We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sleep in India”
Review of Hotel Pooja Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pooja Palace
Ranked #133 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst sleep in India”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Out of my 6 weeks in India, my worst nights' sleeps were at Pooja Palace. It was cold, the heater was weak, and the bed was really hard. There's hot water only between certain hours of the morning (like 6-8 am or 7-9 am). Our toilet broke then flooded the bathroom. The poor room boy tried so so hard to make it work, but the facilities are just too old and run down. There was grime everywhere. The TV didn't work half the time (I badly wanted to watch Obama's inauguration! :( ) Wifi was pretty pitiful in the lobby. The room boys are very nice and the night manager was nice. No one else was particularly friendly.

The rooftop is nice and is the only thing I enjoyed. The desk manager was cool to let us (quietly) party up there. We got paneer pakora and lassis at 3 am and beer and whiskey were flowing. Bollywood videos and dancing were happening. So that part was fun, but the rooms were just awful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
40
39
61
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms here are larger than many other hotels in Karol Bagh, have a very good shower, lots of space around the bed and a very friendly staff, especially Akhilesh Singh, who runs the main desk. The tv works and the free internet is very valuable especially after experiencing so many other places that say they offer internet but don't deliver a service that works. Rooftop is a good place to get above the noise of the streets at the end of the day. Location near the metro makes it convenient too.

Room Tip: second floor in the back is my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jOhnm514_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place had mixed reviews even from within my Intrepid tour group. Free wifi was the highlight, although the rooms were freezing during winter and there weren't too many great features. Good by India standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Before meeting up with my Intrepid group, I booked an extra night's stay at Pooja. The first room i was given was not very nice at all. THe toilet wasn't too clean and was dripping, the sheets didn't look too clean so i slept in my sleeping bag instead. It was also a very cold evening so i didn't sleep well at all. However, the place completely redeemed itself when the tour returned 2 weeks later. The rooms were all much better lit, toilets were much cleaner, the wifi was available even on the third floor and the roof garden was revamped with great outdoor tables and chairs and the floor was tiled. A much nicer place to enjoy a Kingfisher at sunset. The location is a plus as it's only a few minutes from Karol Bagh metro station and market which sells all sorts of clothing and knickknacks. Not a bad place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My stay at Pooja Palace Hotel, Karol Bagh, New Delhi

As I have stayed at the Pooja Palace several times & have previously submitted a review, will briefly describe the facilities, services, accommodation etc.
I checked into the hotel on 5th November 2012 and stayed for several nights which is sufficient to give a fair opinion. In my last review of 14th February 2011 I added several pictures so if anyone wants to view the pictures you can see them in that review.
This is a well run family property right in the heart of Karol Bagh, New Delhi and just a few minutes walk from the a metro station. The location is excellent, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shops, money exchange outlets, hairdressers, general grocery shops and what's more, Karol Bagh has one of the finest shopping streets in New Delhi which is just around the corner.

Pooja Palace has (there are 29 rooms) all adequately furnished, some recently refurbished and the owner Mr Munish Chawla has plans to renovate all the rooms in the foreseeable future. He has already replaced many of the AC Units in the rooms and the main boiler has also been replaced. Hot water is normally available between 6am and 10.00am and 7pm and 8pm. All other times a call to reception and hot water would be available 10 minutes after the call. A number rooms fitted with a 32" flat screen TV where a multitude of channels are available including the BBC, CNN, MBC etc.
On the fifth floor is a sun terrace where meals can be taken. The terrace is lit up after dark and is a enjoyable place to have dinner or take a drink. Service is good but some of the staff struggle with English but with a bit of patience one can make oneself understood, nevertheless are very obliging. There is a small dining room on the ground floor which is open 24 hours and round the clock meal service. Meals can also be delivered to the room 24x7.

The front desk Manager is Mr Rahul Srivastra and his two assistants both speak excellent English and are obliging and will arrange guests requirements tours, taxi cabs, pickup & drop to both International & Domestic airports, train station etc (charges apply)
Summary

All the staff at the Pooja Palace are friendly and obliging, services provided at a competitive price and guests requirements are all taken care off. The menu is simple and food is well prepared and compares adequately with other restaurants.
The owner Mr Munish Chawla is on hand daily and will do anything necessary to make guest stay a memorable experience. In his absence and throughout the day Rahul will take care of guests needs and is very approachable.

I hope this has been helpful and wish all guests a happy stay.

Room Tip: Book early with a telephone request. Most rooms are quiet and no adverse noise experienced in all my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank United327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpoojapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pooja Palace, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking out time and giving us such an elaborate review.We feel obliged to fulfil our guests needs and a positive feedback like this only motivates us to do better.Looking forward to your next visit.
Sheetal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Poojo Palace before and after my Intrepid trip. It's friendly, clean and safe. Hot shower. Clean linen. Nice roof garden if you want to escape from the bustle of Delhi. The restaurant is good for breakfast and snacks and the man who runs it is friendly. Staff helpful with bookings and free internet is a bonus. A good value, basic hotel - much cheaper than anything in Connaught Place. If you take a tuktuk remember to have a card showing the address though. Drivers have trouble finding it otherwise, though it's in a bustling neighbourhood. Close to ATMs, restaurants, metro station.

Room Tip: Some are better than others so ask to see then before you agree to stay. Level 3 seem better than le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pooja Palace before heading off on an Intrepid trip round India. It was January and very cold in North India and we were thrilled to arrive and find that a fan heater was already on in our room and the shower was good and really hot - we were so happy. Pooja Palace is a very good basic hotel in a good location. It is clean, the rooms have TV's and fridges. Breakfast was good each day, we did not try out the rooftop restaurant - too cold for outdoor eating. The hotel is close to lots of shops, there is a street market very close, the Delhi metro is 5 minutes away and there are good restaurants nearby. Staff on reception were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpoojapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pooja Palace, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the positive feedback.Looking forward to your next visit.
Sheetal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Biden Pura
Hotel Emperor Palms
Hotel Emperor Palms
#118 of 715 in New Delhi
113 reviews
Hotel Hill Palace
#101 of 715 in New Delhi
79 reviews
Hotel Swati
#152 of 715 in New Delhi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biden Pura
The Florence Inn
The Florence Inn
#156 of 715 in New Delhi
484 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Clark International
Hotel Clark International
#122 of 715 in New Delhi
202 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Metro View
Hotel Metro View
#207 of 715 in New Delhi
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pooja Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pooja Palace

Property: Hotel Pooja Palace
Address: 15A/11 W.E.A Puja Park (near Karol Bagh Metro Station), New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pooja Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is to introduce our hotel, Hotel Pooja Palace. It is a well established family-run boutique hotel in Karol Bagh, New Delhi. The hotel has 30 furnished rooms with A.C., flat screen TV, running hot water, 24/7 room service and free internet facility. It is a minute walk from the comprehensive Karol Bagh market & the metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pooja Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing