We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Delhi”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #14 of 1,129 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This British bungalow in the heart of the prettiest part of Delhi is a taste of Old India. Clean rooms are adequate and air conditioned; architecture is nostalgic and interesting; staff is courteous and willing to please. Though we wished for air conditioning in the common areas in the June heat of Delhi, the garden is a lovely oasis full of wildlife and lush foliage. If you are looking for spicy Indian food, go to a restaurant because food served here is toned down for western tastes. However, Lutyens is very accommodating with meals, and you can always wander into the kitchen for a cold drink or a bottle of wine (honor system). We have stayed at this hotel twice, and though it is not luxurious and beds are a little hard, we cannot complain considering the great rates that are available. Location couldn't be better as it is in a lovely, green neighborhood and within walking distance of beautiful parks/attractions and the fast, clean, cheap, efficient Metro. Families with young children will enjoy the pool and play areas on the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms if you have a choice. We enjoyed the large room in the main house with high ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabawray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We love our place and where we are located and are always very happy when our guests enjoy it as well. We take note of your suggestion regarding central air conditioning. We have long toyed with the idea but the design of our old bungalow makes it a bit difficult....

We wish you many safe and happy travels,

Regards,

Shukla and Presi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

A friend and i found this little gem after three months travelling around India on a motorbike. When we turned up the staff and owner were very helpful, we got given a lovely room and for the next week it was a paradise, the swimming pool was clean the rooms were comfortable and eating breakfast on the lawn was brilliant. Even though it was in the heart of a city its quiet and relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Delhi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PloughInn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.

We are very happy you enjoyed the Lutyens Bungalow especially after your very long motorbike ride.

Thank you for recommending our place to others,

We wish you many safe and enjoyable journeys on your motorbike!

Regards

Shukla and Presi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pritvi Raj rd 39 as this place where known for many years, is a unique pearl in New Delhi. I have stayed there for months and simply love it. Good rooms, good company from Shukla (the owner) and other guests, even a swimming pool. Relaxing out on the terrace with other guests, even in the middle of Delhi, it is relaxing. It is close to Lodi garden and shopping areas. It is simply THE place to be in New Delhi.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, both in the front and in the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank de-Savigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear friend,

Thank you for writing out this review and sharing your appreciation on Tripadviser.

We are overwhelmed by your praise. Guests like you have become friends and make this work such a joy.

We look forward to seeing you again, until then, wish you many safe and happy travels!

Regards

Shukla, Vinita and Presi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Even before arrival extra help was provided on line and by phone to clarify and confirm the reservation. From the pickup at the airport to the checkout, everything was wonderful. Presi, a multi talented manager, greeted us upon arrival and assisted us patiently with complex mobile phone problems until they were solved. Arrangements for transportation, tours, laundry, shopping and eating were flawless, always attending to the smallest details of our requests. In just a few days, returning to the Bungalows after busy sightseeing, it felt like we were returning home. The owner, Shukla, a most gracious and calming presence, offered suggestions to enhance our India experience by carefully listening to our questions and developing an understanding of our preferences.
The Bungalows strive to be 'green' and amidst the growing water bottle disposal problem have drinking water centrally located to refill reusable bottles. Cold beer, delicious food and delightful company around a picnic table in the garden made the bungalows our preferred spot for meals.
Our room was clean, comfortable and everything worked smoothly including the wifi. Relaxing in the pool, wandering in the garden, watching the birds on the feeders and trying to snap a photo are all activities we hope to repeat on our next visit this fall. Leaving India, relaxed and healthy, after a 2 week visit was a pleasant surprise.Thanks

Room Tip: Our room in main building with garden view was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for writing such a positive review.

We are lucky to have this wonderful home and enjoy sharing it with guests like yourself. Thank you for appreciating Presi (we are lucky to have her as well) who is painstaking and tireless in her service to the guesthouse.

We wish you many safe and healthy travels!

Shukla
(sorry this reply comes after a while, our previous one seems to have been lost in the system)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful, comfortable, relaxing place to stay! My husband, 4 year old son and I spent almost 2 weeks at Lutyens Bungalow and we can't wait to return sometime in the future. Everything about our stay was perfect and it was terrific for my son. Such amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samlobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time out to write this warm and appreciative review.

We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit here. We are especially happy to see children enjoy our garden and the space...

We wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla and Vinita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Truly quaint setting - great B&B atmosphere. Beautiful gardens... green parakeets add to the charm. Eclectic mix of tourist, work related travelers.... exceptionally responsive staff from coordinating cars for travel, to meal preparation, translation, recommendations etc.
Food - very good. Access to amenities - beer, soda - convenient. Laundry service-exceptional.
A must setting for a relaxing, low stress visit to New Delhi... truly charming!

Great proximity to Lodi Gardens and Khan market.... walking distance.
Several dogs of the owner (not a surprise in India) roam the grounds. Gentle

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this warm and appreciative review.

We are very pleased you made enjoyed what our place and the areas around have to offer. Its a privilege that we have the opportunity to make your visit enjoyable and memorable!

We wish you may safe and enjoyable travels!

Best regards

Shukla and Presi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my very first visit to India and I had been overwhelmed by Mumbai. To arrive late at night to the bungalow and to be greeted warmly and made to feel welcome in a most easy laid back fashion - it was just what I needed. An early start the next day, but the household made sure we had some breakfast before we left. Returning to the Bungalow each evening was a relief after the frenzy of the city. Every need was met in a gentle, unobtrusive and friendly way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoxBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiatravellor, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Barbara

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review and your appreciative comments.

We are glad to have eased your experience of India. Being here can be a shock for first timers sometimes! Its great that you felt relaxed and take care of. Its exactly what we aim to do for our guests.

We wish you all the best with your forthcoming travels...

Regards

Shukla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 777 in New Delhi
2,249 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,039 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 777 in New Delhi
3,107 reviews
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
509 reviews
Saket
Tree Of Life
Tree Of Life
#4 of 1,129 in New Delhi
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Address: 39 Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,129 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $109 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens, Safdurjung Tomb, Khan market and Jorbagh metro station; and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing