We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #16 of 1,098 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I recently stayed here for a work assignment. The location was excellent, the staff were friendly and the garden was an oasis of calm in the bustling Delhi. The reason for my poor rating is due to the quality of the accomodation which wasn't as clean as it should be, the bed was uncomfortable and bascially the whole complex could do with an upgrade of the decor and a fresh coat of paint. Also the breakfast was not as good as it's competitors. I think there is better value options than what Lutyens have to offer.

Room Tip: I believe some of the rooms in the main house do not have windows, so request a room in the courtyar...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank disharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2015

Dear friend

Thanks for writing a review! We are glad you enjoyed the garden and our location.

I am sorry you found it not so clean! We are trying very hard to upgrade the decor and the paint. We will also pay special attention to cleanliness.

With best wishes for the new year,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Lutyens Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 223 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the start of a 10 day trip to India. We were made to feel very welcome, a delicious lunch was provided for us on arrival with wonderful homemade bread and all the other meals we had were equally good. The room was simply furnished, clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. Best thing was the location, an oasis of calm in a busy city, very pleasant to sit outside in the colourful garden with a drink, relaxing after a busy day.
Mrs Nath was incredibly welcoming and kind, even providing a birthday cake for my friend. It was easy to walk to Khan Market for a little retail therapy and to enjoy strolls in the Lodhi Gardens. As two ladies travelling together we felt very secure walking in the immediate area and would not hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Rooms do have traffic noise but the location and air of calm inside makes up for it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcrestedduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear friend

I am so happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us!

It will be our pleasure to have you or your friends stay with us in future!

With best wishes for a very happy new year,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a wonderful place, it is hard to believe in the middle of a teeming city there is this old home with rooms opening onto a lawn, gardens, trees full of birds and a swimming pool and its affordable. The owner has lived here for 50 years, it's like being invited into her home.

Room Tip: all rooms open out onto the lawn and and gardens
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leigh69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear friend

Thanks! As you say that it was like a guest of the family and that is how you felt, believe me I feel from the bottom of my heart that people who come to stay with us ARE guests of the house. Some of my friends and family somtimes ask me how I can have STRANGERS walk all over my house! I always tell them that the time anyone walks in I feel like friends with them.

It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again.

With best wishes for a very happy and prosperous new year,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed two nights when we first arrived in New Delhi, and two nights at the end before we went home. Arrival at 5 am, having booked a room for the preceding night so we'd have a place to fall into bed, was easy. A driver was provided (we paid, but they arranged) and the hotel watchman was ready for us. Our room was simple but very quiet, and also clean. The bathrooms have been modernized. Bottled water was provided. The bed was comfortable. The remarkable aspect of this hotel is the staff, and the wonderful garden where parrots play on feeders, and one can sit dawn to dusk listening to Delhi sounds outside the green calm of this space. We were served satisfying breakfasts (free) and wonderful (if not at all spicy) suppers (for a small extra fee). Wine and beer were also available. Another remarkable aspect is the clients who stay here, and have stayed here often over the past decades. We found talking with these people as interesting as any of the touring we did. Our second stay also included "the room without windows" but we found the room large, luxurious, and very comfortable. It was however next to the indoor eating room, but that was not a problem because meals were served outside in the garden. This hotel is relatively expensive, more than hotels recommended to us in Connaught Place. However, the setting was so tranquil and the staff, owners, and clients so agreeable that we look forward to our return. The Delhi subway is nearby and excellent, safe, inexpensive. Tuk tuks abound and will take you anywhere. The Lodi Gardens, Indira Ghandi museum, Khan Market and many other places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Eastward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear friend

It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Hoping to see you again somtimes in future,

With best wishes for a happy and healthy new year,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our first welcoming Delhi experience. A haven of green plants, flowers and birds; an interesting lady of the house, Mrs. Nath; an Old World Delhi setting. We loved coming home to dinner, vegetarian, home-grown and freshly bought.
Should you want peace and quite after dinner, ask for a room in the garden-house. Otherwise, enjoy !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvanholthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear friend

Thanks a lot for your kind comments.It was a pleasure meeting you!

Hoping to see you again in near future,

Shukla Nath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice in February 2014. We were allocated very nice rooms in the first time but were given a windowless room when we returned for three nights. I refused the room and was made to pay a penalty, the equivalent of one night stay.
The management should specify in their website that they have rooms without windows!!
Otherwise it is a friendly and good location to stay.

Room Tip: if you want a view out of your room, make sure you don't get the windowless room!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUIZ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Luiz
Thanks for your review. We are sorry
Your online booking from 17th February to 19th February 2014 was for a superior double room. You have sent an additional request through resavenue. That is below

From: luiz busato [mailto:luizbusato@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, November 22, 2013 6:08 PM
To: nath@lutyensbungalow.co.in
Subject: RE: Thank you for making reservation at Lutyens Bungalow, New Delhi.
Importance: High

Hi there
I have made two separate bookings online:
17th February to 19th February
and
24th February 2014
I will be travelling with my mother and we require two single beds in the bedroom.
Please reply confirm that this will be arranged.
Regards
Luiz


When you arrived on 17th you said you have requested 2 single rooms. Luckily we had another room for that day. The next day there was only a double room as per your original booking.

Your next booking was for 24th. Before check out you requested to change that booking to be converted to 2 single rooms. You called from outside Delhi and said you wanted to come a day earlier. And yet again you called to say that you were coming yet another day earlier, i.e, on the 22nd. By now we had changed your booking twice. With a full house, it was quite a herculean task but we still managed to keep those two single rooms for you . By now we had two single rooms booked for you for 22nd, 23rd, and 24th. Yet again you called on the 21st and asked to cancel the 2 single rooms and keep only a double room . With all these changes so many times, we still kept our last double room for you which we luckily had! This is our cheapest room. It has high ceiling with multiple old fashioned ventilation and a large window in the bathroom. You did not like that room and you stayed there one night, You wanted to cancel the remaining two days. In short we had lost occupancy on 2 single rooms for 3 days each and a double room for two days, total of 8 days. (Rs.49,000).

In any case it was a pleasure meeting you and your Mom. We would have been happy to make you and your mother comfortable. The change in request for type of rooms can be accommodated only if the rooms are available. We sincerely regret that your stay with us did not work out.

With best

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The guesthouse is an oasis of calm away from the bustle of Delhi. Especially I loved a large garden with parrots and other birds. The location is very convenient - walking distance to Lodhi gardens, Khan Market and Metro. The family who run it are pleasant, easy-going and helpful. Mrs Shukla Nath is a lovely host. She helped us to arrange relatively cheap taxi for a trip to airport and Agra. The staff are friendly and helpful. Dinner can be cooked on request. However our room was simple, relatively small and not very comfortable, free Wi-Fi was not always working properly, the hotel is not so well maintained. The choice at breakfast may have been a little better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatyana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Tatyana

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We value your feedback and have noted what you appreciated, such as our hospitality, the location and setting; and what you suggest we could improve, e.g., comfort and maintenance in the room you were occupying and choice at breakfast. We are already upgrading the wifi system :-)

Wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 712 in New Delhi
2,060 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 712 in New Delhi
2,868 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 712 in New Delhi
2,092 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 712 in New Delhi
3,900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Address: 39 Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,098 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens, Safdurjung Tomb, Khan market and Jorbagh metro station; and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing