We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite!”

Lodi The Garden Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 12,580 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Best known as the capital's favorite alfresco casual dining restaurant, Lodi - The Garden Restaurant is situated in the heartland of Delhi. The restaurant sections are split between the atrium, bar floor, terrace, garden area and the ground floor, altogether totaling up to 180 covers. The restaurant offers various facilities and experiences such as catering for private parties & cocktail dinners; winter al fresco Sunday brunches from October to March, banquets & corporate lunches; weekend breakfast, private and corporate events & lunches; high teas and monthly culinary festivals. With an extensive wine list & single malts, Lodi's bar is a highlight for the restaurant. The 16 tap wine machine is a one of a kind feature which makes the bar floor an extremely desirable location at the restaurant. The cocktails include a selection of the classics and a wide range of specialised herb infused creations prepared by our talented mixologist.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Other people mention coming here for lunch and dinner. I've been there for breakfast, coffee, lunch, after lunch drinks, tea, happy hours, dinner, cocktails, special events, book readings..... Heck, there've been occasions when I've reached there before they've opened in the morning.

I'll start by explaining the last one. Friends and I complete our early morning walk in Lodhi Gardens because we know there's tea and coffee to be had at Lodi after the walk. While the tea is just a tea bag in hot water, the accompanying sandwiches are really ordinary and there's not much ready at 0800, the ambience is delightful. The staff is attentive, there's piped music, flowers strung up in the trees etc etc.

And that's pretty typical for the place. I've come for happy hours and been floored by the wine, the sangria is excellent and its a delightful place that ensures that everyone in the family considers it número uno for a celebratory meal. It's also well located( the Jorbagh Metro station is within staggering distance and Khan Market is nearby) and beautifully decorated. However, I don't remember a single meal I've eaten there because the food is fairly ordinary. Also, the place is not cheap...but then Delhi is probably one of the most expensive cities to eat in so just consider that you're paying for the ambience, location, service and beauty of the place and you'll think you've got your money's worth

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RK24NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    340
    108
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only Garden restaurant in Delhi”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Delhi serving Mediterranean and continental cuisine. Service is amazing. Located inside Lodi Garden !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DimpleSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor restaurant with perfect romantic ambience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The lighting and seating arrangement is perfect. Specially the carts which come at a cover charge nowadays. However they are totally worth the money. The food is decent and the place with its decor is perfect for a romantic date.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikanshu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Summer Menu - Review | Lodi”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

How do you react when you get invite to taste the menu of your favorite restaurant in town??? Yes when I received email last week – I jumped with delight. It was an invitation from Lodi – The Garden Restaurant to taste their new summer menu. This is by far one of my favorite restaurants in Delhi. One of finest dinning place with the most romantic ambience. I wrote review on Lodi earlier too and here is the link :
http://www.mysticfoodiemantra.com/2013/03/Lodi-garden-restaurant-Lodi-road-new.html

At Lodi, GM Marketing greeted and explained about the new summer menu concept, company’s future plans and shared details around their mango festival ( it’s seasonal festival where they prepare some of the dishes from the seasonal fruits and they keep innovating - I will share later, the details on mango festival). We discussed around their signature dishes, quality control to which they give top priority as their restaurant is a brand in itself. Staff were very courteous and open to feedback and were open to understand customer’s perspective. We decided to start with their recommendation.
I started with Mocktails
Skin glow – A lovely peach colored drink with a sophisticated combination of aloe vera juice, ginger and lemon. The pungent taste of ginger and soft flavor of aloe makes it a very refreshing drink
Two for Love – Foam of Apple and a sweet and sour combination of mango and orange makes it all the more compelling.
Next on the Entrée was Soup and Salads
Chilled Mango with yoghurt – I adored this cold soup which seem to be perfect on a hot summer. Cold soups are tricky and it’s a perfect blend, it gives that rare artistic taste that a mango lover can define
Fresh Asparagus with mint Soup– This simmering soup was light, fresh and gave the taste of spring ..err maybe summer, The mint flavor added a new dimension and gave a zingy flavor
Smoked Chicken with fresh coconut and sesame oil salad – Distinct flavor with their secret ingredients, turned out to be my favorite
Avocado and Mango Salad – I loved this light hued salad that features fresh mango and Avocado with vinegar dressing. It was more addictive and I still crave to have more
Candied Walnut gorgonzola and mixed lettuce with honey lemon Salad – Sweet candied walnut and Salty Gorgonzola cheese with a pleasant sour taste is a lovely change from the regular salads and am sure will be a big hit. This fibre rich recipe is sure to delight your senses and tantalize your taste buds.
I was already stuffed and pleased with salads and now it was time to dig onto the Main Course
Chicken breast stuffed with farm spinach and cheddar served with herb rice and white wine mushroom sauce – This was extra ordinary and looked elegant. More like dressed to please your appetite. Perfectly cooked chicken with their mild herbs, soft, succulent and cooked with perfection. The sauce was amazing and it complimented the stuffing. I felt they could do a little better with their herb rice. The feedback was noted.
Pumpkin ravioli with burnt butter and house Pesto - Delicious Combo, A versatile dish with an unusual taste. Tender Pumpkin stuffed ravioli had a sweet and salty flavor with a strong basil flavor. This recipe will reignite your love for pumpkin!!
Grilled fillet of manali trout with caramelized onion, crushed potato and herb Gremolata – Chef recommended me to try this with white wine. Fish was delicious and fresh and mildly herbed which gave it a rich taste without overshadowing the humble fish.
With all these, I also tasted Cocktails
Mojito with watermelon – Ruby red hue and a sweet flavour infusion is amazing for a boozy summer!
Mango Cosmopolitan – If you love mangoes, you will love this twist of cosmopolitan
Cold Fusion – Cocktail with basil and lemon, A chilled fragrant lemony drink to lift your sprits
They also served the side dishes pita with humus and garlic bread with cheese and herbs. Humus was fresh and Pita was soft. Garlic bread was crunchy yet soft- I enjoyed every dish that was presented. Then came the best part of the menu – Desserts
Mango Cheese Cake and Chocolate Mousse – Heavenly – is all that I can say. You would just go Yummmmmmmmmmmm……….( I don’t like chocolate desserts – I have a personal disliking – however chocolate mousse, that I had here, I would definitely love to have it again)
I was told that they have their own organic farms where they produce organic vegetables and fruits and these mangoes that they used in the ingredients were from their own organic farms. Infact all the fruits and vegetables they use are organic. They also have a small shop inside the restaurant where they sell fresh jams, marmalade and other things made from organic fruits.
I felt honored, delighted and carried back amazing taste of different food. To me it seemed that the summer menu is handpicked, as they say “Chef’s recommendation”. I believe it will be difficult to decide what not to have, if you have to pick and order. One would love going again and again until summer lasts to dwell in the everlasting refreshing taste that comes with each bite and gives you a heavenly feeling. Lodi – The garden restaurant, not just serves good food, it serves the most authentic and choicest dishes that leaves you yearning for more every time! I felt – I wish I could have had more appetite.
I wish all the best to Lodi restaurant staff and their management for making a cool summer menu and I am sure that this is going to add to the delightful experience that their customers will get!! Kudos to the team!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maneesh_Srivastva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great setting, tucked away in the gardens. Very good food and nice staff. The food is a little expensive overall, but they give some of the proceeds to a foundation that helps wounded animals, which I was very happy to hear. If you can splurge a little, it is well worth it. It was a wonderful experience overall. I would definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lodi The Garden Restaurant also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Lodi The Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing