We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, great people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place, great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lutyens remains a Delhi gem. The rooms, gardens, pool, staff and food are first class while the guests are typically an interesting, ecletic mix. The owners couldn't have been more proactive or supportive in response to an accident which befell my 60-something mother during her trip.
Lutyens is reason enough to visit Delhi but is perfectly placed for access to local museums, tombs and Khan market...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dr_robert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review. And for your warm appreciation.

Nothing gives us more pleasure than to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay in our place. You are amongst the guests that make it an 'interesting and eclectic' mix....

We do hope your mom is recovered and now her energetic self.

Best wishes,

Shukla and Vinita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
49
66
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend travelled to India and stayed here following a recommendation from my aunty. We were travelling as two " young" women (22 and 21) and felt completely safe and relaxed at Lutyens bungalow.
We chose the option of an airport pick up which was excellent as it was a bit of a culture shock when we arrived and it was nice to be greeted by someone and taken directly here.
It's a wee bit out of the way of the main drag (which was perfect for us) so very relaxing and quiet however if you are looking for a hotel right in the heart of the city I would suggest somewhere else.
We stayed here twice during our stay in India and both times really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and cool, perfect for us to relax in. The grounds are beautiful with parrots and other birds flying around. There was also a swimming pool which we used both times we stayed there.
Both my friend and I really enjoyed the breakfasts provided and we opted to stay and have dinner with them as well. The service was excellent and I would like to thank everyone there for making our stay so enjoyable and providing us with advice on what to do during our stay.
I would highly recommend this as a place to rest and relax in New Delhi!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review and sharing your appreciation.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse. We are especially glad you felt safe and relaxed here. Your appreciation is our biggest reward.

We wish you many safe and enjoyable travels!

Kind regards

Shukla, Presi and Vinita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well had gone to meet afriend who had been staying there with his 6 year old son
Loved the place very green nice and spacious
Swimming pool and huge garden .
Had breakfast there
Nice service good clean food,
My friend showed me the rooms they were staying in.
Good and excellent amenities there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wad214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank for taking the time to write this warm and encouraging review.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the gardens.

Wish you all the best,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This British bungalow in the heart of the prettiest part of Delhi is a taste of Old India. Clean rooms are adequate and air conditioned; architecture is nostalgic and interesting; staff is courteous and willing to please. Though we wished for air conditioning in the common areas in the June heat of Delhi, the garden is a lovely oasis full of wildlife and lush foliage. If you are looking for spicy Indian food, go to a restaurant because food served here is toned down for western tastes. However, Lutyens is very accommodating with meals, and you can always wander into the kitchen for a cold drink or a bottle of wine (honor system). We have stayed at this hotel twice, and though it is not luxurious and beds are a little hard, we cannot complain considering the great rates that are available. Location couldn't be better as it is in a lovely, green neighborhood and within walking distance of beautiful parks/attractions and the fast, clean, cheap, efficient Metro. Families with young children will enjoy the pool and play areas on the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms if you have a choice. We enjoyed the large room in the main house with high ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabawray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We love our place and where we are located and are always very happy when our guests enjoy it as well. We take note of your suggestion regarding central air conditioning. We have long toyed with the idea but the design of our old bungalow makes it a bit difficult....

We wish you many safe and happy travels,

Regards,

Shukla and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A friend and i found this little gem after three months travelling around India on a motorbike. When we turned up the staff and owner were very helpful, we got given a lovely room and for the next week it was a paradise, the swimming pool was clean the rooms were comfortable and eating breakfast on the lawn was brilliant. Even though it was in the heart of a city its quiet and relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Delhi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PloughInn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We are very happy you enjoyed the Lutyens Bungalow especially after your very long motorbike ride.

Thank you for recommending our place to others,

We wish you many safe and enjoyable journeys on your motorbike!

Regards

Shukla and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pritvi Raj rd 39 as this place where known for many years, is a unique pearl in New Delhi. I have stayed there for months and simply love it. Good rooms, good company from Shukla (the owner) and other guests, even a swimming pool. Relaxing out on the terrace with other guests, even in the middle of Delhi, it is relaxing. It is close to Lodi garden and shopping areas. It is simply THE place to be in New Delhi.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, both in the front and in the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you for writing out this review and sharing your appreciation on Tripadviser.

We are overwhelmed by your praise. Guests like you have become friends and make this work such a joy.

We look forward to seeing you again, until then, wish you many safe and happy travels!

Regards

Shukla, Vinita and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Even before arrival extra help was provided on line and by phone to clarify and confirm the reservation. From the pickup at the airport to the checkout, everything was wonderful. Presi, a multi talented manager, greeted us upon arrival and assisted us patiently with complex mobile phone problems until they were solved. Arrangements for transportation, tours, laundry, shopping and eating were flawless, always attending to the smallest details of our requests. In just a few days, returning to the Bungalows after busy sightseeing, it felt like we were returning home. The owner, Shukla, a most gracious and calming presence, offered suggestions to enhance our India experience by carefully listening to our questions and developing an understanding of our preferences.
The Bungalows strive to be 'green' and amidst the growing water bottle disposal problem have drinking water centrally located to refill reusable bottles. Cold beer, delicious food and delightful company around a picnic table in the garden made the bungalows our preferred spot for meals.
Our room was clean, comfortable and everything worked smoothly including the wifi. Relaxing in the pool, wandering in the garden, watching the birds on the feeders and trying to snap a photo are all activities we hope to repeat on our next visit this fall. Leaving India, relaxed and healthy, after a 2 week visit was a pleasant surprise.Thanks

Room Tip: Our room in main building with garden view was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for writing such a positive review.

We are lucky to have this wonderful home and enjoy sharing it with guests like yourself. Thank you for appreciating Presi (we are lucky to have her as well) who is painstaking and tireless in her service to the guesthouse.

We wish you many safe and healthy travels!

Shukla
(sorry this reply comes after a while, our previous one seems to have been lost in the system)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#24 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#16 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing