We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Within budget”
Review of Hotel White

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel White
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Within budget”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

There can't be a better place , location wise, budget wise. Hotel White is close to the Ridge, Mall road, Lakkar Bazar. The staff is nice, rooms spacious,neat and clean.
Take a room with spacious balcony and enjoy the cool winds, mountain view. A perfect place to spend time with your family. For last 7 years have been going to Shimla in May/June and never ever thought of changing the hotel.
Mr.Thakur, the manager is cooperative, the staff never ever disturbs you.
You need to book in advance to get a room of your choice.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with Balcony attached, or with open space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
73
58
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is an average property. Property is not well maintained. Room interior is too poor. Bathroom and room interior seems like a hostel. Also, it is located at height and in such a place that, car can't go till there. You will need to carry your luggage through staircase and a quite long way or hire local coolie.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumit_Parakhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavnagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed there for 5 days with 2 other family members ............. Hotel White can be referred for its great location ...right on lakkar bazar .U have ridge, mall within 10 mins walking distance only. Manager Mr.Surender Thakur is helpful and a very nice person. Room service is good ......Breakfast ,snacks and tea is readily served, but they could have an in house restaurant for lunch and dinner..............but u get food readily in lakkar bazar just outside hotel.The room (room no.10) in which we stayed had great view of the valley and far reaching slow clad mountains .......Peaceful, no distaurbance type of hotel...clean with running hot water. Surely can be advised to anyone visting Shimla.Budget wise also pocket friendly .....

Room Tip: Room No.10, although is a at lower height in hotel ...and u have to climb up nearly 40 stairs to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUNTY0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. I don't know what was going on but there was a high frequency buzzing sound all night long. I thought I was having a tinnitus attack. Stayed on the ground floor. Of course no one bothered to smile the whole time I was there. I hate it when hotel staff treat you like they are doing you a favour by giving you a room you are paying for!!! Room was alright . The bathroom was very clean. Locations good. 5 min walk to the mall. One added bonus is that they have place to park a bike behind a locked gate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 0b10ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pros :
Walking distance from the Mall road.
walking distance but still away from noise.
everyone seems to know the location of this hotel
clean and simple rooms with basic but prompt room service.
big balcony with breathtaking view (room booked at reception level)

over all a good memorable stay at the hotel. Hotel manager Surender was also very helpful.

Room Tip: Take rooms at reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinUchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I would like to begin by mentioning that the our trip to Shimla was made memorable by virtue of our stay at Hotel White.
First off, its a name most taxi wallahs and bus drivers recognise, this is a big plus.
We had booked in advance and paid for a couple of days in advance too. Upon reaching the hotel we were shown into a nice and cozy room. However my better half wanted another room with a better view which was provided immediately. The rooms are cheerful, bright and have very clean bathrooms and 24 hours of running hot water. The hotel is very peaceful and views of the valley are marvellous; the staff are very courteous and well mannered. The manager Mr. Surender Thakur is a perfect gentleman and provided us with tips and suggestions that helped us plan our side trips and tours.
The breakfast and snacks are quite palatable and are served hot, this was a big bonus during our trip since it was in the last week of November 2013.
The hotel is very conveniently located and a couple of minutes walk to the Mall which is the heart of Shimla.
We left very satisfied and would happily stay there again when we visit.
Highly recommended for families and couples.
Bottomline - a nice value for money hotel for budget travellers, well mannered staff and very helpful hotel Manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schaterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel white is 5mins away from the mall area. Large spacious room with a lovely balcony overlooking the valley... the service was friendly and warm.
Fairly priced, centrally located, clean and tidy, smiling faces .... what more does I need in a serene place like shimla!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.3 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#86 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#22 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White

Property: Hotel White
Address: Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel White 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
White Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing