We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirituality in a green setting”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,100 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our first welcoming Delhi experience. A haven of green plants, flowers and birds; an interesting lady of the house, Mrs. Nath; an Old World Delhi setting. We loved coming home to dinner, vegetarian, home-grown and freshly bought.
Should you want peace and quite after dinner, ask for a room in the garden-house. Otherwise, enjoy !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvanholthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear friend

Thanks a lot for your kind comments.It was a pleasure meeting you!

Hoping to see you again in near future,

Shukla Nath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Lutyens Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice in February 2014. We were allocated very nice rooms in the first time but were given a windowless room when we returned for three nights. I refused the room and was made to pay a penalty, the equivalent of one night stay.
The management should specify in their website that they have rooms without windows!!
Otherwise it is a friendly and good location to stay.

Room Tip: if you want a view out of your room, make sure you don't get the windowless room!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUIZ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Luiz
Thanks for your review. We are sorry
Your online booking from 17th February to 19th February 2014 was for a superior double room. You have sent an additional request through resavenue. That is below

From: luiz busato [mailto:luizbusato@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, November 22, 2013 6:08 PM
To: nath@lutyensbungalow.co.in
Subject: RE: Thank you for making reservation at Lutyens Bungalow, New Delhi.
Importance: High

Hi there
I have made two separate bookings online:
17th February to 19th February
and
24th February 2014
I will be travelling with my mother and we require two single beds in the bedroom.
Please reply confirm that this will be arranged.
Regards
Luiz


When you arrived on 17th you said you have requested 2 single rooms. Luckily we had another room for that day. The next day there was only a double room as per your original booking.

Your next booking was for 24th. Before check out you requested to change that booking to be converted to 2 single rooms. You called from outside Delhi and said you wanted to come a day earlier. And yet again you called to say that you were coming yet another day earlier, i.e, on the 22nd. By now we had changed your booking twice. With a full house, it was quite a herculean task but we still managed to keep those two single rooms for you . By now we had two single rooms booked for you for 22nd, 23rd, and 24th. Yet again you called on the 21st and asked to cancel the 2 single rooms and keep only a double room . With all these changes so many times, we still kept our last double room for you which we luckily had! This is our cheapest room. It has high ceiling with multiple old fashioned ventilation and a large window in the bathroom. You did not like that room and you stayed there one night, You wanted to cancel the remaining two days. In short we had lost occupancy on 2 single rooms for 3 days each and a double room for two days, total of 8 days. (Rs.49,000).

In any case it was a pleasure meeting you and your Mom. We would have been happy to make you and your mother comfortable. The change in request for type of rooms can be accommodated only if the rooms are available. We sincerely regret that your stay with us did not work out.

With best

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The guesthouse is an oasis of calm away from the bustle of Delhi. Especially I loved a large garden with parrots and other birds. The location is very convenient - walking distance to Lodhi gardens, Khan Market and Metro. The family who run it are pleasant, easy-going and helpful. Mrs Shukla Nath is a lovely host. She helped us to arrange relatively cheap taxi for a trip to airport and Agra. The staff are friendly and helpful. Dinner can be cooked on request. However our room was simple, relatively small and not very comfortable, free Wi-Fi was not always working properly, the hotel is not so well maintained. The choice at breakfast may have been a little better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatyana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Tatyana

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We value your feedback and have noted what you appreciated, such as our hospitality, the location and setting; and what you suggest we could improve, e.g., comfort and maintenance in the room you were occupying and choice at breakfast. We are already upgrading the wifi system :-)

Wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I defy you to find a more homely, friendly, clean, relaxing place to stay in Delhi. I always try to stay there whenever I visit the city. For those new to Delhi it's the perfect introduction. It's well-situated, close to the Lodi Gardens, the food is excellent and you are bound to meet interesting people over breakfast and dinner. It's set back from the road in beautiful garden complete with green parrots.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Davidgreen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We value your feedback.

Its heartwarming to know that you stay with us whenever you visit Delhi and are recommending us so wholeheartedly to other travelers.

We look forward to seeing you when you visit next. Meanwhile wish you many safe and enjoyable travels.

Regards

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Shukla Nath is the host in this very comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. It is a family home where meals - cooked by the excellent chefs - are served in the dining room which allows for meeting what is always an interesting group of visitors. Just minutes from most of the places you need to go, including the Metro, the Nath family at Lutyens has gone to great lengths to make it a sustainable living area. The guest house uses solar panels for heating water and grows many of its own vegetables in extensive gardens. The central courtyard, lawn and the many brilliant birds there make it a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The double delux rooms are roomier although the plain rooms are still very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 402Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Heather

Thank you taking out time to write this review. We value your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed relaxing at our home, sharing meals and meeting our other guests. Thank you for noting our efforts to protect our collective health and environment. We also offer free mineral water from a central water dispenser so that guests can minimise the use of plastic bottles if they wish.

Looking forward to your continued to support,

Wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A beautiful, relaxed setting, in a convenient location close to Lodhi gardens and Khan Market. After staying at many hotels and guest houses in Delhi overt the years, we finally discovered Lutyens Bungalow, where we'll no doubt become regulars. The house and garden, and friendly, attentive staff make this a real home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aullal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed meeting other guests staying at our guest house. We are so glad you enjoyed our vegetable garden. Sorry you found our beds uncomfortable. If you let us know next time, we will be happy to provide you with extra mattresses for your beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We loved this place. It is located in a very great neighborhood close to Lodhi Park and Kahn Market. The other guests when we were there were very interesting: people doing interesting work projects as well as folks just touring. There's a nice vegetable garden, free wifi in the rooms, cable TV....all the amenities. The bed wasn't so comfortable and the shower was too hot, but we found the place so cozy and a great respite from the general mania of large Indian cities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Teri H

We thank you for taking out the time to write this review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities, the neighborhood and proximity to the popular tourist markets. Our guests are an interesting bunch which is what makes our jobs quite enviable!

We have gratefully noted your feedback on the rooms which we will address.

Wishing you many safe travels,

Meenakshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 712 in New Delhi
2,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 712 in New Delhi
2,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 712 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 712 in New Delhi
3,905 reviews
2.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Address: 39 Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,100 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens, Safdurjung Tomb, Khan market and Jorbagh metro station; and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing