We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moti Mahal

Moti Mahal
Ranked #327 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Patna, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeling good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Ya, This is the place whiich is really like its name.
Actually i feel it is very good service wise and specially quality wise but quite expensive.Its outdoor and also location is good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mannupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    99
    51
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old is Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

very old and ancient restaurant in New Delhi. It is the travelers choice and has its branches all over the capital city. Butter chicken, Mutton curry and biryani are the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank namanmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I found the food to be very poor. I had the butter chicken and tandoori chicken. The butter chicken was too salty and the naan was extremely dry and small. It was also served in a fashion that made me think they just gave me the leftovers from other people. The tandoori chicken was also very very dry. I can't believe that's the place where tandoori chicken was invented. Both dishes I tried were very poor, and let's not talk about the ridiculous prices. Not worth the visit.

On a positive note the staff were polite and accommodated my request for half portion at half the price, which I thought was very nice. Also the neighborhood around the restaurant is nice to walk, lots of shops etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jubei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Before you enter, it's difficult to gauge what it's going to be like beyond the entrance, so it was a pleasant surprise to find a decent sized space with fans on and greenery in a quasi outdoor setting. Although a sign says no smoking, they did allow smoking, but seemed to own only one ashtray in the restaurant, as the one placed on our table upon initial request was subsequently swiped by a different waiter and placed on the table of two other foreigners who had obviously asked for one later. When I asked for a replacement ashtray it took a while before someone plonked down a bowl that wasn't an ashtray but was obviously the best they could come up with. Waiters are courteous and food was punctual. Was a bit disappointed with the butter chicken - had imagined it would be amazing, but it was quite ordinary. Naan bread was nice, as was chicken tikka masala, but in general I found their chicken a little tough and had hoped for something more tender. The restaurant serves halal meat. Daryaganj is a nice street to meander down and less intense than the streets of old Delhi nearby. All in all it was a pleasant meal. Our meal of two soft drinks, a butter chicken, chicken tikka masala, two naan breads and cumin rice came to around 1500 rupees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdnaWelthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice food with good taste.
Apart from non-veg dishes their veg paneer dishes are very good
Specialy aachari paneer, mughali paneer, paneer handi.


Their rumali rotis literally mealts in your mouth
Very god food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASHISH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti Mahal also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing