We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Boutique hotel with the family staff to match!”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Boutique hotel with the family staff to match!”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We flew from Mumbai to New Delhi with our newborn twins and really needed to be somewhere that was quiet, comfortable and service driven. We could not have been more delighted. The rooms were all simple, classy, classic Indian colonial style. Beds were big an comfy. Bathrooms big and hot hot showers. Staff went shopping to help us with all our baby supplies and we ate on the stunning rooftop restaurant every night. They organized cars to take us around the city, and the drivers were all classy gentlemen who looked after us.

I can't recommend Shanti more highly. The attention to service, the warm but discreet staff made our stay memorable and Delhi a real treat!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musicman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
480
196
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
psbbank
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed in the Shanti home on 10th and 11th April 2009. This is a lovely hotel. The staff are very attentive and do everything they can to help. The room was very clean and comfortable and the lounges are equally clean with great couches to relax on after the bustle of a day in Delhi. The decor throughout is beautiful.
We were in India for 2 weeks and had some really nice meals throughout, but still none quite matched our first dinner here at the Shanti Home!
While the hotel is not near the City centre (thank goodness) the Metro stop is just around the corner and easily he best way into the City. Quick, clean and an opportunity to meet the locals.
Undoubtedly there are cheaper hotels available, but this is an excellent hotel and worth every rupee.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psbbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

This hotel was the first stop in our two week trip around Rajasthan and we just loved it.

Pick up after a long flight was as arranged and when we got to the hotel at about 11a.m. we were so pleased that our room was ready. As referred to in previous reviews Puja is an extremely charming and welcoming hostess. Our room was spotless, had a great bathroom and the air con worked beautifully. The bedrooms on our floor were set around a very large well decorated and appointed lounge area. This had free internet , big squashy sofas and lots of books and mags. The roof terrace was also lovely but abit hot during the day.

Dinner on the rooftop was a delight. The friendly chef came over and had a chat. We then told him what we would like to eat ( A , B and C) and he said , OK I'll give you D,E and F!! Needless to say his recommendations were spot on and the food was fantastic.

The following morning , after a hearty breakfast the hotel's car took us off the the railway station for our train to Agra.

We would highly recommed this lovely spot , Puja and her team do an awsome job at looking after guests from around the world and of course running a lovely charming hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willistown, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We checked into the Shanti Home on the day of our arrival in Delhi for one night and again for one night a week later. We pre-arranged our airport transportation as well as a city transfer through the hotel, the cost of which was added to our bill, a big convenience. Our air conditioned room was clean and comfortable The only meals we had at the hotel were the included breakfasts which included a variety cereals, pastries and eggs cooked to order. The hotel is situated on a residential side street though is close enough to the main street that the incessant honking of vehicle horns can be heard in the distance. The hotel has a computer and printer available to guests which we found handy as we were able to print out our boarding passes for the next day's flight. We found that given the quality of the accommodations the price was quite reasonable for Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We made a recent trip with our 2 children and were pampered during the stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very professional and attentive. The 24/7 restaurant was exceptional and convenient.
This was one of the most pleasant experiences during our several trips to India. Would highly recommend Shanti Home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiantraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed at the Shanti Home for a week in February which we chose based soley on the Trip Advisor reviews.

We had arranged for the hotel to send someone to pick us up from the airport but they did not show up. Ordinarily this would not be aproblem but Delhi is probably the worst place in the world for this to happen.

The staff were nothing short of superb and the food in the restaurant was delicious albeit quite expensive.

The room was ok certainly not worth the money we paid. However the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

I had some shirts tailored and the quality of these was nothing short of poor, I would not advise getting anything done by the tailor.

The hotel does not accept American Express.

All in all it was ok, but for the price, especially in India, it was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eca99mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is a very comfortable and friendly hotel with good sized, well furnished en-suite rooms.
Our room and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean and all the public areas were equally well looked after. There is a pleasant roof top restaurant for breakfast or dinner and a round -the-clock room service menu - excellent in a small hotel like this. The hotel gives you free internet access ( we were charged up to 150rps per half hour elsewhere) and there is generally a really helpful atmoshere. We were upgraded to a better room without asking and the fact that we checked in at 3.30 am didn't seem to phase anyone (except me).
The only snag and it seems churlish to mention it is that the hotel isn't particularly central - and Delhi is huge with very slow traffic. If you want to be right in the centre of the city look for somewhere else, if the location isn't too critical and you want a to stay somewhere pleasant and different to the chain hotels then try the Shanti Home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minouannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing