We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop in India and we were so glad it was! Every person we encountered provided exemplary and kind service. The rooms, resturant and hotel itself is spotless. We booked the 2 day package they offer and highly recommend it, it made traveling to Dehli sites and Agra a breeze! We had the same driver the whole stay- Balram. He was prompt, safe friendly and dependable- ask for him ! Ravi and Mahipal also made sure we had every thing we needed and anticipated our needs at every turn. This hotel puts so much care into your stay and doesn't overwhelm you with overbearing staff.
Service- excellent
Food- amazing try anything out of their tandoori oven!
Accommodations- clean, comfortable
Stay here you wob't be sorry!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LolaPiggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
480
196
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have often recommended this place to friends visiting the city but this is the first time I have stayed. The staff are outstanding and very accustomed to assisting guests through their introduction to Delhi. The building is beautiful, lovely art work everywhere and gorgeous little lounge and sitting areas. Food is also well above average. Shanti Home effortlessly takes care of every little thing and nothing is too much trouble, for the staff here. Its a little bit out of the centre of things but close to the Metro station and they arrange a car at reasonable rates

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsharmawinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and multiple staff had stayed up to greet us warmly. They took the time to show us around the gorgeous facilities including the yoga room, massage room, library and general sitting areas. The place is decorated immaculately, the rooms are extremely clean and well-furnished. The restaurant at the top of the building is lovely. We were disappointed that we could not stay longer, but we only had one night scheduled in New Delhi. The one downside is the location of the hotel away from the prime tourist and shopping spots. For a quick trip in and out of the city, this is a great place to stay. For those wanting to be located in a more central area this may not be the right option, although we would not hesitate to recommend it for the impeccable hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islasadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cannot fault Shanti Home, from arranging to pick us up from the railway station near to the hotel rather than fight away through the crowds at Old Delhi station, to giving us the loveliest welcome of any hotel in India. The hotel is gorgeous, full of really beautiful artefacts and furnishings, with stunning lounges to read, play games, watch dvds or go online. We were delighted to be upgraded to premium rooms that were large, very comfortable, beautifully presented, pristine and just lovely restful places to recover in, with big modern bathrooms to enjoy. Great food on offer at the rooftop restaurant and I was so well looked after when asked about shopping. A Metro map was produced, the relevant stops were highlighted, shopping suggestions offered and I was accompanied to the Metro station by a member of staff. Shanti Home is only a short walk from a Metro stop and a half hour Metro ride from Connaught Place. Had only a brief stay here and enjoyed every minute, the staff were friendly and helpful, and would have really liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alongwayback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a starting point,on line booking direct with the hotel works very well so do not hesitate to contact them direct.
The rooms are reasonably spacious,especially the bathrooms and there are the very comfortable beds with their marble bases.Everything is spotless.
If you have the time,try the massage and the cookery course ! Breakfasts are above average.
You are very much looked after here,for example,the offer of a very pleasant staff member to walk us down to the metro on the first morning.Do use the metro to travel into the centre ; it has air con and is fast.
We would like to especially mention the help we had from Pooja when our booking for the next hotel we (thought)we had booked fell through.Basically,she got on the phone/web and sorted out an alternative for us ! Really beyond the call of duty !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

An oasis of peace away from the noise on the streets, this hotel offers a very warm welcome and superb service. The rooms and lounges on each floor are beautifully furnished and decorated with traditional carvings, pictures and icons to give a sense of stylish history. Large bathroom with walk-in shower was bliss after a long journey, and free pick up from the airport made our arrival very smooth. We were greeted with garlands of marigolds and an inhalation of scented oils - nice touch. The hotel organised very reasonably priced, air conditioned car trips to Agra to see the Taj Mahal and Red Fort, and sightseeing around Delhi to maximise our limited time. We also took advantage of an Ayurvedic massage in the spa room after a long day out in the heat. The rooftop restaurant has its own tandoori oven and cooks really tasty dishes, with your particular needs in mind. The only downside is that although great for getting to the airport, it is quite a long way from the main sights of Delhi, and it can take 1 1/2 hours by car to get to these from the hotel, particularly in the morning rush. However, overall, it was a really comfortable place to stay and the staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at Shanti Home from the airport. We'd heard that Delhi can be overwhelming and exhausting. The serene calm of Shanti Home meant we found Delhi delightful. Pooja and her team really take trouble to make sure guests are well-looked after. Its about 40 minutes away from the centre of town by metro, and on the first morning a member of staff came with us to the station and helped us to buy our tickets. We also had a wonderful cookery lesson with the chefs - great fun. All the food in the restaurant was very good, but the Tandoori Chicken was the best I have ever tasted! We returned for the last night of our holiday, and it was a perfect way to end a wonderful holiday. One of the staff came with me to the local sweet shop to help me buy Indian sweets for work colleagues. Such kindness. I know there are cheaper places to stay, but I am really glad we chose Shanti Home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radhikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing