We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tough to Review”
Review of Bukhara

Bukhara
Ranked #10 of 12,635 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,620 reviews
796 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,174 helpful votes
“Very Tough to Review”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is my 3rd review in the past 4 years, since that is all I can afford to eat here. From the last time (a little over 2 years ago), the prices have gone up another 30 - 40%. I never step into a 5 star hotel for a meal since it is total insanity to pay those kind of prices for mediocre food and haughty, snobbish service, the whole place smacking of snootiness. Bukhara is the only exception I make. The food is just awesome, and I am a hardcore vegetarian. Every once in a while, I indulge, and overlook all the other nonsense and gimmicks and hype that comes with it.

It starts with calling to make a reservation. You are always told (no matter how far in advance you call) that the tables are all booked up to 8pm, and thereafter it is first come first seated. This policy also changes every once in while. In any case, if you arrive any time between 7pm and 9pm, the restaurant will be at best half full with many empty tables. Yet, you will be asked to wait!

I discovered the platter long time ago. The waiter will never tell you about it. Now they have something called the Chelsea platter to accompany the Bill Clinton platter, priced at an astronomical Rs. 5500 ++++++ for 2! You cannot just order the veg platter (full or half) any more without the accompaniments.

Service at Bukhara has always been its Achilles Heel. The waiters are all trained to be as mercenary as their management, and sell as much as possible. So, for example, if my guest was a firang, the waiter could not accept the fact that I was ordering veg for both. He insisted on rattling off all the dead animals that were available for consumption. Also, a firang couple sitting at the next table were hopelessly lost with the menu and what to order. There was a huge communication problem between the waiters (3 of them) and the couple. The waiters insisted on ordering what they thought the couple should eat, instead of explaining each item properly and carefully. In the end, I had to intervene and help the couple much to the chagrin of the waiters.

The atmosphere here is definitely not fine dining. It is a dhaba in a 5 star hotel with 7 star prices. This place like others of its ilk rest mainly on a certain hype. If the hype ever bursts, it will be downhill all the way. Bill and Chelsea Clinton cannot keep this place going for too long. YC Deveshwar, Nakul Anand, Dipak Haksar, Madhu Krishnan and other honchos at ITC need to wake up from their mercenary slumber before it is too late. They can start by getting rid of all the aging waiters, and bringing in a fresh crew. Nothing is worth Rs.7,000 for a meal for 2, not even food so good! And of course, the icing on the cake is the bold "Service Charges not included in the bill" staring at you when you are presented with the bill!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,899
    702
    283
    103
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not for Vegetarians...”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is very good for non vegetarians. The choices for Vegetarian is limited Tandoori food. The Dal Makhani was very good. The place is over priced for Vegetarians.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wtravelerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Bukhara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments for Bukhara, ITC Maurya.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Dal Bukhara in particular, but are concerned to hear about the disappointment expressed for your overall dining experience with us. While we have noted your important insights, we would like to assure that the pricing at our restaurant is in keeping with its image, quality and other restaurants in Delhi in the same category.

We do hope you dine with us again and look forward forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bukhara”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Bukhara is easily one of the top restaurants in India! It is the perfect place for a relaxing dinner with friends, or a business dinner with colleagues. It is my go-to restaurant when in Delhi.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Bukhara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your truly delightful comments. We are most pleased to hear your appreciation for Bukhara as one of the top restaurants in India.

It is our endeavour here to offer an authentic Indian experience through great cuisine and ambiance.

We are pleased to have loyal guests such as yourself and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“World Class Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Starting from Appetizer, entrée, main course and desert, my family feel like having royal dinner in a palace where kings, queens have their royal meals, mouth watering dishes which cannot be rated by points, my personal opinion as a Chef!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chowdhuryindrajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Bukhara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback for Bukhara, ITC Maurya. We are most delighted and grateful to hear your beautiful appreciation for our cuisine, and are pleased to know that you and your family had a royal dining experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

amazinngggg food.....nddd loved dal bukhara......the restaurant was fab nd the hotel in which it is situated is also amazinnggg.......its a family restaurant nd is jussssss amazinggggg.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rahul_4f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at Bukhara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments for Bukhara, ITC Maurya. We are are delighted to know that you enjoyed the authentic Indian dining experience that we offer here, and are also pleased to hear your appreciation for our hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukhara also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Bukhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing