We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveler rating
567
230
92
36
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
567
230
92
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station meet other travellers place to stay common room hot water common areas walking distance main bazaar perfect stay tuk tuk chai connaught place home away from home special thanks comfortable stay backpackers hostel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 953 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

We arrived into Delhi late at night on Diwali it's was 12am when we arrived and had a day of travelling. On entering the room we were met by two single beds rather than a private double which we clearly stated in the email. This was fine we were tired. We went to freshen up, there was a pair of dirty boxers hanging on the back of the door in the bathroom. The bathroom was covered in mould and looked liked it needed a good clean. We slept and as a I didn't want to make a fuss I reluctantly didn't ask to change which in hindsight I really should have. We only had one more night and were going home. How bad could it be? Well there was a group of people sitting beside our room watching the TV very loud until I went out to the reception desk and asked him to ask them to keep it down or move on. He did a feeble attempt and I went back to bed. The group got bigger and louder, I went out again and asked him to do something, he looked and said" what can I do about this" I was frustrated now at the response, he called a superior who finally brought the noise to a halt . There was also people who worked in the hostel contributing to the noise on the night. I was so wound up about this at 1.30am. I didn't get a wink of sleep. It was dirty, loud, unprofessional and overall unpleasant experience. Not as we booked.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank stephendN8113RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Literally opposite New Delhi station, with metro link nearby, Zostel is in the perfect location.

Rooms were clean with decent bathroom and lockers. Tour was excellent and very informative. Common areas are well decorated and have a lively buzz. Would stay again.

That being said, breakfast was underwhelming and offered nothing interesting, staff were a bit confused and didn't seem to communicate well and put booking had to change as there were too many people booked when we arrived.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GeorgeBlackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZostelHostels, Owner at Zostel Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Hello George,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Zostel Delhi. The location has been strategically chosen for easy accessibility. We are happy to hear that you liked the services offered by Zostel Delhi and the morning tour activity. The common areas are designed to initiate conversations among travelers and its good that the purpose is being fulfilled.
We will work on the constructive feedback that you have given and we hope you will find it resolved when you are here with us again.

Cheers!
Zostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

The hostel is situated at a walking distance of 10 minutes from New Delhi Railway Station. Being in a decent location, there is no problem of accessibility to this location.
Zostel is first amongst many in India to provide dorm room kind of facilities and shared room facilities, which is a heaven for Backpackers. The room and washrooms are kept clean and very good condition. They also have private and separate rooms for couples.
The best part of the concept of room sharing is that you get to interact with people from different parts of the country and world. I stayed in a bunk bed room with 6 beds and go to meet backpackers travelling from Serbia and U.S.
Also the ambience and the air which they serve is very refreshing and pleasant. They have an activity area near the reception which has a small library and also you can play music of your choice.

Room tip: If you are a backpacker, prefer staying in a 6 bed room.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashit_agarwal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZostelHostels, Owner at Zostel Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Hello Ashit,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Zostel Delhi. The location has been strategically chosen taking into consideration easily accessibility and commutation. It takes some efforts to run Zostel smoothly and words of appraisal are always encouraging. The environment of Zostel has been created in such a way that it builds interaction among the travelers and we are happy to know that for you it worked just the right way.

Looking forward to host you in future again.

Cheers!
Zostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. For the cost of the private room I wish we'd stretched to a few quid more and got a decent hotel. The location is ok, there are a few restaurants etc. within walking distance and New Delhi station is walking distance also. The communal areas are great, loads of guide books to read, pool table, dart board, tv, computers and good wifi. The staff were pretty friendly but were always very busy. They printed our onwards bus tickets so for that we are grateful. We stayed in a private room on the 4th floor. There are no outward windows, just a small one that faces the corridor. The room is in dyer need of a face lift! It was pretty shabby to say the least. It's the only place I have ever had to use ear plugs to sleep. The road is very noisy and this doesn't let up until after midnight if even then. Between other residents and the noise of the road we got a few hours broken sleep at best. The communal areas are decorated beautifully, really creative murals and are kept clean. The same standard needs to be met in the rooms. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was really desperate. Having said that when you see how many homeless there are in the area you might just be grateful for a roof over your head.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

We chose this hostel as we saw it was a quite famous chain all over India and with generally good reviews.

It's located in a central and busy area, 5 minute walk from the main market as well as from
New Delhi metro station and the Airport Express train is about 15 min walk max, which is quite convenient. Many shops to be found and Cannaught Place, famous for the variety of good restaurants in Delhi, only 10min Tuktuk drive.

The dorms are mixed and very clean with bathroom and hot water.

The breakfast buffet is really nice with several options and only for 150rps - big plus for us.

We cannot give it a 5 star because the internet did only work for about 1 hour in over 48hours, which we found, quite frankly, a shame for such a well known hostel. I know it's Delhi, but everyone complained and the staff seemed not to prioritise the importance of it and kept saying that someone would come and fix it "within the next half hour". That never seem to happen.

Anyway, maybe it was just bad luck but all in all, a good option for this crazy city.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank franrom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZostelHostels, Owner at Zostel Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Hello Fran R,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Zostel Delhi. The location was strategically chosen so as to provide ease of accessibility to metro stations and nearest proper markets. We are happy to hear that you liked the services offered by Zostel and the way they were managed.

We apologise for the lack of internet while you were staying at Zostel. The problem that we were facing that time has been resolved now.

We hope to host you in future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews