We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a five star experience”
Review of Dum Pukht

Dum Pukht
Ranked #9 of 12,606 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really a five star experience”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I had heard great things about this place (heard that the place was way better than Bukhara)... So I finally landed up to get a taste of the food at the place that I had heard so much of.

But the experience, to say the least, was disappointing.

The food was just average. I am a vegetarian so can't say anything about the non-veg dishes but veg was definitely nothing out-of-ordinary.

The service was really poor - Had to keep asking for water... Plus the waiters put the food on the side table and didn't bother asking whether we needed another helping and since we could not reach for the food ourselves, we remained hungry despite portions of food left. Had gone on a Sunday for dinner but is Sunday rush really an excuse for bad service in case of a five star?? On asking our server for suggestions, we were told that everything was good. On persisting, the description of items on the menu were read out to us... Really? Is this expected out of waiters of a restaurant which caters a lot to foreigners?

The ambiance too has nothing to write home about. The feel of the place is just not ITC Maurya (or even five star like!). Further, the way seating has been designed is not really comfortable for petite people like me and even for people wanting to have a cozy dinner (The opposite seats are just too distanced).

I would beg to differ from people who say that this place is better than Bukhara. Bukhara may offer much less variety than Dum Pukht (or rather just a few items!) but whatever is on offer is real good. The waiters at Bukhara are much more forthcoming with suggestions and are even likely to suggest a customization that can be made to your food. The ambiance is also way more chillaxed and classy. I would any day suggest Bukhara to anyone over Dum... People at Bukhara would have an experience and not just good food. Dum on the other hand lacked on most-of-all service, which could not be made up for by the average food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kritika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your appreciative comments for Bukhara.
At Dum Pukht, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused and request you to consider this as an aberration not reflective of our regular service standards. May we also request you to please share your contact details so we understand your concerns about Dum Pukht in detail.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    159
    24
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Mughalai food in town.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of the best restaurants in New Delhi. The decor is splendid, the food is authentic and tasty. We found the service reasonably efficient. Pricing is steep but then the ambiance and the food justify the price to a great extent. An evening in Dum Pukht can be very memorable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at Dum Pukht. Here, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through the authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh along with a grand ambiance.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The very best for Indian cuisine”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Though this restaurant opened many decades ago, the food is still excellent. Nestled in the Maurya Sheraton the dishes here are priceless, the biryanis, the malai koftas, the rabri all mouthwatering

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KYSINGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at Dum Pukht. Here, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through the authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh along with a grand ambiance.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Your taste buds would love you, your stomach would groan, you would need an extra hour on the treadmill but the renovated dum Pakht is still a class apart. It's worth that extra wait for your table, it's just for that special occasion. It's just Indian food at its glorious best

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at Dum Pukht. Here, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh along with a grand ambiance, which is in keeping with its cuisine theme.

We hope you enjoyed your overall experience and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
189 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dum Pukht was long over due for us primarily because they don't allow children under 12 and for me my son is a vital part of any new experience. So when the stars aligned one day and the biryani craving hit us, we turned up at Dum Pukht and were politely asked to wait even on a week day. It's a much favored place among the upmarket Delhi crowd and we were apprehensive whether the food will live up to the hype.

We ordered the Dum Pukht signature Awadhi biryani along with korma. Biryani turned up sealed in a ceramic 'Handi' and had that layered rice look to it which you seek in a perfect biryani. Korma was right up to the mark, just spicy enough to offset the biryani. Serving staff had the professional, courteous, quietly efficient approach you come to expect from a place like this.

Overall, Dum Pukht provided a wholesome experience which can't be replicated in a lot of places. Bound to visit again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VineetMalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our cuisine. At Dum Pukht, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience through authentic cuisine from the royal kitchens of Awadh along with a grand ambiance, which is in keeping with its cuisine theme.

We hope you enjoyed your overall experience and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dum Pukht also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dum Pukht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing