We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for Delhi”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #16 of 1,082 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for Delhi”
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I stayed at the Lutyens Bungalow Guesthouse twice in February with my family. While the rooms are simple, the two that we stayed in (rooms # 5 and 6) were large and comfortable. I would suggest room 5 over room 6 as the bathroom was much larger. The one drawback for some people is that these 2 rooms did not have windows, other than in the door. However, with kids that needed naps in the middle of the day this was perfect for us. They do also have some great rooms at the back of the property with windows overlooking the garden.

Breakfasts are great and a good time to meet other travelers. The owners/hosts are very nice and helpful. Our girls loved the playground and the pet dogs. Another nice feature is the large garden in the back where we had our breakfast and where we could sit and relax any time. There is a fridge on the patio stocked with water, soft drinks and beer which you can help yourself to and just note your room number down (very reasonably priced I should add). They also provide same day laundry service at reasonable rates.

Given the great location (we were able to walk to Khan Market for those interested in shopping), the lovely quiet neighborhood, and the generally high prices for accomodation in Delhi I think it is a very good value. We even had friends who live in Delhi tell us that they thought it was a great deal.

The guesthouse had wireless internet access that we were able to access from our room using our laptop (and a computer terminal if you dont have your own laptop).

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
67
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

"+" : very kind and helpfull people / while eating there is a easygoing and open atmosphere and you can make easily contact with other guests / taxiservice rendered is defintely a double plus (which we also used when we stayed at another hotel) / good refrigerator, very cold drinks, loved the icecold Kingfishers

"-" : overpriced for the accomodation that you have / each night vegetarian food / not too clean / no refilling of the refrigerator (you have to get your drinks each time)

  • Liked — Helpfull people, taxiservice
  • Disliked — Drinks OK, Food good do a lot better !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed at Lutyens Bungalow Christmas 2007 and it was perfect. During the day we ventured out into the madness of Delhi but at night came back to the tranquil, peaceful gardens of the bungalow. The guesthouse is nice since it is set in a quiet part of Delhi and on a large piece of property back from the street. The area it is in is clean and almost no homeless people. We walked one night three blocks to dinner and did not see one street person. The city keeps that area clean due to all of the consulates and embassies in the area. The host, Shukla, was very kind and help, going as far as ordering our take-in Indian food one night (food was great!). When we return to Delhi, we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Lutyens Bungalow New Delhi
Lutyens was our first experience of India so we were very glad to have found a comfortable and easy going place to stay. We prebooked via email and everything was waiting for us when we arrived even though we hadn’t paid a deposit. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The bungalow is set in a large garden which is great for relaxing and retreating from the city for a while. The location is great – near Lodi Gardens and Khan market – and quiet at night even though it is on a busy road. There is a pool which we didn’t use as it was December and extremely cold. Breakfast was very good and the home cooked evening meal was great and very good value. The owners and staff are helpful and friendly – recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Although it was comfortable, lutyen's is expensive for the size of the room and lack of some important facilities for business trvellers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Lutyens bungalow is a lovely, quiet place to stay at in Delhi. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the garden is fantastic. A perfect place to chill out in after a hectic day in Delhi. The people who run it are great and help you in anyway they can. Breakfast is a feast and a great time to meet other guests staying. Hot water bottles are provided when cold - a God send! There is also a lovely pool for when it is warmer!

  • Liked — The lovely big garden
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
2,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,082 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing