We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

For our first trip to India it was a really gentle introduction. We arrived late to a warm welcome and then found that breakfast the next morning was served on a lovely roof terrace. The food is delicious and the rooms spacious and comfortable.
Above all the staff are very helpful and go out of their way to take care of you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    216
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
141
485
197
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After the mega-shock of arriving in Delhi, the Shanti Home was our introduction to a tour of Rajahstan - a warm, welcoming small hotel that more than set us off on the right foot. It is on the outskirts of the sprawling, brawling city of Delhi and about half an hour from the sights by car or auto-rickshaw, with a metro station nearby to give you an even more local flavour of life in the capital. We were welcomed with flowers, the room was delightful and the public spaces comfortable and peaceful, with all mod cons such as laptops if you did not bring your own and free wi-fi if you did. But the highlight after a hectic day in the Delhi old town was the rooftop restaurant. The food was excellent and the service impeccable, in fact some of the best food we had in India. As a starting point or as a three or four day retreat from the bustling city it is a great place to be.

Room Tip: High floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAJDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel made our stay in New Delhi perfect! The staff was exceptional!!! Each room is unique, designed with traditional India in mind. The rooftop restaurant was fabulous...we started our days there, and ended our evenings there. The food was excellent and available 24/7! The location was perfect - tucked away from the craziness...but close enough to get to everything via cab or tuk-tuk. There is a once a week evening market (think it was Weds) that was within walking distance...and it was incredible. Pooja, the hotel manager made sure all of our needs were taken care of including making the best suggestions for our itinerary. She was our personal concierge...and did an exceptional job! I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay...absolutely perfect in all ways!!!

Room Tip: Close to the rooftop worked for us...a few steps from our evening Kingfisher Beer! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was an unmitigated disappointment. We picked it based on the raving reviews.
The first shocker was the location which was stated as Central but is in fact on the outer fringes of Delhi. There's a metro Line nearby but this didn't make things any easier for us. Important note to fellow travelers - Connaught place is the town center and the museums are near India gate. This place is in another district. Tip - use google maps to figure if the location works for you. We felt our few days in Delhi were lost because of how long the commute to the city center took.

Service was warm and friendly which was a relief. The decor is of a house with ethnic touches. It isn't a hotel per se rather a house with a few rooms - b&b mould.

Lastly it's way over priced at almost 100 euro.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jomilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After arriving in the sprawl of India this place was a little oasis!

Well located, but given the scale of Delhi you will be travelling by tuktuk or car in anycase.

We arrived for our honeymoon to a welcome drink, flowers etc. In the evening we had a meal in the restaurant (on the roof) and the food was outstanding; freshly cooked meters away from your table. They also provided us with a complimentary honeymoon cake which was a nice touch, with all the staff coming round the table to wish us well.

Room wasn't the biggest we stayed in but certainly had everything you need. They provided us with breakfast very early the next morning straight to our room prior to us catching a train to Agra.

We only stayed for one night before moving on. That said, if we were to stay in Delhi again or for longer I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Following advice from friends we stayed here for our first four days in India and were very well looked after. The rooms are lovely, the food delicious and everyone very friendly and helpful. The in house massage helped to ease away the stress of the flight and the excellent advice and guidance helped us to cope with the onslaught of Delhi. The hotel is a long way out of the centre but the metro is quite close and once the hotel had provided a guide to get there on the first morning we had no trouble at all using it to get around. Probably quicker than a taxi in the rush hour, though the traffic is a true 'experience'.
All in all could not have asked for for more hospitality, comfort, advice or assistance. Nothing was too much trouble to help us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlynneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first two nights in India to help with the predicted culture shock. This was such a lovely place, the staff were so curteous and made sure we had everything we needed. We were upgraded.to a luxury room which was a lovely surprise after a long plane flight from London and this was complimentary. On arrival we were given flower garlands and mango juice, and a tour of the hotel. The religious architecture was beautiful and there are many rooms to relax and read/watch a bollywood movie/play games in. Our room was beautiful; large with king sized bed, complimentary water, fridge, walk-in shower and bath, hairdryer. We stayed in the bombay masala suite - see pictures on the website too, they are spot on.
We alsi did a cooking course which was so muh fun, we learnt to cook palak paneer, mied veg curry, chicken curry, pea pulao and chaptis! The chefs were very. good with us, nd gave us a chefs hat each and taught us why we were using each spice etc. We then had our dinner aerved to us on the rooftop terrace as th which was lovely as the sun went down. The food in the restaurant is nice too, try something from the tandoor oven!
Thank you so much for our wonderful, peaceful stay it was a lovely welcome on visiting India.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanorfayelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
209 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,836 reviews
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
1,719 reviews
9.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing