We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Namaste”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Namaste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Following the long haul flight from LHR to New Delhi, with my first adrenaline-fuelled experience of being driven through New Delhi in an air conditioned Toyota; our arrival at the tall, imposing security gates to the street where our hotel was located was initially a cause of unease and uncertainty about our personal safety and welfare.

How wrong I was, nothing could be further from the truith. Greeted by welcoming staff, armed with broad smiles, our luggage was seemlessly taken care of as we checked in at the basement reception. Adorned with a necklace of marigolds and informed that as guests we were gods, certainly woke me up to the level of customer service that was delivered at this venue.

The bedroom accommodation was very comfortable, well laid out and spacious. A comfortable lounge is provided for guests along with a laptop for those that wanted to catch up on e-mails etc.

The restaurant service up on the roof was excellent with staff relaxing the rules on breakfast meal times and serving good wholesome foods.

This was one of the friendliest hotels we stayed at during our three week tour.

Worth noting - if you have mobility problems the lift doesnt go all the way to the roof top, leaving the final flight of fairly steep stairs to negotiate, from and to the lift.

All-in-all a well presented and run hotel offering near perfect customer service, I would have no hesitation in staying there again if I am lucky enough to return to New Delhi

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors to get a better view of the local area. As a boutique hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    214
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
479
196
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Shanti home and took full advantage of all the great things this boutique hotel had to offer. The staff were lovely, very friendly and well briefed. We enjoyed a yoga session, an envigorating massage and best of all a cookery course with the chef. The restaurant on the roof of the hotel is a delight, the location complemented 100% by the fabulous food, especially from the tandoori.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmds1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how quiet and peaceful our stay was. It is just off a main street very close to a metro station. Our room was a good size, well furnished and very clean. They have a charming roof-top restaurant. The food was excellent and well priced (try the Afgan chicken). The staff were awesome to say the least, very friendly and helpful. We wanted to buy a certain type of souvenir. They knew where we could find what we were looking for and sent one of their staff members with us on a hired rickshaw to purchase our souvenir. The staff member, Madan, took us to several shops in an area that we would never have found on our own; going above and beyond our expectations. Thanks for your help Madan! We bought what we wanted. Once back at Shanti Home with our purchased pottery, the staff wrapped it so well for us it made it back to Canada in our luggage in one piece. We were very impressed with our stay and the people at Shanti Home. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed just one night at Shanti home, but everything was really nice.
The staff who couldnt have done more to make us feel more welcome and part of the family.
Take breakfast (yummy) and diner at the roof-top restaurant. The food is amazing and the cook and his team are really lovely. We even did a cooking course with him and learned a lot about Indian cuisine.They made our stay unforgettable...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Norway
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Only stayed for one night before leaving from Delhi Airport. Very much enjoyed my visit and would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel feels like a family house that has been converted. I was given an interesting personal tour on arrival, a genuine welcome by the staff and enjoyed seeing the well-furnished and attractive communal sitting areas on each floor. I had an excellent room. There is a very charming rooftop restaurant where I had an enjoyable dinner and then a fabulous breakfast that was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only stayed one night at this gorgeous little hotel (as it's so handy for the airport, it tends to attract many travellers en route to other places). Suffice to stay, we wish we could have stayed longer! Tucked away in a side street in a relatively obscure part of town, it's not exactly an obvious base for your stay in Delhi. However, if you want a genuinely welcoming, cosseting experience in this hectic city, you can't do better than this small, tasteful hotel. The staff are uniformly gracious and friendly - this is no corporate operation, but seems to be run on an almost co-operative basis (for example, individual tipping is discouraged: instead, you're invited to contribute to the 'tip elephants' placed in reception and the restaurant.) The whole place oozes charm, with gorgeous traditional fabrics and furniture everywhere. it's full of thoughtful touches, like well-stocked bookshelves (book swapping is encouraged), free wi-fi throughout and an excellent little craft shop which is open 24/7! It punches above its weight in other respects, too: the rooftop restaurant is excellent, and they can offer classes in yoga and cookery, plus a range of massage and other therapeutic treatments. For the independent traveller, they also offer taxi/travel options, plus a variety of tours. You won't find in-room kettles (though you can ask for one if you wish!) or a fancy swimming pool; instead you'll enjoy a genuinely caring, welcoming stay in this rather special 'home from home'.

Room Tip: They're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayGBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Best welcome we've ever experienced. We arrived in time for the Holi festival and were invited to join in the fun with staff and other guests, we even had a complimentary traditional and very sociable lunch. Our room was large, airy and cool, simply furnished with wooden Indian pieces.
The hotel restaurant on the roof terrace is charming, lit by candles and lanterns and served some of the best food we tasted during our trip, the breakfast samosas and crepes are not to be missed. The kitchen is on show and looks immaculate and you can have a cookery lesson with the chef which unfortunately we didn't have time for. The staff cannot be praised enough, their care and attention and friendliness was exemplary. The hotel organised a car and driver to take us to Agra and sightseeing in Delhi at very reasonable prices, and hotel pick up and drop off went without a hitch. The wifi is free and efficient, unlike in the two 5 star hotels we stayed in on our travels in India, and there are several PC's for guests to use. This boutique hotel is small, friendly with a family feel and I would not hesitate in recommending it to family and friends, and should we return to Delhi we wouldn't bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroncampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing