We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing dining experience”
Review of Dum Pukht

Dum Pukht
Ranked #10 of 12,661 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this restaurant....

The dining room is really beautiful - done in gray and very chic. Live music playing - which for me is always a real plus!

The service is over the top lovely. Many waiters filling water and checking on you. Really great service.

Food was amazing. The lamb chop appetizer with fig and balsamic is extraordinary! Chicken curry was splendid. Naan was even fabulous. Rice pudding was wonderful.

It was a really perfect meal! Can't say enough nice things!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback for Dum Pukht. We are happy to know you enjoyed dining here. At Dum Pukht, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh along with a grand ambiance.
Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    162
    25
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Delicious food, amazing ambiance, perfect service!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

if you like indian food then you MUST go dine at this restaurant atleast once!!!!!

whats good? - EVERYTHING!
whats not good? - NOTHING!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank REEPERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review for Dum Pukht, ITC Maurya. We are pleased to know that you enjoy the royal Indian experience that we offer here, and are grateful that you would like to recommend us to others.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Under 10 Child Policy but Zero Implementation”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to to Dum Pukht for dinner on Jan 4th, 2014. Before we went, we called the restuarant to check on reservations. They told us that if we get there before 8:30p.m then getting a table would not be a problem, but past 8:30p.m there could be a wait for an hour. The other thing they told us was no kids under 10 were allowed. I have a 5yr old and last minute we had to tell him that he can't join us since that is restuarant policy. Felt terrible changing the plans last mintue on my son, but respected Dum Pukt's policy.

We got to the restuarant at 8:20p.m and we were told by the front staff that whoever gave the info on the phone regarding the 8:30p.m timeline was incorrect and the restuarant was completely booked. When my husband asked to speak with the manager they finally accomodated us and gave us the table. When we go inside we see families with kids less than 10yrs old. I asked to talk with the manager and asked them about their policy. He admitted that yes children under 10yrs are not allowed but didn't have an explanation on why were the kids under 10yrs were present.

I guess this is Delhi, even restuarants like Dum Pukht have policies but no implementation. So I ask myself - was I an idiot to actually listen to and respect their policy? I don't have an issue with young kids being in the restuarant, but if you have a polilcy please stick to it and have the same rule for EVERYONE.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank deepdivediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Pricey, but best lamb I’ve ever eaten”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Super attentive staff, great food, decent ambience. Delicious wine. On balance I’d say it is worth the expense. I give it 5 due to the lamb chops, otherwise only 4 because it is very pricey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback for Dum Pukht, ITC Maurya. We are pleased to hear your appreciation for our service and cuisine.

We would also like to assure you that the pricing at our restaurant is in accordance with its image, price and other restaurants in Delhi in the same category.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of the best Mughali restaurants in India”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a meal! We went there with a couple of friends for dinner and ordered a bunch of dishes to try. The seekh kebab, raan and rose pudding (gulab ki kheer) were absolute highlights. The service was impeccable and the ambience royal. Definitely of our favorite evenings in Delhi. Loved it! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shikhasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your delightful comments for Dum Pukht, ITC Maurya, and for appreciating us as one of the best Mughlai restaurants in India.

We are truly pleased to know that you loved your dining experience with us and enjoyed the royal cuisine and ambiance that we offer here.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dum Pukht also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dum Pukht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing