: The rooms do not have mini fridges. Only the Pent House suite has an attached balcony. 24 hours hot running water available in the washrooms. The rooms are not centrally heated, however we provide complimentary hot water bed bottles for the night and Heat Convector for Rs.200/- per day extra. Dining: We offer in-room dining only as the hotel does not have restaurant space. Both fixed meal plan Menu and Ala Carte menu options are available. Vegetarian and as well as Non-Vegetarian dishes are prepared in our own in house Kitchen. Room Service – 7:30am – 10pmBreakfast – 7:30am – 11:30pmLunch – 12:30pm – 3 pm. Dinner – 7 pm – 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Kapil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing