We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,067 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful, comfortable, relaxing place to stay! My husband, 4 year old son and I spent almost 2 weeks at Lutyens Bungalow and we can't wait to return sometime in the future. Everything about our stay was perfect and it was terrific for my son. Such amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time out to write this warm and appreciative review.

We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit here. We are especially happy to see children enjoy our garden and the space...

We wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla and Vinita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
50
67
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Truly quaint setting - great B&B atmosphere. Beautiful gardens... green parakeets add to the charm. Eclectic mix of tourist, work related travelers.... exceptionally responsive staff from coordinating cars for travel, to meal preparation, translation, recommendations etc.
Food - very good. Access to amenities - beer, soda - convenient. Laundry service-exceptional.
A must setting for a relaxing, low stress visit to New Delhi... truly charming!

Great proximity to Lodi Gardens and Khan market.... walking distance.
Several dogs of the owner (not a surprise in India) roam the grounds. Gentle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this warm and appreciative review.

We are very pleased you made enjoyed what our place and the areas around have to offer. Its a privilege that we have the opportunity to make your visit enjoyable and memorable!

We wish you may safe and enjoyable travels!

Best regards

Shukla and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my very first visit to India and I had been overwhelmed by Mumbai. To arrive late at night to the bungalow and to be greeted warmly and made to feel welcome in a most easy laid back fashion - it was just what I needed. An early start the next day, but the household made sure we had some breakfast before we left. Returning to the Bungalow each evening was a relief after the frenzy of the city. Every need was met in a gentle, unobtrusive and friendly way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiatravellor, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Barbara

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review and your appreciative comments.

We are glad to have eased your experience of India. Being here can be a shock for first timers sometimes! Its great that you felt relaxed and take care of. Its exactly what we aim to do for our guests.

We wish you all the best with your forthcoming travels...

Regards

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying at this home stay / guest house for the last four years. I find this place very amazing with good colonial style bunglow, swimming pool, and to add to all the lawn is the best part. Mrs. Sukla Nath ..the hostess is very friendly. The food is good home style type. And the honesty slip system for self help is a great concept. You be in delhi on a holiday or business it's good place to stay. But the rates are a little on the higher side. If Mrs. Sukla can do something on the rates for regular and long stay guests it would be great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. They are better and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narendra1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiatravellor, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Narendra,

Thank you for the appreciation and excellent review. We have enjoyed having you stay with us over the last four years and are very glad you enjoyed what we have to offer. Thank you for your suggestion on the rates. Actually we have not increased our rates for a few years inspite of inflation in costs. We also ensure that our rates are benchmarked against guesthouses and hotels around so that we are charging only what is appropriate for what we offer. We hope you understand.

Thank you

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A beautiful setting of old trees and manicured garden , friendly and helpful owners and their helpers, cool and clean rooms, very good food and all that along with the birds and parrots. make this place my favourite choice.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manzar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Manzar

Thank you very much for taking out time to write this review.

We are so pleased to have made friends like you who have been staying with us for over a decade. Your suggestions in helping us improve Lutyens Bungalow are much appreciated and you have contributing to making it a place that so many guests like and write about.

Thanks a lot again,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A family run inn, centrally located in Delhi, and warmly supported by the staff, I cannot say enough for this place. Sitting outside on the patio and relaxing with a beer, it was a pleasure to interact with the other guests and also watch the antics of the various birds. My family stayed here many times this winter and at no time did any of them have any disappointments. Presi the lady running the office was more than helpful with transportation needs and of course we had plenty of opportunity to walk to many places close by. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable and the meals were the best in town made ever so much more pleasant in the company of the owner and the other guests who were staying there. We shall certainly try and replicate some of the recipes we got from Shukla. Thanks again to all of them and hopefully see them again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ranjit

Thanks very much for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying at our guest house. Its gives us a lot of satisfaction to know that you appreciated our garden, the birds, that you enjoyed interacting with other guests and eating the home made food we serve. We are happy when our guests are happy....

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Warm regards,

Shukla and Presi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed in this wonderful property at the beginning and end of a trip to the Himalayas. I have stayed in New Delhi before in a luxury high rise hotel but the experience at Lutyens was very different. First of all I felt like a visiting friend. Our party of four was welcomed by the owner and offered tea in the sumptuous garden. Nearby a huge tree was home to a flock of parakeets and a family of Indian palm squirrels who hid every time I pointed a camera at them. There was a small garden centre which sold colourful glazed pots ( I still regret not getting one on the way home) and a secluded pool which was very welcome in the dust and heat of Delhi. Our rooms were clean and quiet opening out directly onto the garden. For a small charge you can arrange to have an evening meal on the long table on the terrace. This is a sociable affair with the opportunity to chat with visiting diplomats and journalists and their families. In our short time there we had no need to step outside the gates but next time I am going to 'do' Delhi and I will definitely stay at Lutyens. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybamalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Betty,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We appreciate all the wonderful compliments you have given us. We are lucky to host such generous guests as yourselves.

It wonderful that you enjoyed our birds, the garden, meals we offer, our pool and the rooms during your stay. We look forward to your next visit and very much hope you will be able to stay for a longer time so that you can get to know the rest of Delhi better as well.

Warm regards

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#30 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,067 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing