We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tonino

Tonino
Ranked #245 of 12,554 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mahipal Pur
Description: A beautiful Tuscan villa with a warm exterior and with classic wooden interior is inspired by the enchanting villas from Sienna and Sam Gimigianano in Tuscany Italy. Mr. Tonino Generale of Napoli brings to you the most authentic Italian cuisine to New Delhi. Walk into a relaxed ambiance! Enjoy the open spaces, the fruit trees amidst a courtyard and varanda. Dine under moon lit skies or relax in the candle lit lounge - just enjoy the old world charm of Tuscan Italy at its best. Tonino provides the romance and sensual indulgence as you savour food from a varied menu. The cuisine comprises of the best pizza in the country along with regional specialties from various parts of Italy. Right from the mountainous alps of Italy in the north to the warm Sicilian islands in the South. Care has been taken to keep the taste authentic by using original ingredients imported specially from Italy for you.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everytime I visit Delhi, I insist on spending my Sunday afternoon's here for brunch. They offer a wide choice of delectable food; a spaghetti counter and a pizza corner where the chefs cook to your preference. There are a variety of cold cut meats on offer with a few cheeses to go with it (I've encountered brie, cheddar, swiss cheese and gouda so far). There is always a chicken and fish for your typical Secondi too.

There's a choice of sweets to conclude the (possibly mammoth) meal - the chocolate lasagne is nice and there's again a choice of trifles or puddings to choose from.

The waiting staff is friendly and general ambience is great. Sometimes they even have a live band playing!

In the winter's they also have an outdoor grill - which is awesome!

Come here to relax on a lovely Sunday afternoon. Enjoy the music, food and drinks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    69
    27
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful place, and a great experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was surprised to walk into such a warm and nicely made place, to my surprise the place has been here for some years now. Since i was having an early lunch, i did not face any delay in service and food served was quite delicious too. People who complaint of flies, please have a seat indoors. A must visit place for the Italian charm, music that plays is also nice to hear, but a bit repetitive. All in all a great experience, will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nirbhayveersingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unhygienic cute place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

D place is very cute n nice on d outlook. D food n service is also ok n d rices r too high. N to top it al d flies do d rest

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food but below average service for the price charged”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tonino is a good place for an overall dining experience, with an excellent ambiance, earthly decor and good food. Situated right on the MG road between Sultanpur and Chattarpur metro stations, Tonino can be easily spotted while driving on MG Road.

You get off your car into a valet area which leads to the main property and you get a feel of the old world earthly charm and the experience the dimly lit pathway leads you too. As soon as you enter you are bound to notice a nice little bakery selling (what looking liked) extremely high quality stuff. The restaurant now seems to be divided into the outdoor seating area and the indoor seating area. To my surprise the outdoor seating was also filling up fast considering the weather was not so conducive and a little on the hotter side. The outdoor patio furniture is done in a classical wrought iron style and the tables are arranged around trees which gives the place a very romantic and cozy feel to it. the indoor area has the bar and the seating areas are further divided into restaurant (table & chair) seating and a lounge area which has couches and centre tables like a living room. Since it was a Saturday night and most of the tables were well reserved before we got a nice couch seating in the lounge. The did not mind the kids and the lounge turned out to be a boon with small kids running around.

The service is average and I still feel the restaurant staff needs to be much more attentive and on their toes for the kind of money (plus 10% service charge) they are charging from the diner. The host and the lady server which took the order were gracious and helped us with suggestions for food and gave some great recommendations. However, the waiters serving the food left much to be desired and when at a place like this you have to look out for a waiter (because most of them did not pay attention to you) and shout out to them, then there is something a miss with the service. The order of serving which was mentioned at the time of taking the order was not followed at all. The food came as and when it was ready by them and one of the entrees I presume they completely forgot and prepared only when we reminded them again. I would appreciate if Tonino staff and management realizes that the Service needs to be impeccable at a place like this or the whole experience of dining is spoiled no matter how good the food or the place is. Service was a big NO for me at this place.

Food is great and despite the slack service I loved the quality of food and the extra-ordinary presentation of dishes. The Bruschettas are a must order and with exact crispiness of the bread and the correct flavour of toppings we ended up ordering 2 portions of those. The beer was good but if you are charging Rs. 425/- for a glass of Stella from the tap, might as well make the size of the glass bigger. I might sound cheap but I am not a big fan of places that serve you less in comparison to the other places or what you paid for.

The server who took our order surprised me with a starter of her choice which was Chicken Sausages in mashed potatoes and I loved it with a touch of Tabasco sauce. Full marks to her for an excellent recommendation. The entrees were well done and the Penne in white sauce for the kids was perfect. The thin crust pizza was crunchy and ok, I would say I have tasted better. For me the Chicken Grilled breast in Mushroom sauce was the best part of the meal, with a near perfect sauce and the chicken oozing with flavours. The grilled veggies were done just right and were a great accompaniment. The desserts were just fine.

Tonino scored with me on a lot of points and if the service can be improved, it would be a top notch restaurant for me with everything else working perfectly in its favour. 3/5 for me only because of the service. I will definitely give it a try once more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMM_KAYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All is good except the..................”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

All is good except the flies that greeted us nice and proper on our tables.When we changed the table,new water bottles were opened and to our astonishment ,they charged us for the bottle they had opened on the previous table.......Hope they take care of the hygienic conditions or burn incenses which keep the flies away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rashmigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonino also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Tonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing