We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of The Apple Blossom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Apple Blossom
Ranked #9 of 151 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

While heading for Thanedar from Chandigarh, we stopped at The Apple Blossom a unit of HPTDC, Fagu.

We were very impressed with the view. We did not have much time but had tea which was good and served to us pretty fast. May be next time I will stay a day or two and check out the food & rooms too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 142 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We been there only for couple of days during 2007, but it was still its in our memory and this is the place where we would be visiting again. It located and they have a room (not remembering its number) with breathtaking view of Himalayas. Its a corner room with windows in 2 sides and from the bed you will feel like you are somewhere in the sky as clouds appears and disappears every moment. Village only has few houses and their main farming is cabbages. From the window cabbage fields gives you an beautiful room.

Happy to see that our government guest houses are very clean and customer friendly. Food is not so great, but manageable. .

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in the Super Deluxe rooms located in the 2nd floor corners, they have good view of the valley or the Shivalik range.
Rooms are very spacious and toilets are clean and well maintained.
Food and service is very good.
The concrete courtyard overlooking the valley and the mountains is a good place to sit and chat, they serve food over there on request.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prithvirajbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is located around 22km from Shimla, which gives residents a convenient distance away from the Shimla crowds. If you have a car, then travelling isn't a problem at all, but if not and you're willing to rough it a bit, then don't worry, there are local buses to Shimla every half hour from 8am to 8pm.
The hotel itself is spartan, but comfortable. All the rooms have a nice view, but choose the ones that open to the valley -- and you wake with the rising sun! Especially the ones on the eastern corner (Room nos 303 and 403). The view all around is beautiful, and it has a huge terrace for kids to play a few games while the elders bask in the sun.
The hotel staff is pleasant and very helpful, and the in-house restaurant serves some really good and simple food. One drawback is that the electricity goes of frequently, but they have a generator for the night, so it's not that much of an inconvenience. Overall, a huge thumbs-up for Hotel Apple Blossom!

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern corner (303, 403) have the best views. And the mid-range rooms are fairly spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chockro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent place to stay.Quiet and beautiful place.Apple blossom has spacious rooms.Room service is excellent.Very good to see govt gest house being so professional.Well maintained and very courteous staff.Will recommned this place to every one who is looking for a peaceful stay at shimla.

Room Tip: Select dealuxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kiran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and My family visited the property on 30 march for overnight stay. The Hotel offers good picureque view of the valley. the room are ok.......but neat and clean. On arrival we were greeted by the staff and that night there was heavy rain and hailstrome......dipping the temp to 3-4 degrees.the food option was very limited although the quality was good.Not much options for non vegetarians.The breakest was good. The room view of valley is grt and hotel has big terrace. overall good place for weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tejinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On our return trip from Sarahan to New Delhi we decided to stay at Shimla or Fagu. HPTDC hotel srikhand's(our stay at sarahan) staff apple blossom and we had no problems whatsoever and the decision turned out to be worth it. Having stayed at Hotel Peterhoff(another HPTDC property) and comparing both, apple blossom definitely fares better in all departments viz.., location, fantastic views, quality of service and food. Rooms were clean, well maintained, carpeted, well heated and cleaner linen. Wish we cud stay for a longer duration. Only negative was that the hotel does not have a bar, which was compensated by the hotel staff by buying it for me from the local wine shop:) it's a running BAR...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
6.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.6 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#100 of 117 in Shimla
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
816 reviews
9.4 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
4.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Escape
Hotel Himalayan Escape
#12 of 151 in Shimla
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Blossom

Address: Fagu, Shimla 171012, India (Formerly Hotel Peach Blossom)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range: $26 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing