We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here a few nights a while back (March 2011) on our trip through India. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. The rooftop restaurant was divine and convenient. Overall, it was a tremendous experience (and we have high standards). We will definitely stay there again when we revisit India.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    214
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
479
196
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Shanti Home for the second time - it was my parents first visit to India - and there could not have been a better welcome to this country! The service which personalized everything from our arrival, our transfers, the cooking class we did, to the booking of our massages in the hotel made us feel at home. Every level of the hotel has an area dedicated to comfort - a lounge, a movie room, a computer area etc. The rooms are spacious and homely. Everything has been accounted for! And Chef Adel and his talented team - never have we eaten curries / tandoori so delicious! Breakfast was also a wonderful start to each day. An incredible place I would highly recommend - we can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at Shanti Home in New Delhi twice in May as I traveled in India and flew out of DEL. The hotel is located on the outer northwest section of New Delhi so is a bit further from central New Delhi but was very nice home base for my time in Delhi (both Old and New). Lobby is in the lower level (from street) and other 3 floor go up from street level with elevator available. Roof top restaurant is on what would be the 4th level.

Rooms I stayed in on 2nd floor were well appointed and had individual AC units (critical in late May or June summer temps) along with ceiling fan. Bed and sheets were very nice as was the bathroom with rain style shower head and individual hot water heater for the room. Ceiling fan in bathroom turned out to be huge help as I washed a couple shirts on the sink and they were dried under the fan breeze within 30 minutes.

Complementary bottled water in room every day was great. Also, plenty of power outlets for the computer, electronic and photographic charging needs. Complementary WiFi worked well in both room I stayed at.

Common area on each floor is really a nice space with room to spread out, AC and nice artistic touches along with India and Delhi-related information and historical reading materials.

Staff was excellent, very attentive and went out of their way to ensure every need was met at all times. This includes not just the hotel staff but the security folks, and all restaurant staff as well.

Rooftop restaurant (The Lantern - Terrace Garden Restaurant) had incredible food with very large portions (chicken Satay appetizer is a meal in itself), ice cold glasses for a chilled beer and fans for cooling on a hot May night all made for a very relaxing and enjoyable meal. Great selection of food both for breakfast and dinner and everything I had was excellent.

Nice selection of silk scarves and other souvenirs on the lobby to choose from.

Only drawback (and this is only applies if you want to explore the nearby area) is that the hotel is in a residential area that is not normally frequented by tourists. The hotel itself sits away from the road in a gated area and is very safe but make sure to talk with staff regarding areas to avoid and if going out at night.

Room Tip: I stayed in a premium room (Goa) which was very nice. They have a step up "Luxury Room" f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColdCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Shanti Home exceeded my expectations by far. The staff helped plan our short stay in Delhi and organized a city tour and trip to Agra/Taj Mahal. We were also provided a mobile phone for our stay. The rooms were eclectic and felt authentic. Not just boring hotel decor. The massage I had was wonderful and the rooftop restaurant was excellent. Nothing bad to say. Comfortable bed, clean room, modern bathrooms. It was an oasis in Delhi. Only 25min drive to airport so perfect for early morning departures. I would certainly stay here again if I found myself in Delhi again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I will give them A+ , every thing was better than we expected, food, rooms, staff, every thing was wonder full, I recommend this small family like hotel to the people who likes nice and friendly hotel, we had very good time and enjoyed every bed of it, thanks to Pooja the manager with very special well com.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed at about a dozen different hotels and guest houses in Delhi and Shanti Home is the best by far. The hotel itself is very clean, quiet, set back from busy roads, and beautifully decorated. The hotel staff were incredibly accommodating, going out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The rooftop kitchen serves excellent fare and they even offer a cooking class where you make your own dinner. It was a really fun experience! They have clearly thought through the needs of travelers, offering complimentary airport pickups, great wifi throughout the building, complimentary laptops in the lounges, and even mobile phones on loan. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and comfortable, Shanti Home is a wonderful place to stay. Great rooms -each with a different decor - and a fantastic restuarant on the roof terrace. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great couple of days and couldn't have been better.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Harrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 707 in New Delhi
2,672 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 707 in New Delhi
2,597 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,833 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing