We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough for these prices”
Review of Dhaba

Dhaba
Ranked #43 of 12,989 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 17, 2014

2 appetizers + 2 vegetable dishes + 1 rice + 2 naan + 2 beers = 6670 rupees ($110). That's a lot of money for dinner in New Delhi. Was it worth it? No. The food was tasty, but certainly nothing special and it's easy to find food of this quality 50% cheaper all over the city. i won't be returning or recommending it to anyone at these inflated prices. Service was friendly and helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on this forum. We truly value feedback from our guests and we want to inform you that we have made a note of your opinion Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 393 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Sub-standard food at exorbitant prices. Nowhere near the famed Bukara in quality this theme hotel coffee shop caters for those not brave enough to try city restaurants or those who come to be seen in the classier establishments. The food is definitely aimed at western palates. Goes down in my book as one to avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mg_3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest, we thank you for your comments on this forum. As for your experience at Dhaba, we truly value your opinion and have made a note of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited with my family after many many years and this place still lives up to its name. The colonial appeal and personal service makes it very distinct in the heart of Delhi when there are many other great places to enjoy good North Indian delicacies.

Of all the items we ordered, I still remember, the melting rogan josh curry. I don’t recall the last time I had such well-cooked mutton… it was simply the best. For the first time, I also tried an Indian red wine ’Sula Satori Merlot/Malbec’. Quite liked it with the cuisine.

We were also very pleased with the service that we received from our server. He was super friendly. I am totally going back again the next time I am in Delhi.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Priya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Priya, thank you for your kind words about Dhaba! We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Claridges hotel (which we really liked) and after a long day decided to try the in house Indian Dhaba. It seemed to have a good review. My wife had had some tummy trouble the previous day so decided to nibble and watch me eat.

Initial impressions were not good. Dog eared menus and an interior that looked like it had had very little money spent on it (in contrast to he hotel!). We were given a table in a tiny alcove and we had to take it in turns to get in and out- not a good start. Staff were friendly though and helpful.

My main order was Lamb Balti which came served in a metal mug. The meat was tender but the sauce was boring. The rice portion was small and extras were non existent. Seemed to be the minimum meal they could get away with to meet the description on the menu.

Worst of all the bill came in at a whopping RS. 3300 for one person ! ( the following day the two of us ate a superb feast at Pinch of Spice for RS. 2100 including drinks.

Advice - avoid unless you want very little for a lot of money.

Thank sailork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. Please note that we really appreciate feedback and comments from our guests and have made a note of your opinion. We do hope that you will consider visiting us again and give us an opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a great restaurant!! We stumbled upon it in the DLF Mall. They serve upscale trendy Indian food, at great prices. Our server, Mustafa, was super friendly and helpful in recommending dishes. He was super attentive without being annoying. He truly helped make our experience at Dhaba a great one. The food was awesome and not pricey. The atmosphere was hip, with TVs showing indie music videos, and great decor and music. I would definitely go back to this restaurant.

1  Thank travel_guru2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhaba also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing