We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality and assistance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality and assistance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed with Shanti Home on four separate ocassions during our recent visit to India. It is located on the west side of Delhi on a residential side street back from the main road and is very convenient for both airport. Husband and wife team Rajat and Sanjana run this hotel and the front desk is headed up by the remarkable Pooja. Thank you Pooja for accomodating us at very short notice (due to a 7-hour train delay which culminated in us missing our flight to Varanasi) and also for re-booking our flights with a "service" charge.

We stayed in the following rooms: "Benares", "Kashmir", "Bombay Talkies" and "Oh Calcutta", the latter being the largest room in the hotel and faces the very busy Jankak Puri road) "Bombay Talkies" had a jacuzzi bath. Our favourite rooms were "Benares" and "Kashmir", purely because they were a little quieter in the mornings, but hey, you don't come to India for a lie ins do you!

The delightful rooftop restaurant serves both Indian and international dishes and food is available 24hrs/day. Food from the tandoor is available in the evenings only. The restaurant staff were charming and services was excellent - chairs lifted in/out for you, fresh tablecloths used each time, torches available for those who needed a little help reading the menu! As well as the large bottles of Kingfisher and iced glasses there was also a selection of local wines - would recommend the Sula sauvignon blanc. This was 1600 rps a bottle - relatively expensive as beverages go, but hey, India is not known for it's wine consumption so it's not surprising and we did pay 1000 rps more for the same thing in Agra!

Unfortunately we were not around long enough on each visit to avail of the spa facilites but did use the complementary, modern, internet facility.

There is a metro station about a 10 minute walk away and although the metro itself was very clean, I wouldn't advise anyone that doesn't have a very strong constitution (and preferably no sense of smell) to atttempt to walk it!

Make no mistake, if/when we are next in Delhi, Shanti Home is where we will be heading to rest our weary heads - it was truly delightful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    213
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
137
474
195
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean - enough hot water. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the rooftop restaurant. The food is good, but plain and we would have enjoyed a bit more variety and more typical Indian food. The staff was very friendly and the managers were attentive. While the metro to Conought place takes about 20 min plus 5 minutes walk to the metro - we found this not too bad, as the metro is clean and efficient.
We had to leave early in the morning and good coffee and breakfast even at 4 am ! The owner is very caring and helpful regarding any questions one may have.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Dear Shanti Home,
Once again, THANK YOU! for all your hospitality during our stay, I wish we could have stayed longer!!
We arrived in Delhi @ 4:30 AM, and there was a driver waiting for us at the Delhi Cantt train station (I had previously asked which station would be closer to the hotel, and they suggested this one, which is not only 10 minutes away, but very quiet, excellent choice). Upon our arrival, I was expecting that we would have to sit on a lounge or waiting area until a decent check-in time, much to my surprise, they checked us in immediately and led us to our room (which was actually booked for that night), where we were able to rest and clean up.
We had a cooking class at the hotel, and it was also memorable, everyone, from the Chef, to the servers was eager to explain what we were doing, and what we prepared we actually ate, and it was amazing!
They were very good also guiding us on where to go, the metro station is only a 5 minute walk, and once you get the hang of it, the easiest way to get around to the important places. My wife also had a massage (which she still talks about!!!), and we were able to eat at their restaurant once more and hang out until 10:30 PM when again, a pre-arranged vehicle came to pick us up and take us to the airport.
Having stayed at only 4 different places during our time in India, I have to say this was by far the best in service, cleanliness, and friendliness.
Thank you again for everything!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WilsonD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Shanti Home and enjoyed it from the first moment. Even though we had arrived very late at night we felt so welcomed. We got helpful tips how to do our sightseeing tour, e.g. what kind of places you should see fist and so on… and the next morning our driver got clear instructions so that we really could lean back and just enjoying our sightseeing tour. The staffs were friendly and helpful all the time without overdoing it. The breakfast and dinner was really delicious and the atmosphere of the roof garden restaurant was so pleasant. The room, we stayed in; the "Bollywood" room was tastefully furnished and it was nice, neat and quiet. The whole Shanti home is an Oasis and it was the best hotel we had stayed in during our 11 days India Journey. So, if you go to New Delhi, it is a must to stay at Shanti Home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuJaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicemo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Good service, nice enough rooms - the highlight was the food!! It was absolutely beautiful and in a great setting too!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

My partner and I spent a few nights in Delhi and what a nice oasis this is in a very busy city! Friendly and clean place with very helpful and service minded staff, they really do make you feel welcome. Hotel is a short 5 minute walk away from Metro. It takes about 30 minutes into the city center but don't let that scare you off... one day in the center was plenty for us, we got a driever to take us to the sights in the city and belive me, after a day in Delhi this is a nice place to come back "home" to and enjoy a beer or some of their excellent food on their roof top terrace.
My only "negative" comment would be that I must be a tad old, he he, as i could have done without the techno music for dinner. (or was it the fact that I expected some Indian background music??) At least the music wasn't too loud!
I would absolutely recommend this place as well as stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hndsmdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

The driver was waiting with a sign at the train station and we got taken to the Hotel where we were greeted by the most hospitable staff I have ever met. And we had a weekend where we were treated like Queens. The little Hotel is an oasis in the Big Busy City. And it was bliss to come back after a "shopping day" and be feed. The food and the resturant (on the rooftop) is absolutly worth every penny. The ambiance of the whole Hotel is SOOO lovely and homely. The owners have really put there heart into every little detail to make us feel cared for. The rooms were clean and had beautifull art work from around the world displayed. They have a tailor service that is the top of the line in any respect. Internet in every room and one in public area. If you need a local mobil phone you can borrow from reception. A car and driver at your service when you need it and they will arrange any tour for you.
The only problem with our stay at Shanti Home was it was too short. Could have moved in there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.6 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing