We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is as good as the majority of reviewers say!”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #3 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed in the Shanti home on 10th and 11th April 2009. This is a lovely hotel. The staff are very attentive and do everything they can to help. The room was very clean and comfortable and the lounges are equally clean with great couches to relax on after the bustle of a day in Delhi. The decor throughout is beautiful.
We were in India for 2 weeks and had some really nice meals throughout, but still none quite matched our first dinner here at the Shanti Home!
While the hotel is not near the City centre (thank goodness) the Metro stop is just around the corner and easily he best way into the City. Quick, clean and an opportunity to meet the locals.
Undoubtedly there are cheaper hotels available, but this is an excellent hotel and worth every rupee.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psbbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2009

This hotel was the first stop in our two week trip around Rajasthan and we just loved it.

Pick up after a long flight was as arranged and when we got to the hotel at about 11a.m. we were so pleased that our room was ready. As referred to in previous reviews Puja is an extremely charming and welcoming hostess. Our room was spotless, had a great bathroom and the air con worked beautifully. The bedrooms on our floor were set around a very large well decorated and appointed lounge area. This had free internet , big squashy sofas and lots of books and mags. The roof terrace was also lovely but abit hot during the day.

Dinner on the rooftop was a delight. The friendly chef came over and had a chat. We then told him what we would like to eat ( A , B and C) and he said , OK I'll give you D,E and F!! Needless to say his recommendations were spot on and the food was fantastic.

The following morning , after a hearty breakfast the hotel's car took us off the the railway station for our train to Agra.

We would highly recommed this lovely spot , Puja and her team do an awsome job at looking after guests from around the world and of course running a lovely charming hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We checked into the Shanti Home on the day of our arrival in Delhi for one night and again for one night a week later. We pre-arranged our airport transportation as well as a city transfer through the hotel, the cost of which was added to our bill, a big convenience. Our air conditioned room was clean and comfortable The only meals we had at the hotel were the included breakfasts which included a variety cereals, pastries and eggs cooked to order. The hotel is situated on a residential side street though is close enough to the main street that the incessant honking of vehicle horns can be heard in the distance. The hotel has a computer and printer available to guests which we found handy as we were able to print out our boarding passes for the next day's flight. We found that given the quality of the accommodations the price was quite reasonable for Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We made a recent trip with our 2 children and were pampered during the stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very professional and attentive. The 24/7 restaurant was exceptional and convenient.
This was one of the most pleasant experiences during our several trips to India. Would highly recommend Shanti Home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiantraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed at the Shanti Home for a week in February which we chose based soley on the Trip Advisor reviews.

We had arranged for the hotel to send someone to pick us up from the airport but they did not show up. Ordinarily this would not be aproblem but Delhi is probably the worst place in the world for this to happen.

The staff were nothing short of superb and the food in the restaurant was delicious albeit quite expensive.

The room was ok certainly not worth the money we paid. However the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

I had some shirts tailored and the quality of these was nothing short of poor, I would not advise getting anything done by the tailor.

The hotel does not accept American Express.

All in all it was ok, but for the price, especially in India, it was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eca99mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is a very comfortable and friendly hotel with good sized, well furnished en-suite rooms.
Our room and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean and all the public areas were equally well looked after. There is a pleasant roof top restaurant for breakfast or dinner and a round -the-clock room service menu - excellent in a small hotel like this. The hotel gives you free internet access ( we were charged up to 150rps per half hour elsewhere) and there is generally a really helpful atmoshere. We were upgraded to a better room without asking and the fact that we checked in at 3.30 am didn't seem to phase anyone (except me).
The only snag and it seems churlish to mention it is that the hotel isn't particularly central - and Delhi is huge with very slow traffic. If you want to be right in the centre of the city look for somewhere else, if the location isn't too critical and you want a to stay somewhere pleasant and different to the chain hotels then try the Shanti Home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minouannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

From my initial enquiry through to our departure from the Hotel the service we received was excellent. This is a little way out of New Delhi but the hotel is very clean, and comfortable. We stayed in the Oh Calcutta room which was large with a nice sized bathroom. We arrived early morning on the day of the Holi Festival and were treated as part of the Shanti Home "family" for the duration of the festivities.

The rooftop restaurant provided excellent tandoori meals with a chef who was prepared to spend time discussing his recipes and techniques.

Overall we spent an excellent two days at the hotel, the only disadvantage being the time to travel into Delhi Centre.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
548 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#21 of 779 in New Delhi
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,080 reviews
13 mi away
The Suryaa
The Suryaa
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
2,192 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#31 of 779 in New Delhi
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $69 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing