We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home base in New Delhi”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good home base in New Delhi”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Reviews that talk about the location, the oasis quality, the friendly hostess are all accurate. We stayed there 4 nights. Easy to get taxis and tuk-tuks to get around. Bed was comfortable. Room was fine. A solid alternative to expensive hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our aim is to make everyone feel as welcome and as much at home as possible. I hope you return to stay with us again!

warm regards,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
67
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Pluses: fun to stay in Lutyens Bungalow quarter; nice area with tree and shrubbery lined streets and sidewalks; pleasant and safe walk to Lodi Gardens (monuments and excellent restaurant); LB has peaceful garden with plenty of feeding cockatoos and squirrels; good and reasonably priced pick up from airport and to station.

Minuses: room spartanly furnished and not particularly clean; bath very badly stained and towels grey and threadbare; breakfast buffet offers only limited choice and meagre quantities (though eggs readily cooked to order).

Overall, disappointing given price and TripAdvisor ratings. This is a good location within Delhi for tourists but I would recommend considering other options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Manager at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Though we do replace with fresh towels in the rooms every day, we do need to change the stock of our towels more frequently. We have changed our towels currently and we have made a note of the date on each towel, so we can keep track of when it needs to be changed. We are also making a greater effort to ensure cleanliness in the rooms. Disinfectents in the form of floor cleaners and detergents are being used to clean the bathrooms. We do offer unlimited quantities of breakfast, with as many toasts and eggs the guests may want to consume. Alongwith cereal, conflakes, muesli, tea, coffee, fruits, yogurt, stuffed paranthas etc. If by any chance we run out of something on the buffet table, our guests feel free to order some more. We do wish you give us the opportunity to stay with us again and we hope we can try and make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you've been traveling across India, you will find this bed and breakfast to be an oasis. It is nestled in the greenest part of South Delhi and the grounds are quiet and lovely. The hosts are friendly and often interact with guests (mostly foreign). It is a comfortable and reliable option for those who don't know Delhi or India very well. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean. They run a good business and charge more for it, but I will stay here again for the atmosphere alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your encouraging review. We aim to make our guests feel safe and comfortable so very glad you felt that way. Its guests like you who help build the atmosphere that is appreciated - so we are happy that you will return. Most welcome!

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Recently stayed with my family (including 4 small kids). What a great place and the best food I have ever eaten, with everyone having the same breakfast and dinner. Can not wait until I can get back. Great location and very very friendly staff. loved even minute......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JasonPushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such good feedback on us. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. We espcially like having kids over because my grandkids get some new friends to play with! I am very pleased you enjoyed the food and our place overall....We look forward to having you and your family back.....

Warm regards,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a spectacularly good place to stay in Delhi. The location is phenomenal: not too far from the airport, and smack-dab in the middle of one of the ritziest parts of the city. No, the hotel itself is not the height of luxury, but is great, great value for what you get: it's extremely clean and comfortable. Think of it more like a sprawling family home with odd rooms scattered about than what you'd typically think of as a hotel. Still, the service is there. The hosts are attentive and full of incredibly good suggestions. Breakfast is a simple, laid-back affair. It is a bit hard to find as there is no sign outside. Why anyone would give this place a low rating is beyond me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks so very much for your appreciation and kind words. We are very glad to have contributed to making your visit to India a good one. We hope you can return to stay with us...you are most most welcome!

Warm regards

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last two years. It is a very good guest house with Swimming Pool and Basketball Court etc The rooms are a little smallish but they are clean and the bathrooms are well maintained with shower facilities comparable to any five star hotel.

Stayed in similar highly rated Guest houses in town but this is far better and the sit out for breakfast etc is very good and attractive. So one can have breakfast in the company of exotic birds etc Theres an honesty bar too and the owners are not intrusive..for Delhi that is a bonus!!!

I like this place though it looks shabby from outside. Am HOOKED!!!

Room Tip: Donot take a room by the road side. Vehicles move in the area 24/7!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShuklaNath39, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback on our place on tripadviser.

We are pleased that you like staying with us and appreciate what we have to offer. Thanks to the excellent ratings that you and other guests have been giving us we have steadily climbed tripadviser ratings. Thank you so much!

We wish you many safe and enjoyable travels,

Shukla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

beautiful bungalows with exquisite decoration and old-time feel, with excellent bedding, breakfast and pool for night swims (however be prepared to be circled above by giant bats, if you dare swim at night!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank msballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutyensbungalow, Owner at Lutyens Bungalow, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thankyou so much for your generous complements. It really inspires us to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
1,996 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
2.4 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing