We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as it used to be”

The All American Diner
Ranked #177 of 12,822 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed May 2, 2013

American diner was one of my favorite places a while ago but now their food quality and service has severely dropped. it's just not as pleasant an experience as it used to once be. The pancakes were like eating raw eggs and when I asked for cold coffee the server gave me a glass of Coke. Was disappointed.

Thank ShubhdaKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The All American Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations on your recent visit to The All American Diner.

Your feedback regarding the quality of food and service has been taken up with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager respectively, who send their sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that necessary corrective actions have been taken based on your feedback to ensure a much better experience to our guests in future.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The All American Diner. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came here partly for the novelty and because in four months travelling throughout SE Asia, we've had a couple of really good American feeds, and we felt like burgers. Those places were run by expat Americans; I would very much doubt that this place is. Decor is pretty much spot on diner, from the neon, to the shine, to the soundtrack (kinda). The food though....

My guess is any American would be bitterly underwhelmed, and I note the majority of rave reviews here are from Delhites and/or Indian nationals. Our shakes were nice, we concede that (peanut butter and choc, yum), but everything else was just super average. The burgers just didn't feel like a great hulkin' feast you'd expect. They were a bit puny, there was nothing like slaw alongside and the side of fries were meagre, at best. To be sure, they weren't awful, but you have a certain idea when you think 'American diner' and thus just failed to live up to that expectation. A shame. And it was expensive: our most expensive meal in India by far, and sadly far from memorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The All American Diner, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The All American Diner.

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet yours. Your feedback regarding the food has been discussed with our Chef, who will be looking into it.

Our team has taken your feedback in a constructive manner and we are sure that it will help us further improve our services.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you at The All American Diner. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have visited this restaurant twice and satisfied both the time. Yes, the price is a bit steep compared to the ambience,but it is worth the quality of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kamalagarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The All American Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review The All American Diner.

We are glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Found myself waiting for someone at the Habit Centre and though I would give this place a go. For some reason no one was interesting in serving, then when I asked it seemed for ever, the cold coffee was more expensive than the Taj Hotel. Very disappointed. Will not be going back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank charlethomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The All American Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

At the very outset, please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent visit to The All American Diner.

We sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding the service quality and has been taken up our Restaurant Manager, who sends his sincere apologies and would like to assure you that his team would be more careful to avoid such incidents in future.

We hope this particular experience will not deter you from your future visits to The All American Diner. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is an average restaurant honestly, except for breakfast the place is hardly good for any other time. In breakfast too there is a lot of crowd and the slow service adds to the waiting time. The service here is way too poor. I had too specifically walk till the bar and ask for my food when it was not delivered to me even after 45 minutes and asking our server thrice. Visited twice here, will not surely go for the 3rd time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mohak_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The All American Diner also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The All American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing