We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I defy you to find a more homely, friendly, clean, relaxing place to stay in Delhi. I always try to stay there whenever I visit the city. For those new to Delhi it's the perfect introduction. It's well-situated, close to the Lodi Gardens, the food is excellent and you are bound to meet interesting people over breakfast and dinner. It's set back from the road in beautiful garden complete with green parrots.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Davidgreen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear David

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We value your feedback.

Its heartwarming to know that you stay with us whenever you visit Delhi and are recommending us so wholeheartedly to other travelers.

We look forward to seeing you when you visit next. Meanwhile wish you many safe and enjoyable travels.

Regards

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
49
67
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Shukla Nath is the host in this very comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. It is a family home where meals - cooked by the excellent chefs - are served in the dining room which allows for meeting what is always an interesting group of visitors. Just minutes from most of the places you need to go, including the Metro, the Nath family at Lutyens has gone to great lengths to make it a sustainable living area. The guest house uses solar panels for heating water and grows many of its own vegetables in extensive gardens. The central courtyard, lawn and the many brilliant birds there make it a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The double delux rooms are roomier although the plain rooms are still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 402Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Heather

Thank you taking out time to write this review. We value your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed relaxing at our home, sharing meals and meeting our other guests. Thank you for noting our efforts to protect our collective health and environment. We also offer free mineral water from a central water dispenser so that guests can minimise the use of plastic bottles if they wish.

Looking forward to your continued to support,

Wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A beautiful, relaxed setting, in a convenient location close to Lodhi gardens and Khan Market. After staying at many hotels and guest houses in Delhi overt the years, we finally discovered Lutyens Bungalow, where we'll no doubt become regulars. The house and garden, and friendly, attentive staff make this a real home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank aullal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed meeting other guests staying at our guest house. We are so glad you enjoyed our vegetable garden. Sorry you found our beds uncomfortable. If you let us know next time, we will be happy to provide you with extra mattresses for your beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We loved this place. It is located in a very great neighborhood close to Lodhi Park and Kahn Market. The other guests when we were there were very interesting: people doing interesting work projects as well as folks just touring. There's a nice vegetable garden, free wifi in the rooms, cable TV....all the amenities. The bed wasn't so comfortable and the shower was too hot, but we found the place so cozy and a great respite from the general mania of large Indian cities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Teri H

We thank you for taking out the time to write this review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities, the neighborhood and proximity to the popular tourist markets. Our guests are an interesting bunch which is what makes our jobs quite enviable!

We have gratefully noted your feedback on the rooms which we will address.

Wishing you many safe travels,

Meenakshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Two things I love best about this place: one is the location -- an address any driver can find unlike every other guesthouse I've ever stayed at in Delhi! and an easy walk to a great market as well as a beautiful park; two: the parrots in the garden at teatime! The family who run it are pleasant, easy-going and helpful. Only complaint: very bland food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed meeting other guests staying at our guest house. We are so glad you enjoyed our vegetable garden. Sorry you found our beds uncomfortable. If you let us know next time, we will be happy to provide you with extra mattresses for your beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed in lots of great places in Delhi and I've just found another one! We arrived on the evening of the Lohri festival and were welcomed by Shukla with a glass of good red Indian wine and a seat by her fireside in the dining room - both v welcome after a stay in dry Gujerat and on a cold Delhi evening. Shukla is a lovely host. Our room was large, comfortable, with lovely quilts and a nice, modern bathroom. It absolutely feels like staying in a home, in a really good way - there are lots of interesting people who stay there, books to read and a lovely garden to sit in. Tea is provided each day at 4.30pm if you want to have it with others. The house itself gives you a really good impression of how people would have been living in the 1940's (e.g very high ceilings to ensure coolness in summer, but with amazing deco fireplaces for the winter). Staff were lovely. And its location is fabulous - you can actually walk to Khan Market in 20 minutes and Santushti in 30, on broad and shady pavements.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaipurjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your heartwarming comments. It gives us a lot of encouragement and inspiration to hear such wonderful things from you. So glad you enjoyed the food and the hot water bottles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you are seeking an alternative to Delhi's busy chain hotels with their characteristic sameness and indifferent service, look no further than Lutyens Bungalow. Where else in the world would you find family accommodation, close to a big city center yet set in half an acre of gardens which provides much of the food you'll eat? With 16 rooms, it's bigger than a homestay, but it sure feels like one. The Nath family make it so. Led by Mrs Shukla Nath, they go out of their way to make it special, with personal service par excellence. Nothing is too much trouble whether you are on business or leisure, as family, couple or solo. Our stay was in winter, so we ate delicious dinners there at night beside a roaring fire in the high-ceilinged Lutyens-designed dining room with its art deco ambience, then returned to our room to find someone had snuck very welcome old-fashioned hot water bottles into our bed. They've been in business there nearly 50 years and they are surely doing many things right.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your heartwarming comments. It gives us a lot of encouragement and inspiration to hear such wonderful things from you. So glad you enjoyed the food and the hot water bottles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#25 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing