We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money minded staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganga Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ganga Hotel
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Money minded staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel in the pics adn the real hotel is diffrent ..staff are money minded in the morning to assist with luggage staff who worked in F&B asked 200 rupees they do not have any information of the city ..mall road is quite far around 2 kms from the hotel and all u have to do is clib up the hill its very tiring...room were spacious but have to pay extra amount to the road view rooms.as it was my honey moon my husband aske dto arrange caked priced 350 1/2 kg cake too expensive aslo the message on the cake was not written.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amju-sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    6
    6
    25
See reviews for
26
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hi ,

The one thing I would like to say is the hotel people don't respect .money minded people.

They don't cooperate with customers.

I came back from shimla yesterday night.I was a OK trip for me.we booked hrtc Volvo bus which got cancelled and we are forced to go in ordinary bus (very bad service hrtc).
We left at 9 am and reached shimla at 01pm.

We got down at new bus stand there we took
A cab to city hotels they charged 250 bugs just to drop 2 kms away.

We booked a package room in this hotel for 3000 bugs.the cab people talk like they are doing meharbaani to us.

Over all place was awesome... but the people are beggars.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I visited with my wife. we had very bad experience in that hotel. Hotel's staff disturb too much. Partitioning between rooms are too thin. voices of 1 room pass to another room. Full night we heard the voices of adjacent room. Its really very uncomfortable to heard the voices of a couple.
It spoil our full night. Please don't prefer to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi_kumarDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The location is not bad but also not right in the city center. The proprty is in an average condition: everything looks quite used, not very modern. The sfatt during my stay were friendly and quite helpfull. The room was not big and with poor ventilation system. The cleanlines should be improved. The price was generally adequate to the average standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Washrooms are extremely dirty . No housekeeping. English toilet is there without paper rolls- think how is service. Even after asked not been made available.
Over all I will never want to stay back in this hotel.

Room Tip: Never choose this hotel for your couple stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

we(me,my wife,my parent) went to Shimla on 9th april 2012.after a hectic long journey from delhi we reached shimla by our rented car.we wanted to stay near Mall road.so we choose Ganga by seeing it from internet.after reaching there we found out that there was no car parking facility.rooms were big but old fashioned and dirty.....the worst thing is the toilet......u will find all the possible staines from previous guest......we told the room service 4-5 times to clean the toilet but they didn't respond.i switched on the tv and found out it has only few channel(2-3) to provide.....on asking about the problem they said its for poor signal.......only good thing was food....we took room 305 and 307....both have balcony(which is not accessible from the room)......hotel staff always tried to sneek from there,which was quite uncomfortable.

Positive thing-

1.big rooms
2.good food
3.budget price (we paid 900 rupees/night)

negative thing-

1.dirty and old fashioned.....tv is in wooden cage
2.poor room service
3.no car parking
4.20 minute walk from Mall road....IMPORTANT-old,weak n sick people will find it difficult to reach Mall road from the hotel as you have to climb up for some time.
5.curtains are too short to cover the whole window.....beware people can see u through window

take care and hope you will be benefited from my review

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank saif_rajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

It might be the WORST hotel of Shimla....Please dont waste your money here...they have nothing. They have surely ruined many vacations plus your money....It might be the WORST hotel of Shimla....Please dont waste your money here...they have nothing. They have surely ruined many vacations plus your money....It might be the WORST hotel of Shimla....Please dont waste your money here...they have nothing. They have surely ruined many vacations plus your money....

Room Tip: Please do not even consider this hotel ever.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RavinderDhiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpine Heritage Residency
Alpine Heritage Residency
#62 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#38 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#52 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baljees Regency
Hotel Baljees Regency
#34 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rajat
Hotel Rajat
#82 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Hotel

Property: Ganga Hotel
Address: Melrose Lodge Estate (Just Crossing the Victory Tunnel ) | Circular Road, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ganga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing