We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique taste” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oh! Calcutta

Oh! Calcutta
Ranked #20 of 12,534 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greater Kailash I
New Delhi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unique taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As started my hunt for differnet types of food available in Delhi, couldn't think of leaving Bengali food. Found it on tripAdvisor. Many times my plan was cancelled. But today i was sure i will taste it.

I reached around 1:45 PM. Again as expected it was crowded and was told 30 min waiting. But to my surprise found it classy and sophisticated. Got my table in 20 min. We choose buffet.

There was good no of variety both veg and non-veg. Non-veg starter, prawn, fish, chicken , mutton. Sweet dish. 2 veg curry , luchi (puri). Taste was too good. I cou;dn't stop mysleff from 2nd round.

Complimentary becardi breezer or soft drink. Definitely a plus. Ambience is good.
Staff is also very good. They were constantly filling up plate what ever u need. Sevice is also good.

Price is definitely on higher side. Buffet is INR 800+ per person including tax.

Not sure abt Al-carte. Will try next time. As i saw that might take time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SujitShodangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    211
    41
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Bengali cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Oh Calcutta is a chain, but a relatively upscale one. Having been to the location in Dhaka, I decided to take colleagues to the one in Delhi, and was not disappointed. I am a particular fan of the prawns in a ground mustard sauce steamed in banana leaves. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAzzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quality Bengali food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

at the heart of Soth Delhi, it is an awesome Bengali restaurant. has some signature one must try, who love Bengali cuisine. try the luchi, kosha mangsho combo.. the kakra chingri bhaape, the gondhoraj bhetki, murgi malikari, all fish bhaape dishes. its a delightful experience. nice decor and ambience and very courteous staff.... they also serve a buffet spead for lunch. it is very reasonably priced and has an awesome ensembvle of veg and non veg fare. it is a must try for Bengali food lovers. a friend of mine visited from Germany after a long time and just loved the place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Purushottam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bengali food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an awesome food... Delicious buffet spread....yummy steamed fish rolled in leaf, aloo poshtho and prawn curry... Was delicious as well as sweet dishes... At the end.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shubha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Bengali food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Oh Calcutta! probably has the most authentic collection of Bengali (from East India) native cuisine available in Delhi/NCR. Although they've now taken the 'Steamed Mustard Hilsa' off the menu due to skyrocketing Hilsa fish prices, the other food items are also good. The 'luchi' or poori (Indian puffed fried flatbread) is superlative, light & fluffy. All in all, a good choice and a good value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debashis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh! Calcutta also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Oh! Calcutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing