We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food- A treat for the tastebuds”
Review of Culinaire

Culinaire
Ranked #968 of 12,635 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Greater Kailash II
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food- A treat for the tastebuds”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A small little eatery tucked away in a colony, Culinaire has a cult like fan following, in the evening people wait almost 45 minutes minutes for a table on this open air restaurant. But the wait is worth it for the amazing Thai and Lebanese offerings, all this does not come cheap, but the food puts may a five star restaurants to shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anhait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“value for money tasty food”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

we went on a chili winter night and decided to sit outdoors, and as soon as we took the table a sigdi(coals burning in a vessel) was put on our table in order to keep us warm- so i would add a plus one to there service. the food that we ordered too was brought immediately brought which added another feather in the cap as far as the service goes.
coming back to the food we ordered- the soups both manchow and veg clear(with lots of broccoli) were good and the starters along with them namely-Paneer chili dry and chili basil fish were excellent and so was the raw papaya salad. the highlight of the night were the Honey chicken and the Red Thai Curry Chicken served with steamed rice- which were superb and exceeded our expectations
now coming to the disappointing part- the chicken doner kebab was very average and can be avoided
they have both Indoor as well as outdoor seating but we prefer the outdoors
the mocktails we ordered were nice but the Ice creams they serve are too good and at very reasonable prices too- we ordered the Coffee and the Belgian Chocolate scoops which were both good and priced at Rs. 50 per scoop is absolute value for money

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAlong1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cheap and Best”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Probably the best place to have Chinese and Thai food in the GK area and the best part of it is that you pay half of what you would pay in Mainland China, China Garden Hao Shi Nian Niann, Chungwa, Flaming Wok and 100 others in the area. Trust me, I have had Chinese food from every possible place in India including Tangra in Kolkata.

The sitting area is the footpath opposite Tulip flow shop. At night its a flurry of activity. People from very rich to very middle class come here to have Indian Chinese food which is cooked before your eyes. There is no hanky panky about the place and each helping is sufficient for two. I particularly like their Chinese and American Chop Suey and chili fish. All the dishes are well made and serve piping hot.

By the way they also have a tiny air conditioned place which has two floors with 3 tables in each floor. Nice and cozy if you do not like the hectic activity outside in the open area. If youre not feeling like going out then they have home delivery but keep a provision of one hour. The food is delivered to your home in a decent manner, well packed and piping hot.

So if youre hungry for Chinese food then look no where. This is the real thing and in the end you dont feel the pinch in your wallet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tasty & reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've been using Culinaire for a long time, and find their Home Delivery service of use, whenever we need a change from home cooking.
I am partial to their Prawns (Fried as starters, or in hot garlic sauce), as well as their Chicken with cashews & black Mushrooms.
Also tasty are their Fish Salt & Pepper, as well as in Thai Green Curry. Portions are generous, with one dish (average cost Rs 300/- or so) being adequate for a person.
The place gets quite crowded with diners in the evening, so we allow 30-45 minutes for delivery on busy days.
Dining in is best left for the winters when the weather is pleasant.
I find Culinaire excellent value for money; more power to Mr Malik (the owner) and his people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Culinaire has been around for more than a decade and I have been a fairly regular visitor over the years. Their food is good, wholesome, value for money with consistent quality & attentive service.
Recommended for a casual dinner in the open air (they also have indoor seating) - nothing fancy.
Love their Thai curries and the Chilly chicken with Honey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinaire also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Culinaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing