We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily but too good”
Review of Karim's

Karim's
Ranked #44 of 12,667 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Oily but too good”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Okay I despise my food when half of it is laden with oil only. I could see the dishes being served with oil on the top. But we ordered naan and chicken gravy which was out of this world, if you can ignore the oil on top. The taste was super spicy and still very delicious. I do wish they would be not so liberal with the oil. But the naan was faultless and we enjoyed our meal nonetheless. Totally recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuko t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    841
    335
    130
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non-Vegetarian delight”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to Karim’s while we were visiting Chandni Chowk. Though Chandni Chowk was a disappointing experience but this restaurant was something else. Honestly the décor is not much to speak of but don’t let that deter you from going inside because inside it is a different world altogether. The experience of a lifetime begins as soon as you dig into that Biryani you ordered. The kebabs were amazing, the smoky taste just adding to its flavor. The curry was good though undeniably, it had a lot of oil floating on the surface. Visit Karim’s for a memorable experience with Indian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david03130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great service and food. The experience of visiting old Delhi is unique in itself. One should try to take a public transport to this place (the closest metro station is Chawri Bazar and take a rickshaw through bylanes of Delhi who will take about Rs 20 to take you to Matya Mahal). Though there are branches but the real experience is of going to the original place.

Worth a visit. Vegans beware as most attractions except the exquisite Nans are non veg items. The service is great as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_loafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Superb, clean and good prices”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very very good kebabs, daal, grilled chicken, etc, some of my best ever. All clean and professionally done, although the surrounding area is a big hellish. A clean place to eat after visiting The Red Fort, Jama mosque and having survived the walk through the surrounding market, which is not as charming as the tourist guides suggest. Karim's is full of charming staff who go out of their way to make sure that one is comfortable, even though service charge is not added to the bill. The prices for the superb quality of the food here are very reasonable. We spent under 10 US dollars for two for a rather large lunch. Try to get early because it get very busy. We arrived at 11:30 and it was already very busy, especially with many locals, which is always reassuring. I think they have branches in four other places in Delhi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very good Experience for Meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

hi, have visited Kareem's a few years back at their Jama masjid place and one near Honda chowk (i think so)... I just love the food -- its simply AWESOME..
Try the Mutton / Chicken bhurra.. Roti's are mind blowing..
and then try the curry / biryani.

the meal is not complete without the Phirni..

Prashant

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pash4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karim's also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Karim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing