We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first stay in India and what a lovely hotel to come to. From our arrival to our departure the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. When asked for directions to the metro, a member of staff was dispatched to show us the way and walk us there. Our room was lovely, the roof-top terrace a lovely place to have our meals which were amongst the best we had in India. We moved on to Agra and Varanasi where contacts arranged by Pooja proved to be extremely helpful. If visiting Delhi again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived here at the end of a very good holiday in which we had been treated like Royalty (we are English!) So when we were partly ignored by reception staff who were very obviously talking about us in a derogatory manner, woken at 4.30 in the morning by a cleaner banging around outside our bedroom until 6am on and off and then finding there is hot drink making facilities in our room and having to carry our luggage down the several flights of stairs to reception, only to be ignored again by staff !!! - I was pretty unhappy. I don't usually complain and have a very patient nature but I wouldn't stay here again - especially as we had travelled first class in the previous hotels as a treat for out 50/65 birthday and Silver wedding anniversary/ trip of a lifetime treat. It was incredibly noisy outside as well. Choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had two nights at Shanti Home separated by a trip to frantic Varanasi. From the start staff were welcoming and helpful in meeting our needs. We were relieved to be able to leave our suitcases behind when we left for Varanasi! The rooftop restaurant provided high quality food coupled with excellent and informative service. The tandoor specialities are highly recommended. Each floor has a large communal area and wifi is available throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heyjudederbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is the 'Jewel in the crown' of a visit to Delhi. Peace and tranquility deep in this vibrant city yet only some 25 minutes from the international airport.
Very much a 'boutique' style hotel, family owned and managed; the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the weary visitor.
The vibrant roof top restaurant serving wonderful food 24/7 allows for a clear view over the rooftops into the city. Very peaceful and a delight to visit.
Cannot praise this hotel enough and a refreshing change from the rather boring 'international' style hotels so many of us are used to.
Tony and Stella Williams March 2013

Room Tip: Stayed twice and didn't have a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was a great find. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The décor is absolutely fantastic with themed bedrooms and beautiful old Indian antiques throughout. The bathrooms are much better than they appear in the photographs. All the staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived to when we left - nothing was too much trouble. We were given a guided tour of the whole hotel on arrival and notified of what was available there. The restaurant is also excellent on the roof top and in our opinion it offered the best food we had eaten throughout our 3 week holiday in India. We will certainly be taking advantage of visiting again and booking in for some cookery lessons next time. The waiters and kitchen staff were extremely helpful making great suggestions for what we should eat. It was so lovely that when the staff found out that it was my birthday that they brought a surprise birthday cake to our dining table and all the staff came out to sing happy birthday - it was just magical and I can't thank the staff enough for making my birthday very special. We also appreciated all the help we had with the hotel organising and arranging our full day of Delhi sightseeing. We have stayed both here and at the Radisson Blu Plaza and we can confirm that the Shanti Home beats the Radisson Blu Plaza on all service levels and in our opinion costs too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bollywood - it was great with a 4 poster bed. No view out the window but that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 18Giulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A colleague and I stayed at Shanti home while visiting Delhi and Agra. The hotel staff was extremely attentive and gave us excellent service! We were greeted with a welcome drink and hot masala tea and cookies brought to my room after check-in. My room had a lovely 4-poster bed, which was very comfortable. It was on the street-side, but I never had any issue with noise.

The first day of our visit was Republic Day, and the hotel staff planned a lovely 8 course dinner of "old" recipes for all of the guests in their rooftop restauarant. It was a really nice event to meet other guests and exchange stories. The rooftop restuarant is half open-air, the other half (main-dining area) is covered. Even in the cool evenings, the heater lamps work work very nicely. All dinners and breakfasts were delicious, and the service was extremely attentive (but not over-bearing).

The hotel arranged taxis for us to visit Agra and - on another day - to visit Delhi. They took care of the taxi fees in our hotel bill, which elimiated our worries about haggling over the price at the end of the day. And the prices for the all day taxis they got us were very good.

Shanti Home also offers yoga and cooking classes. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to take advantage. They also have a small "store" where you can pick up any souveniers you might want.

I would highly reccommend Shanti Home as a base for visiting Delhi and Agra! I would reccommend it for couples, friends, families with children, and solo travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in Shanti Home two times during my trip and both times everything was perfect. The rooms were beautiful, service very friendly, breakfasts and dinners delicious (you can also eat and watch Indian movie in a tv-room...) All people working in Shanti are really professionals and doing their best. The metro is near but we also had pick ups from airport, trip to Agra and whole day shopping in Delhi by car, Shanti took care of all this. Thank you, Shanti people!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LottaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
374 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,135 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
1,829 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing