We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home in Delhi”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maasbracht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Home sweet home in Delhi”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We (Dutch family, 2 adults, 2 children) have visited Lutyens twice now. Once in 2007 and once in 2013. If we are visiting Delhi in the furture we don't have to think hard. It will be Lutyens again.
For the record, Lutyens Bungalow is not a 5 star hotel where you are a number. What LB has to offer are the following things:
* Shukla, family and staff who make you feel welcome. Adults and children.
* A very low barrier to come in contact with fellow travellers (Shukla introduces people).
* Down to earth management and staff. No faked friendliness.
* A perfect location (Lodi Gardens in the backyard, although in the center:very peacefull).
* A spacious garden with swimming pool.
* Good meals which are not overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRomeijnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Family

Hi! I cannot describe how much pleasure it was to see you all again! You are really doing great job with your children! It was incredible to see you all together so happy.

Thanks for your visit and hope you both and the girls are healthy and are having a good life inspite of the cold conditions at the moment in Holand.

With all my love and good wishes,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
67
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Possibly an unique Delhi experience; a no frills, comfortable, clean and particularly welcoming environment set in a beautiful garden, guest house rather than a hotel, run by Shukla and her daughter both efficiently and with great personal warmth. Long time visitors treat it like home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonOberon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
My dear friend

It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing our home with you1

Hoping life is treating lyou well!

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Situated in a tree-filled, upmarket area of New Delhi, this guesthouse feels like home.Spacious grounds include a vegetable garden,lawns and a lovely swimming pool. Meals are served outside at a large table where you meet you fellow travelers. Shukla make everyone feel welcome. From here you can walk to Lodi Gardens, Safdarjung's Tomb, Dili Haat and Khan Market. I would recommend Lutyens Bungalow as an antidote to all the bland modern hotels one finds in large cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Louisa

It was a great pleasure meeting you!

How are Valerie and Johan! Please convey my best wishes to them for a very enjoyable festive season and a healthy and happy new year!

With best

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The place is a gem in the heart of the city. It will give you the greenery which you may not get even in semi-urban areas. But the positives stop there. You will get non-professional service and poor amenities like small room compared to tariff, defective locks on doors, sudden invasion of pet dogs of the owner, non-availability of choice-able dishes despite huge rates on food items. However, I must say that a little bit of care and professionalism could make it more attractive to people like us who seek more options and eventful life.

Room Tip: Please avoid this place unless you are a dog-lover and suffering from gastro-enteritis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

I am sorry your visit to our home was not a pleasant one. Our family has been running this place for over 50 years. Its a passion more than a business, and we do feel bad personally if our guests are not happy after their stay with us.

More specifically, I'd like to respond to some of your points:
- our prices are carefully bench-marked against other options in our area, so we charge more than those with less amenities and less than those which offer more amenities
- while obviously any device can turn defective at any time, we do ensure these are rectified immediately, as was the case with the lock
- since we are a bed and breakfast and not a hotel, we don't have a restaurant; instead we offer a fixed menu which is suited to the vast majority of our guests. If there are special requests we are glad to accommodate these.

We don't usually get feedback such as this but have reflected on it and do agree that our place is not for everyone. In future, we hope you find options that suit your tastes better,

my best wishes,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I Stayed here for 6 weeks whilst working in Delhi and found it to be a much better living environment than in a conventional hotel. It is an Ideal location for access to lodi garden by foot or to anywhere in Delhi with Jor Bahg and Khan Market Metro stations walkable or short auto rickshaw ride away. Also Taxis arranged through the Lutyens reception desk are good reliable and value for money.
Lutyens is homely and welcoming with personal and sincere service from Mrs Nath and her staff who are all great ambassadors for Indian hospitality. There is always an interesting mix of people staying at Lutyens, some working here, in transit, on holiday, Indian and foreign and there is a real community feeling I am definitely staying here on my next visit to Delhi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our guesthouse, its location and services. Most of our guests enjoy each others' company a lot and its been rewarding to see the friendships that often develop.

We'd love to see you again, meanwhile, wish you many safe travels,

Presi and Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Lutyens was recommended by a friend who has been staying there since the 70s. This kind of family hotel is a rare treat. Simple, no frills, clean and comfortable rooms, home cooked food set in peaceful gardens. Breakfast on the patio with other guests, parrots and squirrels was a great way to start the day. Close to the Lodi Gardens, Khan market and the metro station, Lutyens was the ideal hub for our all too brief stay in Delhi and a perfect retreat at the end of the day. Nothing was a bother and our hosts were fantastic. Would stay there again without a qualm.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank E_and_M_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking time out to write this review - we are grateful that you have shared your positive experience on tripadviser.

We are happy we could make your visit to New Delhi an enjoyable one, and wish you many safe travels.

With best wishes,

Shukla and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lutyens remains a Delhi gem. The rooms, gardens, pool, staff and food are first class while the guests are typically an interesting, ecletic mix. The owners couldn't have been more proactive or supportive in response to an accident which befell my 60-something mother during her trip.
Lutyens is reason enough to visit Delhi but is perfectly placed for access to local museums, tombs and Khan market...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dr_robert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review. And for your warm appreciation.

Nothing gives us more pleasure than to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay in our place. You are amongst the guests that make it an 'interesting and eclectic' mix....

We do hope your mom is recovered and now her energetic self.

Best wishes,

Shukla and Vinita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
1,996 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
2.4 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing