We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanti Home provides the "peace" that its name represents”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2010

For the past two years, we have stayed at the Shanti Home en route to another location in India, with a group of high school students arriving for a service trip. The owner and his help provide impeccable service and are able to accommodate our every need. Whether we needed transportation, directions, food, tour suggestions - you name it - they could take care of it. More than kind, they seem concerned about our every comfort. The food is delicious on the beautiful roof terrace and, again, customized to our needs. The beds are comfortable, the rooms well appointed and spacious. This small, boutique hotel far exceeded our expectations. A massage/spa area was a surprise as well as the little "theater" salon. There are at least 2 or 3 lounge areas with plenty of couch and chair seating. Definitely recommend and we will keep coming back.

Stayed: February 2010
Thank Linda1952California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Stayed 2 nights here at beginning of trip to India. As traffic in Delhi is very busy it took over an hour to get in to see the sights. The area surrounding the hotel is very noisy. We stayed in Stupa room which is next to the guard and talking all night made sleep very difficult. The second night there was a festival on at a nearby temple which went on throughout the night and was still very loud when we left the hotel at 5.00 a.m. At midnight we had to ask to move to another room which was slightly less noisy.

On the plus side the food was excellent and the roof top restaurant is very attractive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Starting with the good things: the hotel and its rooms are clean and the food on the roof terrace is really fantastic and really good value for money.
Unfortunately the hotel is quite far away from the city center and we felt a bit locked up in the hotel especially at night given that there really isnt anywhere to go. We didnt think that the surrounding areas looked particularly welcoming or safe, hence once we reached the hotel we stayed there for the evening as well. As I highlighted before, the food is really good (and relatively cheap) and one can definitly enjoy an evening on the roof terrace. It took us about 45 mins to 1h to drive into the center of Delhi by car, this is maybe something to take into consideration when planning a stay....
Also, we stayed on a Saturday night and right opposite on the main street seem to be some loudspeakers and the whole neighborhood is being exposed to really loud music and chanting which can be annoying after some time... and when trying to sleep.
Overall and given its location in more or less a suburb of Delhi I thought that the hotel was on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptrip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Read all the reviews you like about Shanti Home, no one seems to have anything negative to say about the place. You can see that I have scored this as very good, and indeed it is but I thought I might tell you about the stuff that stuck in my mind and not for necessarily good reasons.
This was my first time in Delhi and I was there on business so part of what attracted me to the hotel was the free wi-fi. I couldn't get it to work for the first 3 days, which was a pain. That turned out to be a Delhi thing rather than a hotel thing, although everyone was keen to try to help. There are two hotel computers, which can be used by guests though, so that did help some of the time.
There are no TVs or radios in the room. There is a TV lounge but as a single traveller, that was a bit of a downer.
I had to move rooms half way through my stay to accomodate new guests needing a double rather than two single beds. Now I didn't really mind that, but it was clear that management knew I would have to do this when I booked and it would have been more honest if I had been told up front.
The showers....well all of the nice equipment is there, multple shower heads, rain showers etc but what you have to take care of, is that the water heaters(in both rooms I stayed in, so this isn't a one room issue) have a limited hot water storage. I am not exactly small but I learned after the first morning to get wet, switch off the hot water, soap up and then turn the water back on to rinse off. There are signs up in the bathrooms to say you should wait 10 minutes between showers "for environmental reasons". In this case the environment is the bathroom not your carbon footprint! This would be a pain if there were two of you in the room I'm sure.
The only other issue for me was the cost of taxi's organised for me. This was a principle thing rather than a cost issue. There are plenty of metered cabs around, and having been there for a few days, it was obvious that someone was making a healthy margin on the service of ordering them. I didn't mind paying an extra couple of hundred rupees but frankly I thought it was a bit unecessary.
If you want somewhere in Delhi that is clean, safe, has VERY helpful and friendly staff and you want to get a taste of real Indian hospitality, Shanti Home is probably the place for you. If you are expecting a 4* star hotel, go stay at one of the International group hotels like Hilton or Crown Plaza where you could really be anywhere in the world.
In a nutshell...this is more like a 4* guest house than a 4* hotel and that is a compliment, not a complaint. When I go back to Delhi, I fully expect to be staying there again, and a bigger recommendation than that I cannot give.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbybear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Well maintained and staff that really wants to help you have a great time. The owners are onsite and take the time to introduce themselves and seek feedback.

The food was very good and perhaps the best that I had on my trip in India.

My only negative feedback is that the bottle water they provided was not sealed and some days the bottles that they provided were half filled bottles. I am always very concerned about the water that I consume when traveling and felt that bottled water should be sealed and not reused bottles with filter water added.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pictorlumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

As many have said before us this is a lovely place to stay. The staff are extremely polite and helpful in sorting out all the annoying trivia that can arise on a trip to Delhi. The rooms are clean and well appointed and there are lovely areas to relax on each of the floors. The restaurant is very good and modestly priced and again the staff bend over backward to accomodate preferences. If there are drawbacks it is the noisy market opposite the front rooms, but the noise stops at night, and the distance from the centre of Delhi, though the new metro gets you there easily in 40 minutes. I suppose as well it is a little pricey - but you get what you pay for and the security of such a nice place to stay makes it well worth while.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

What a relief to come to such a welcoming hotel in hot, stinky, smelly Delhi! I couldn't say enough about this wonderful family who would go out of their way to help you. An example of this is when we wanted to go shopping and they gave us a mobile phone in case we got lost! They also walked us to a hairdresser so that my husband could get a haircut, this wouldn't happen in a 5 star! The food was amazing on the roof top terrace and the rooms were extremely clean with great themes. We stayed here twice, when we first arrived in India and then on our way back, and each time was fantastic. They also offer free internet and books from their library. If I could improve this hotel I would add a pool! What an amazing family and a wonderful welcome to India!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
374 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,135 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
1,829 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 715 in New Delhi
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $92 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing